We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Asia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the best in Asia”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The rooms are spacious and exquisitely decorated in a soothing color palette. The rooms have all the features and creature comforts you could ask for with a great view of the city. I stayed for 5 nights and found the location to be perfect. You can access the nearby subway directly via a hotel underground connection. You are close to the Imperial gardens, minutes from the Ginza, and a short subway ride to the fish market. The concierge staff, notably Akane, were most helpful and spot on with restaurant recommendations. We found the staff to be courteous and very professional. Breakfast in the lobby restaurant was excellent and the breakfast in the Chinese restaurant also was exceptional. This hotel is hard to beat on any measure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raymon7746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    341
    88
    22
    19
See reviews for
383
567
101
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 6 night stay at The Peninsula Tokyo (28 December 2012 - 3 January 2013). The hotel was wonderful and the staff impeccable. DH & I joked that the housekeeping staff were ninjas, since we never saw or heard them. They were excellent at learning our schedule and handling the room while we were out. Not only do they do the daily cleaning of the room, they also return in the evenings for turn down service that includes putting out you slippers and providing complementary bottle water. It was a very nice touch. We had a Deluxe King Corner Room on the 18th floor. We had a wonderful view of the Imperial Palace and looking at Ginza. Amazing!!

The rooms include yukata to sleep in, bathrobes, slippers, shampoo, conditioner, soap, shower gel, bath salts, shower cap, comb, brush, vanity kit, sewing kit, toothbrush & toothpaste, lotion, etc... Unless you require special bathroom amenities, feel free to leave your stuff at home. That will save room in you luggage for things you're going to purchase while on holiday. LOL

Our room accommodations including daily breakfast. For breakfasts you have 2 options to eat either in The Lobby restaurant or the buffet breakfast. We always opted for the buffet breakfast since it had so many options. At the buffet there were fresh pastries (muffins, croissants, danishes, etc...), scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, miso soup, fried rice, noodles, french toast, fresh fruit and many other options. And the juices were amazing! So tasty.

We ate a few times at the hotel. Peter restaurant up on the 24th floor had amazing food and the views were spectacular. The Lobby restaurant was fun and quirky as it was in the lobby of the hotel. It was fun to eat and see people coming and going. And the food was great too. We only ate breakfast at the Chinese restaurant on the 2nd floor and did not eat at the basement Japanese restaurant (sushi & tempura dishes). Room service was wonderful too.

If your budget is accommodating, I highly recommend going to the concierge and have them make you a reservation for Kawamura. It is a kobe beef teppan restaurant. Amazing food. They are open for lunch and dinner, with lunch being the less expensive option.

Getting around town was very easy. You can walk around to all sorts of shops. Just exploring our surroundings we found amazing eateries. We don't speak any Japanese and neither did some of the restaurant staff, but it wasn't a problem at all. They all have either food models or pictures of the food, so we just pointed and indicated how many of which item. Super simple, so if you don't speak Japanese do not worry.

There are 7-Eleven, Lawson and other convenience stores all over.

Besides being able to get on the metro Hibiya line in the hotel basement, it is quick and easy to walk to any other metro or JR (railway) line and head all over Tokyo. Be sure to get your SUICA card at the station from the payment machines. You can add more money to it as you need to. Just FYI.

There is so much do to and see in Tokyo and The Peninsula Tokyo is a great hub. It was always fun to "come home" after a fun day of walking around. We look forward to coming here again and trying other Peninsula hotels around the globe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purpledragon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights when I came to Tokyo to celebrate New Years. The rooms are lovely. Some have views of the Imperial Palace grounds. My room had a big walk in closet. The bathroom was enormous. I had no problems with noise. The bed was comfortable.

The concierge helped us make dinner reservations in advance of our arrival. This ended up being no small task because the Tokyo fish market closes for 4 days over New Years and many of the restaurants close as a result. The hotel also has a beautiful swimming pool with a waterfall. The spa is one of the best I have ever seen. I had a shiatsu massage and foot reflexology. Both were excellent. I would certainly come back here.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms with a view of the Imperial Palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schroe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just like the Hong Kong Peninsular, the hotel has this certain British colonel classy atmosphere as reflected by its employees' attitude. Yes, the bed,it must be the most comfortable bed I'd ever slept in. The hotel is just perfect, my only complaint is that the water was hot and cold while i took my shower, I am surprised that a hotel of this caliber did not install a regulator to regular hot and cold water.

Room Tip: Get a high floor so that you can see the palace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very pricey but lovely hotel and well located. Lots to see and do in Ginza. Close to lots of shopping and very good restaurants. Staff is over the top helpful. Rooms are massive with lots of amenities. Food at the restaurant is fantastic - must have the tonkatsu.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccandyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We live in Yokohama and decided to go into Tokyo for a couple of nights while my husband was away on a trip. Stayed in a deluxe park view room 18th floor. (1 adult 2 children). Cost was just over 60,000 yen a night including breakfast booked via expedia. When we arrived they charged an extra 5000 yen a night on top for another (very comfortable) bed. Breakfast was only for 2 so we had to pay for an extra child. Breakfast was inconsistent eg extra OJ offered one day but not the next, more bread one day but not the next- its 5 star so I expect the best .
As I had children with me breakfast was served in what seemed like a hallway otherwise we could have eaten on the 10th floor.
Room was large with a dressing room and great view. TV didnt work so had to call reception.
Nice bathroom (no lock) but very cold - heating only in main room.
Swimming pool is OK but we had to wear hats-as you do at most Japanese pools. A little annoying that children were not allowed in the pool after 6pm.
Best thing about the hotel is the location- walking distance to Ginza/Marunouchi/Yurachuko.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 23Clutterbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Peninsula for a week this December. The service, as one could imagine, was impeccable. Everyone greeted you when they saw you, of course that seems also to be the Japanese custom.
Our room was gorgeous, very modern, high tech and functional, overlooking the imperial palace gardens. They seemed to think about everything when they designed the room from our own personal kimonos, robes, slippers, a drawer full of toiletry supplies, a well stocked coffee/tea bar etc. The bathroom was also beautiful with the most high-tech toilet I have ever used, including a heated seat. The tub was large with a cascading water spout, and a personal tv to watch while bathing.
The fitness area is also nice with several treadmills, bikes, ellipticals, (all with personal tvs), a large variety of weight machines as well as free weights. The gym gets quite busy early in the morning, as is expected. The spa looked gorgeous, albeit quite pricey.
The dining area in the lobby where we had a daily breakfast was good. A selection of freshly baked in-house pastries, fresh fruit juices, choice of coffees as well as many breakfast items were offered. The service was wonderful and friendly.
The concierge service was also exceptional. I used their help many times and they went out of their way to help me meet my needs.
My only complaint would be that the turndown service was on the late side, about 8:00 pm. With our jetlag and busy days, we were often thinking about turning in by the time they arrived. They were always friendly and efficient when they came, and scurried about making sure they covered all their bases. A nice touch to the maid service was a piece of fruit left for us almost everyday. The asian pears were delicious!
The hotel is very well situated and convenient to many areas. The trains are very close, and one line is even accessible through the basement of the hotel. I highly suggest going down to the lower level as you can watch the bakers busy through the windows making pastries, cakes and treats. Quite a show.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the imperial palace or the Hibiya Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SylLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,040 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Property: The Peninsula Tokyo
Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Tokyo offers 314 spacious guestrooms, including 47 suites, five restaurants, a modern lounge bar, two ballrooms, six elegantly designed function rooms, a wedding chapel, a Japanese ceremony room, a fitness centre, The Peninsula Spa, a fleet of Rolls-Royces, Mini-Coopers, and BMWs, and two jewellery shops. Guestrooms are among the largest and most technologically advanced in Tokyo and offer stunning views of the city, the Imperial Palace Gardens and Hibiya Park. Interior designer Yukio Hashimoto, an alumnus of renowned Japanese interior design firm Super Potato, intertwines rich earth tone colours, woods, lacquer, marble and stone with design and functionality to create a luxurious living environment described as "international in design, but Japanese by inspiration." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing