We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 'average' rating is based on the controversial history”
Review of Yasukuni Shrine

Yasukuni Shrine
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.46*
and up
1-Day Tokyo Garden Tour including Breakfast and Lunch
Ranked #5 of 280 things to do in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A large, torii gate stands at the entrance to this shrine built in memory of those who lost their lives defending Japan. Many officials still come and offer prayer annually on August 15, the anniversary of Japan's defeat in World War II.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“My 'average' rating is based on the controversial history”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Shrine itself, if you just look at it as a normal shrine, is unquestionably beautiful. Here you feel an unprecedented peace and manner, just quite like Justin Bieber said: "I asked my driver to pull over as I saw a beautiful shrine". But he was silly, just like all of us. As a Chinese I had a very complicated feeling when strolling around seeing Japanese people in special white robes here paying their respect. I stand on the same page as Japanese Emperor, who claimed that he wouldn't visit the Shrine unless the fourteen people get moved away. Here I saw the right attitude towards to history. The museum is definitely the place to go when you come visit the Shrine. As a matter of fact I came for the museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank smmrxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    523
    175
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heroes resting place”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Peaceful shrine honouring war heroes. Good place to learn about the ultimate sacrifices by others for our freedom and success

Helpful?
2 Thank mitula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A tribute to Japan's war heroes”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

The place has recently become controversial again because of the PM's visit but this shouldn't distract the visitors from its solemnity and cultural value in Japanese history. It was built to honor Japan's war heroes, and the place accordingly exudes a very serene atmosphere. The shrine is just walking distance from the Imperial Palace grounds and so is very accessible and easy to include in your walking tour around the city. As in other shrines, visitors must wash their hands at a well before entering the premises. As a bonus, there is a little eatery just before the entrance where they sell very good ramen and Japanese pancakes!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BraulloBogart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serenity of Yasukuni”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Yasukuni shrine is about remembering and honoring those that have died in service to Japan. My commentary/article tries to explain this in a non-biased way: http://bit.ly/1omaNxI

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Darmisias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Controversial & interesting”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Knowing the controversy that surrounds the shrine (the honoring of war criminals), I was surprised to see how plain and rather austere the area was compared with other shrines. I visited to expand my understanding of the militarization of Japan and the justifications of the atrocities during WW11. However, this side of the story was well and truly hidden but I glimpsed a state of nationalism which caused so many to dedicate their life to their country. If you are to visit Japan more than once, the museum is well worth a visit to start to understand the place & its people.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yasukuni Shrine also viewed

 

Been to Yasukuni Shrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing