We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, Opulent, Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Peninsula Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Elegant, Opulent, Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed a night at The Peninsula on my way back frm Osaka to Frankfurt. The hotel is truly elegant, top-class standard (as good as any Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental I've been to anywhere, and better than most) and the rooms strike the right balance between elegant, stylish, warm and welcoming. The breakfast was top notch, and the location is right on Ginza street, Tokyo's equivalent of Fifth Avenue. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    338
    87
    21
    19
See reviews for
377
558
100
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We loved this hotel. Great clean rooms with tons of fun amenities in the room. The room was fantastic. Beautiful decor & a fantastic view. The bathroom had a huge bathtub you could put three people in. The location in great for Ginza. Also the subway station is in the basement.
When we go back to Ginza this is our home. Loved everything about this place.
Staff are very nice & helpful. The front desk supervisor Mr. Morita did a great job & took care of us very nicely. Because he was so helpful & fixed a small problem very quick, we will return.
Thanks Mr. Morita!!

Room Tip: it's always good to be high up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squibjib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

very good service , high in quality , relaxing atmosphere , prime location , very attentive and welcoming , you feel that everyone there is ure personal buttler.

however my constructive critisisim would be some facts couldnt be changed and some they need to address like ,rooms are very small and compact , the lobby isnt so spacious. yet i understand and apreciate the beauty of its design, however it tend to get over crowded in the lobby restaurant and extremely noisy which kills the family friendly scene , specially with people getting drunk (i assume ) and start laughing out loud

price issue is also a concern , its too expensive , lacks the wow factor

but overall its a classy hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xxbcxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Having stayed off and on over the last 4 years I can't speak highly enough of the staff, location, services and hotel amenities. Close to Marunuchi business district, 7 min. walk to Ginza, Imperial palace across the street with Metro (subway/underground) in basement the Peninsula is nicely positioned. This is an up-to-date hotel (built in last 5 years or so) with all the gadgets you would ever want in the room (auto shading, temp control, lighting) coupled with a unique feature set that makes your stay even more pleasant. They invested in a sliding heavy wood door that separates the bedroom from the hallway to door and bathroom/separate closet area (for most rooms) which the the effect of shielding outside noise (those that travel a lot understand the noise most hotels have) and have a valet box in closet area for clothing, newspapers, etc. There is 24 hr clothing service coupled one of the most beautiful spa/pool areas you will ever see (treat yourself to a SPA visit and enjoy massage plus their various showers, steam, "quiet room". Fitness center is smallish but has top notch LifeFitness cardio plus 8 machines for all body parts.

Food is outstanding but with tokyo carrying the most numerous Michelin rated restaurants that should be expected. Breakfast is in lobby....its not particularly private so if you require a more private setting for business walk two blocks down to Imperial Hotel and go to Les Saisons on 2nd floor. If you like Italian try Elio Locundo a quick 10 min. cab ride from hotel and have the sausage raviolis....small restaurant but great food, service.

Room Tip: Back of hotel face train...request a higher floor room away from that side and closer to Imperial pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 300nitesayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Peninsula Tokyo for a 1.5 week vacation plus visit with extended family. The hotel room was much larger than expected, especially for Tokyo. We appreciated having a segregated dressing room to store our luggage and clothing in. The bathroom was such a pleasant surprise after a long flight from the US. The rooms were very quiet and the room darkening shades helped us to recover from jet lag when we took some extended afternoon naps.
Housekeeping was top-notch with excellent attention to detail. Our room was cleaned two times per day; the initial cleaning and again at turn-down service. The staff was friendly, polite and accommodating.
Room service was very good. Breakfast (included in the hotel rate) was great and offered an over abundance of food. Laundry & dry cleaning service was very good, too. The concierge was very helpful to us each time we asked for directions, particularly since we don't speak Japanese.
Location was great: very close to the imperial gardens, Ginza shopping district, tokyo station, fish market, etc.
We had dinner one night at Peter. The food was very good, but not my favorite meal in Tokyo, perhaps because it didn't seem to make sense to have an indulgent French meal when traveling as far as Japan. While the meal was pricey, the serving sizes were unexpectedly large. My husband and I agreed that we would not have ordered a first course had we known how large the entrees were. We returned to Peter a few times for drinks at the bar. The bar and restaurant offers excellent views of the city and is a great place for a night cap.
We used the fitness center and pool facilities. The high level of service and attention to detail were apparent there, too. Didn't use the personal trainer service, but we thought about it. Same with the Spa.
Nothing at the hotel is inexpensive, but the same can be said for Tokyo in general. I highly recommend the Peninsula Tokyo and will stay there again when we return.

Room Tip: We had a King Deluxe room, without any special palace view and we were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Peninsula and we got off to a slow start at the hotel. Our room was not ready when we arrived and we were told that our room would not be ready until check in time which was 3:00PM. We had arrived at 2:40PM and I thought it was odd, but we went to the lobby and had some tea. At 3:00 our room was ready and it was beautiful. It was spotless and very well decorated. The hotel has a bustling lobby but our room was very quiet and we enjoyed staying there. I had read complaints about the door to the toilet being inadequate, but we did not share that complaint. Everything about the Peninsula is a statement of luxury. It is clearly a very fine hotel that has no trouble competing with the best in the world.
The concierge desk was very helpful. They gave us maps, tips, instructions, told us how to conquer the metro, and made all of our dinner reservations. They could not have been nicer or more helpful. This is a very fine hotel and it is one that will satisfy the tastes and preferences of all those that are fortunate enough to stay there. If we ever find ourselves returning to Tokyo, we would be very happy to stay at the Peninsula again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ase1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Last week we stayed a week at the Peninsula in Tokyo and this hotel is just awesome! The rooms are so spacious! The normal standard rooms are like suites. You have your own dressroom. The bath room is amazing. A bath tub and an extra shower. The bedroom has a seperate part with a sofa where you can watch tv. Everything functions either automacly (like the toilette seat going up when you approach) or via buttons. Buttons for everything! They have a verh nice pool at the 6th floor and a fittness as well. The location is super and the staff is very friendly and helpful! I loved the stay there and wish i could come back! If you have enough money to spend this is the hotel you want to stay in. Its GREAT!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Tokyo

Property: The Peninsula Tokyo
Address: 1-8-1 Yurakucho, Chiyoda 100-0006, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peninsula Tokyo offers 314 spacious guestrooms, including 47 suites, five restaurants, a modern lounge bar, two ballrooms, six elegantly designed function rooms, a wedding chapel, a Japanese ceremony room, a fitness centre, The Peninsula Spa, a fleet of Rolls-Royces, Mini-Coopers, and BMWs, and two jewellery shops. Guestrooms are among the largest and most technologically advanced in Tokyo and offer stunning views of the city, the Imperial Palace Gardens and Hibiya Park. Interior designer Yukio Hashimoto, an alumnus of renowned Japanese interior design firm Super Potato, intertwines rich earth tone colours, woods, lacquer, marble and stone with design and functionality to create a luxurious living environment described as "international in design, but Japanese by inspiration." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Tokyo Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Hotel Tokyo
Peninsula Hotel Chiyoda
Peninsula Tokyo
Chiyoda Peninsula
The Peninsula Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing