We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, very comfortable”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Trip back to Japan after many years, the hotel is serviced to the door by the limousine bus from the airport which is very convenient, efficient and relatively inexpensive. Arrived to a mass of concierge staff all very friendly and helpful, unfortunately room was not available until 2PM so had to find somewhere to wait for 3 hours, I understand that the 2PM deadline is typical and non negotiable. Eventually checked in, which as mentioned previously was faultless, given great advice to join the New Otani Club free of charge which gave discount on breakfast. Quality double room in the main building which was very nice, spacious, clean and well serviced and free wifi (good in room, sadly lacking elsewhere in building). There are a number of bars and restaurants within the hotel complex although the position of the hotel gives you a huge choice within a 5 minutes walk outside. Breakfast in the hotel was extra and quite expensive but a good variety of choice. During my stay the service from the staff was exceptional and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    459
    147
    28
    9
See reviews for
277
305
54
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed in the Garden Tower which was very handy for the bars and restaurants just across the river bridge. Check in / Check out was very slick despite being very busy.
Rooms are a bit tired but very clean. The only complaint was that we could not get any cash on our credit cards from reception which is not good for such an International Hotel
A bit expensive but suppose you pay for what you get

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WerdnerR302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Everything was good. Fanstastic view. I was staying in garden tower for a weeks plus. Food is good too. Perhaps the wireless connection at certain areas can be improved. Close distance to train station. Pool usage comes with charges.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VijayaratinamRamah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for six nights in October.
Stayed in the Garden Tower, on the 36th floor.
Quick check in and check out. Concierge service very useful. I had all I needed. Shame they don't have iron in their rooms.
The room was clean and the view was reslly cool :-)
Do not use the shampoo provided: must be some very strong detergent, gave me very itchy scalp... :-/
I would recommend it. Not cheap, but good.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasteitallnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in the Garden Tower wing. The rooms could do with refurbishment but are adequate. The hotel is linked to the Tower wing by a long corridor. Check in & out were smooth. The garden is well designed & very relaxing. Lots of Koi in the ponds. The Teppanyaki in the garden is superb. A meal in the revolvin restautant gives a great view of the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awayagain_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in the Garden Tower section, the view of downtown Tokyo was breathtaking from our 35th floor room, on a clear day we could see Mt. Fuji. The room was clean and adequate, There was a safe for our use, hot tea, and a minibar. The hotel has its own art museum, free to guests. Prices in the restaurants and shops can be shocking, but local restaurants are a five minute walk away. We had included the breakfast buffet, the hot and cold selections in the 40th floor room were extensive and came with a great view. The hotel is not new, but well maintained and a first rate helpful staff. For instance, we had directions to a restaurant translated into Japanese to hand to the cab driver. No wifi in the room, only downstairs lobby, wired internet in the room if you can use it. We had a good stay. The 400 year old imperial garden with koi and water fall is a real plus!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueJazz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
623 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

There are two of these hotels combined into one. If you stay in the New New Otani you will be happy, maybe. If you stay in the old New Otani not so much. The old one, where I ended up is called the same name but I ended up in the Garden Tower. It has older rooms, kind of OK but a little bit in need of renovation and a bit not so nice feeling.
The bathrooms are quite old, and the beds a bit on the saggy side. The help is way below what you expect in a nice Japanese business hotel. First, beware, some of the rooms do not have wifi, at least not when I was here. The first room had none, so after I unpacked I headed down to the front desk, and only then did they inform me I would have to repack and have another room on another floor. No sorry. Later, when I asked for a map and location it was all the bell desk could do but to mumble a few words and clearly wanted no further talking with me.
The restaurant at the top of the Main Building, the New New Otani, that turns, has a deal of around $100 USD for not very good food at all. Stay away from this place for dinner! The breakfast on the other hand in the new building has a great buffet that comes with the room. Coffee for two in the coffee shop betwen the two buildings was $15 per person for a cup of coffee. Quite ridiculous. We wanted to just share a spread sheet and it cost $30.
In short, you can do so much better and the location is kind of off the beaten path in Akasaka although it is right across from the Metro stop Akasaka Mitsuke.

Room Tip: Stay in the new part of the hotel and if you cannot do not go. Also, be sure and walk around the un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zabriskibound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo EXECUTIVE HOUSE ZEN
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaihin Makuhari Station
Hotel New Otani Makuhari
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
2,014 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower

Property: Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Address: 4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda 102-8578, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#18 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1479
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing