We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great bell hops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great bell hops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have run out of nice things to say about this wonderful hotel. But it struck me walking through the front door last week that maybe the best thing about it is the bell hops, who are amazingly cute and helpful in equal parts.

If we could just get off the Japanese thermos coffee with cold milk at breakfast . . .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Targetsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    324
    83
    20
    19
See reviews for
355
529
96
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

There is a reason I have been really looking forward to going back to Tokyo for my 2nd visit, and that reason is the Peninsula Hotel. All I can say is that this hotel gets it all right, no exceptions.

The suite is fantastic, large and very clean. The bedroom has a humidity control, so nice to have, and the only time I have ever seen that feature in a hotel. The bathroom is like a work of art, the marble is custom cut to fit the shower and sink together, the finish work is the best I have ever seen.

Food is also excellent, both in room and at the restaurants. We dined at Peter, the French restaurant on the 24th floor. I did not see too many reviews of this restaurant, so I was a bit worried, but overall, it was excellent and the view is just amazing. The bar is fun, but they do allow smoking. Room service is the way it should be, all the plates are presented on our in-room table, all lined up exactly to face the same way. Quality was very good, if not expensive, which is no surprise.

Anyway, I can't wait to go back again. This hotel not only proves that a stay can be just about perfect, but gives me some hope that I am not alone in my expectations of what a 5-Star experience should really be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bring_earplugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a twin room and it was a great getaway from the humid streets of Tokyo. Excellent service, you could tell the staff were proud to work there. We received a complimentary upgrade at check-in and the staff were extremely helpful to book restaurants and plan our onward service. The rooms were cozy, well spaced with walking closet and big bathroom. Great spa with swimming pool, gym and a variety of saunas.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at The Peninsula Tokyo When we lived in Tokyo.

The hotel room is very specious compare to most of the hotel in Tokyo. ( hotels in Tokyo can be very tiny even though it is expensive. )

Beautiful, luxury hotel in Tokyo. loved it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YJ0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights each at the Four Seasons and the Peninsula in Tokyo, and liked the latter more (the superb service at Four Seasons notwithstanding), due to the fab rooms.

The rooms were really large, with a separate walk in closet/ dressing room (where all of our bags could be kept and clothes hung out of sight)... a seating area with a sofa and also a 2 person dining table. Loved the attention to details like the coffee machine and multi-country plug points all around (even an appropriate one in the bathroom that I could plug my hair iron into - it's amazing how many hotels don't have this!). The bathroom was large and spacious with two basins (yay!)... the bed was reallllllyy soft and comfy.

The location is great - at the corner of the Imperial Gardens and Ginza... with several subway stations close by.

The lobby was a bit too "happening" for my liking... pretty crowded since the cafe was in the lobby area and it certainly seemed like a popular hang out at all hours of the day.

That aside, our stay was fabulous and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanwalkwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

In the midst of city life this is an oasis. We stayed at four different hotels in our travel round Japan and it is this hotel that I will remember most fondly.
Our room was modern with switches for everything but it still had a comfy relaxing feel. Also a lot bigger than we thought it would be. The dressing room was ideal because it meant we kept the cases out of view allowing the lounge/bedroom to be tidy.
Went to the bar the first night. We ordered a selection of bar food thinking that they would be small tasters. What a mistake. They were full size, hillarious !
The wine in the bar is eye wateringly expensive. I'd expect to pay a premium but £18 a glass was more than I expected. But what the hell, have a glass and enjoy the magnificent view.
My only criticism would be that you have breakfast in what feels like the lobby. The food was nice though and the service as you would expect.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BexsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Everything one would expect from a Peninsula - excellent location, great rooms, and wonderful service (though as I was leaving, I was a bit surprised when I got my bag from the bell-desk, the person on duty did not offer to carry my bag outside). We had lunch at Peter and found the decor a bit odd - didn't have the class of a Peninsula - perhaps better at night given the dark, trying-to-be-trendy style. Overall, it is a fantastic hotel, though if you want a view of the Imperial Gardens, the nearby re-built Palace Hotel offers substantially better views (really none to speak of at the Pen).

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel
#3 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 106 in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Property: The Peninsula Tokyo
Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing