We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good position”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We liked our stay at the Peninsula. It is ideally situated for shopping and sightseeing. The staff are friendly and the Concierge was extremely helpful sorting out our flights and booking restuarants. It is not easy getting about without the help of the doorman who explained to the driver exactly where we wre going.

Room Tip: We overlooked the Palace gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    348
    90
    22
    19
See reviews for
391
581
102
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I just returned from a business trip to Tokyo, including a couple of days for sightseeting. I was extremely impressed with the Peninsula from the moment that I arrived. The service is impeccable even by the high standards one expects in Asia. The rooms are very large and layed out in a suite configuration allowing for separate sitting, dining, working and sleeping areas. The bath and closet areas were also large, and the room was nicely appointed with technology controls for lighting, window blinds, etc. I particularly liked the built in expresso maker. Fresh fruit and ice were replaced in my room each day. Good location, very close to Ginza shopping area and metro.

This hotel exceeded my expectations in every way, including price. As others have mentioned, it is a bit expensive. If your rate does not include breakfast, bear in mind that a standard American/British style breakfast (eggs, ham, bread, juice, coffee) will set you back almost $50 USD per day in the lobby restaurant. The food is good, but those prices are clearly out of line. There were some other choices in the area, but not very convenient if you are on business without time to spare.

Room Tip: try to get a high floor facing the emperor's palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0ngIsland_familyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, uk
Level Contributor
133 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I went to this hotel for location (near my clients) and as my wife was with me near shopping. Ultimately I was astounded by the view, overlooking the royal palace and the fact I could conveniently walk everywhere I wanted to go. Rooms are fantastically equipped (baths with mood lighting and a dressing room with nail polish dryer etc), and incredibly spacious for Tokio. the staff are very helpful and I only have minor complaints- the reception area restaurant gets very busy so eating there can be a challenge, the top floor bar is very smoky and there seems to be no air cleaning sytem and do not get a hotel car to pick you up from the airport unless you have limitless wealth .

Room Tip: The standard room (overlooking the park) is all you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

A fantastic luxury hotel in a quieter and less crazy part of town - It suited us as we arrived tired from the UK. The staff were very helpful, the room was amazing and very spacious, especially for Tokyo. A nice way to start the trip as long as you dont have to keep an eye on what you are spending - it comes at a price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeanY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Peninsula Tokyo in March 2012; it was a beautiful hotel, with excellent service and in a very convenient location near the subway and JR Yamanote line. We loved the attention to detail and the fact that the room was more like a small apartment (bigger and a lot nicer than the one I had in Manhattan!), with a large dressing room and bathroom off the entry hall separated from the living/bedroom by a beautiful sliding door. We went to Tsukiji market for the tuna auction and it was only a 10 minute taxi ride from the hotel which was nice considering we had to be there before 5 am!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolleicord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a great hotel if you are in Tokyo on holiday without children, and you have time to spend in the hotel with your partner. It's not the right hotel for a short business trip because you are unlikely to get chance to appreciate the great facilities. These include walk in wardrobes, fantastic views, separate sitting areas in the rooms, a great gym and pool with inconvenient opening hours. There is no buffet breakfast, only table service, which is fine if you have time, but not if you're on a schedule.

This hotel is great, but just not good value for business travel.

Room Tip: Try the Conrad Hilton or the Okura if you are travelling for business
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pingp0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Tokyo has quite a few great hotels but none are situated in the heart of Ginza the city's best shopping area except the Peninsula. This hotel is a few mins away from everything from shops to restaurants. Living there cuts costs of taxis drastically. Views of the city are stunning, some rooms even have a view of the Imperial Palace gardens. The rooms are spacious considering that hotel rooms in Tokyo are known to be small. The bathrooms have electronic bidets that open and shut automatically and have heated seats. The service is great and staff are courteous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,967 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Property: The Peninsula Tokyo
Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Tokyo offers 314 spacious guestrooms, including 47 suites, five restaurants, a modern lounge bar, two ballrooms, six elegantly designed function rooms, a wedding chapel, a Japanese ceremony room, a fitness centre, The Peninsula Spa, a fleet of Rolls-Royces, Mini-Coopers, and BMWs, and two jewellery shops. Guestrooms are among the largest and most technologically advanced in Tokyo and offer stunning views of the city, the Imperial Palace Gardens and Hibiya Park. Interior designer Yukio Hashimoto, an alumnus of renowned Japanese interior design firm Super Potato, intertwines rich earth tone colours, woods, lacquer, marble and stone with design and functionality to create a luxurious living environment described as "international in design, but Japanese by inspiration." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing