We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Japanese Cuisine Shimonoseki Shunpanro Tokyo
Ranked #76 of 6,829 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Price range: $72 - $180
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: Japan's first restaurant to serve blow fish which had previously been prohibited.Blow fish is a speciality of Japanese cuisine served at Shunpanro's hotel and flagship restaurant.Eating blow fish was trictly prohibited until Japan's first Prime Minister Hirobumi Ito ate it at Shunpanro. He then lifted the ban on eating blow fish which then became a popular and integral part of Japanese cuisine.In Shimonoseki the regional pronunciation for FUGU is FUKU,which is the same pronunciation as the Japanese word for luck.Shunpanro wish all our customers to enjoy the delights of our specially prepared seasonal menus which include a variety of dishes especially pleasing to the eye. Regular holiday:Sunday,national holiday and others. Lunch:11:30AM-2:30PM(L.O.2:00PM) Dinner:5:00PM-10:00PM(L.O.9:00PM)
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I was not a special fan of raw fish or something like that, but I have to say this restaurant might have been one of the best restaurant I have ever been. The atmosphere with the decorations of the restaurant was grand and refined. The fugu cuisine was disgusting to not just me, but also to most of the British too, before I came to the restaurant. It totally changes my mind, that the sashimi fugu was extremly good. It was full of texture, fresh and juicy. Dipping it with some soya sauce and wasabi would make me feel like I was in paradise, and I am not being ridicolous. They also cook fugu if you dont like sashimi, for example like the fugu soup, pot fugu rice and something like that, they all tasted good too. Therefore I think this might be one of the best restaurants in Asia I have ever been to, except that its price was scary hahah.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shunpanrotokyo, 支配人 at Japanese Cuisine Shimonoseki Shunpanro Tokyo, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for having you come to our restaurant.
I am honorable to have you praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Fugu restaurant!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I visited for the first time. The atmosphere was elegant with decorations, but I also felt somewhat intimate over time. I think that is a good restaurant that you can go with your family or someone with a special relationship, but it's also appropriate for business-use. Fugu cuisine is awesome, served with a variety from sashimi, pot, to fried one, which was also deliciously. Because there is a wide variety of renowned "Sake", I could enjoy various tastes. In particular, Hire-shu is the best! The taste with the aroma of the baked fin is nothing other than what makes me visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank SS_trip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shunpanrotokyo, 支配人 at Japanese Cuisine Shimonoseki Shunpanro Tokyo, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you very much for the coming to the store.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy Traditional Japanese style ' Fugu ' dishes !”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

However,Winter is the best season to eat Fugu (blowfish). One reason is that many fugu dishes are served hot or in a soup. Japanese people love eating fugu in Japanese-style stew, nabe, fried, in roasted fin sake or other hot dishes and love enjoying the firm fish meat.
You can enjoy best flavor of Fugu dish at ' Japanese Cuisin Shunpanro Tokyo '. You might feel as if you are looking at a piece of art ,looking at the pattern on a china dish through thinly sliced fugu sashimi, Besides sashimi, you can eat fugu in Japanese-style stew, nabe, fried, in roasted fin sake or other hot dishes and love enjoying the firm fish meat. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and hospitality as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank sayasaya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shunpanrotokyo, 支配人 at Japanese Cuisine Shimonoseki Shunpanro Tokyo, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Google Translation
ご来店有難うございました。
楽しいひとときをお過しいただけたご様子に安堵しています。
当店では「美味しいふぐ」を1年通してお客様にお届けできるよう、生産・流通・調理まで、こだわりの管理を施しています。季節感溢れる盛付けと心を込めた「おもてなし」でまたのご来店をお待ちしております。
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best suited for a dinner with important clients”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Founding a news article saying that PM Abe visited this restaurant, I booked the Shunpanro Tokyo for a client dinner. Taste, service and atmosphere were all good and my client looked really pleased with the dinner.
This restaurant is located near the Nagata-cho town, center of Japanese political world, and thus it is slightly difficult to find this place in quiet buildings in the night time. However, because of such location, this restaurant is best suited for a dinner with important clients or any guests valuing private atmosphere. Particularly for non-Japanese guests, blow fish should be of great interest, and the history of this restaurant must make a good case. The original one in Shimonoseki, Yamaguchi Prefecture, was used for a historic treaty signing ceremony almost 150 years ago, which was a significant turning point in the Japanese modern history.
I thought blow fish is only available in the winter season, but according to the restaurant, we can enjoy tasty blow fish throughout the year. A good finding indeed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Beruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent FUKU course”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I really enjoyed the delicious foods (especially blowfish), tasty sake and authentic atmosphere in Shunpanro.

Shunpanro headquarter in Yamaguchi prefecture is the very historic place where the first Prime Minister Hriobumi Ito officially removed the ban of blowfish dishes since he realized blowfish dishes were very delicious and safely cooked by experienced cook. Actually I found his hand writing letter regarding Shunpanro displayed at the entrance. Therefore, Shunpanro is the most authoritative blowfish restaurant in Japan.
In Yamaguchi prefecture (and Shunpanro), Blowfish is called “FUKU”, instead of “FUGU”. “FUKU” in Japanese means “Lucky”. Shunpanro serves FUKU course. So, when you eat FUKU course, you can, of course, enjoy the foods and also you become lucky more and more with satisfaction, relax and enjoyment.

The starter was salted fish guts that perfectly match with sake. I started with beer, followed by a set of 3 different sake glasses. After tasting these 3 kinds of sake, I chose my favorite one called "Dassai". There is special “Dassai”, which has rich and excellent taste.
Seasonal appetizers were followed. Then, various ways of cooking FUKU were served.
Thinly sliced raw FUKU was refined taste. As it is very thinly sliced, you can also enjoy the picture of the dish like flower of chrysanthemum or peony. Deep-fried FUKU, pot dish of FUKU and rice porridge of FUKU were all excellent. In addition, hot sake with grilled FUKU fins (“HIRE SAKE”) was great tasty. Shunpanro uses two kinds of finds for HIRE SAKE which is their original.
Desert was sesame pudding. It was rich and smooth taste and very delicious, but not too sweet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank RYOMA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japanese Cuisine Shimonoseki Shunpanro Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Japanese Cuisine Shimonoseki Shunpanro Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing