We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian friendly and delicious!”
Review of Soranoiro Honten

Soranoiro Honten
Ranked #53 of 8,218 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Price range: $0 - $6
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: We are Ramen shop who can serve for Vegetarian, Veganist and Gluten Free people (as well as for wheat allergy people). English speaking staffs are available, so please visit us.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

Finding vegetarian ramen shops in Japan is difficult. The broth is typically meat based. Fortunately, I stumbled across Soranoiro and noticed that they advertise a vegetarian (even vegan) option. I was not disappointed. Get your ticket, hand it over and wait for a bowl of amazing soup with freshly-made noodles. The carrot base was delicious, so were the noodles and toppings. It is hard to get flavor depth with a veggie based broth. Fortunately, this place has figured it out. Add the soy milk and you have the perfect meal for a rainy day in Tokyo.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GourmandTrashPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soranoiro_honten, Staff at Soranoiro Honten, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

Dear HelmutsFoodPorn,

Thanks for your visit and kind comment above.

Yes, in Japan we normally use chicken bone or pork bone for ramen broth, but we make it only from vegetable!

Looking forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2017 via mobile

I wanted a normal ramen and my friend has celiac, so we went to that restaurant, and it was absolutely amazing for both of us

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Yotam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soranoiro_honten, Staff at Soranoiro Honten, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2018

Dear Yotam O,

Thanks for your visit.

Yes, regardless with or without celiac disease, we want all customers to enjoy our ramen always!!

Looking forward to serving you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017

we had the vegetarian version. it is not what one expect for a ramen but it is certainly very refreshing. the serving grows on you as slurp on. the place is what a typical ramen place is - small. expect to queue during peak hours

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank fsng282
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soranoiro_honten, Staff at Soranoiro Honten, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2018

Dear CT T,

Thanks for your visit.

Yes as you might felt, our vegetarian (or vegan) ramen differs from other typical ramen. However recently it has been recognzed as one categoly of ramen, so it is becoming popular now.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017 via mobile

We went for dinner at soranoiro and it was delicious. The food was ready in a few minutes, fresh and tasty. The staff is very kind and as a bonos it was a two minutes walk from our hotel.

Date of visit: April 2017
2  Thank shlomia94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soranoiro_honten, Staff at Soranoiro Honten, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Dear shlomi a,

Thanks for your visit.

If our ramen was delicious for you and our staff was kind to you... it is our great pleasure!!

Looking forward to seeing you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017

It took us a while to find the restaurant in Ramen Street at Tokyo station (it seems there are a few restaurants in the group and the address listed on tripadvisor doesn't correlate to the tokyo station branch) so be sure to pick up a map of the station when you get there. Ramen street is tucked away in the basement floor and my suggestion is to look for the restaurant logo - see the business card photo for the image - as its pretty tricky when you can't read the japanese characters.

The food is lovely and really well priced. As stated on other reviews, you order from a vending machine outside the store and only once you've ordered will they seat you.They were able to offer brown rice noodles as a gluten free alternative, but i would suggest that you download a gluten free card in Japanese to help you as they don't speak much english - see photos for my version but there are lots of websites where you can download them too

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Shezam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Soranoiro_honten, Staff at Soranoiro Honten, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear Shezam,

Thanks for your visit to our Tokyo Station branch.

We applogize if you felt inconvenience to find our shop in Tokyo station. As you stated there are many shops in huge basement shopping floor, so I recommend to follow the sign of "Tokyo Ramen Street" where we have 8 ramen shops at the one corner of basement floor.

And sorry for our supporting when you bought a ticket at the vending machine. Most staff can speak well English, but some can not enough we admit... So if you printed out and show the tranlsated allergy situation to the staff, it is better for you and us as well.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soranoiro Honten also viewed

 
Kabukicho, Shinjuku
 

Been to Soranoiro Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.