We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable :)”

Buddha Bellies Cooking School Tokyo
Ranked #1 of 11 Food & Drink in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Japanese Cooking School inTokyo-learn how to make sushi, Bento Box, Okonomiyaki(Japanese pan cake) with us!Instructed by English speaking instructor.Our classes provide you intimate, cozy and friendly atmosphere, guided by a Japanese instructor who speaks English fluently. Also the kitchen is in the heart of Tokyo-easy asccess.Surely the experience of making sushi, bento, noodle etc...will give a certain spice to your cooking at home! This would be the best souvenier for you to bring Japan home. We ensure memorable moment while you stay in Tokyo.
Level Contributor
1 review
“Enjoyable :)”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The entire process was very well prepared, and the ambiance of the 'classroom', which was actually an interesting library, was very clean and comfortable :) The food was easy to prepare and tasted to good! Just as I thought things are wrapping up, Ayu brought out one surprise after another -- a mini-origami session, sake, fried noodle, a mini tea ceremony and dessert! And we only signed up for Okonomiyaki :D

The fellow participants were awesome too! Everyone had great fun and good food!

Suggest to have this after days of crazy shopping and sightseeing to wind-down and just enjoy a pleasant Japanese moment.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    20
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience a must try!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

we loved our sushi making class at Buddha bellies cooking school Tokyo, Ayuko was wonderful her english was great and her stories even better. she could relate to us about many topics we brought up and gave us an insight into other aspects we asked about japan. the sushi was fresh and delicious and the green tea was such an added bonus.
We unfortunately had our babysitter cancel last minute so it was great she didnt judge us for having to bring the baby and accomodated as much as she could.
we have already bought some ingredients and will be making Ayukos sushi this week for friends.
the bookshop attached was amazing we wish she sold the books and knives or sushi sets!

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
1 review
“Great fun for aspiring chefs”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We was very fortunate when booking the class - fish cutting and sushi making, since there needed to be 4 people and the exact same weekend that we wanted to do it - another couple had also expressed interest. So - we met up at Jimbocho station and walked the 20 metres to where the class was held.

We had a great time! Ayuko is a great teacher who speaks perfect english, so whenever you had a question - especially since we were only 4 people, it was really easy to ask and understand the answer - both questions regarding where to buy things in Tokyo, restaurants to visit, what ingredients were named in japanese and english as well as questions to why things were done in a particular way.

The fishcutting + sushi making + eating it all took around 4 hours for us.

Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank 111Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adliswil
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasent experience with alot of fun”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really liked the class with Ayuko. She was a great host, spoke perfect english and was patient with all of us. The class size was good as well with 5 people overall. The instructions of making sushi were clear and I cannot wait to try it out at home. At the end we ate our delicious sushi that we have made and we got to make matcha tea. Ayuko also gave us a little surprise at the end and the recipes. I warmly recommend this really nice cooking experience with Ayuko. You are in the best hands.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BasmaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to fill in time before our flight home.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had to be out of our hotel at 10 and needed something to do to fill in a few hours until the bus to the airport at 3pm...this was PERFECT. Sushi making class was from 11-1.30 and we had a great time learning and doing. I an vegatarian so I was expecially appreciative of the fantastic choices that Ayuko made for me. It was a fabulous lunch and I will definately be doing it all again at home. Thank you for your help also finding a taxi for us afterwards and telling the driver in Japanese where we needed to go.

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddha Bellies Cooking School Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Buddha Bellies Cooking School Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing