We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice scenery in the heart of the city”

The East Gardens of the Imperial Palace (Edo Castle Ruin)
Book In Advance
More Info
$290.21*
and up
Tokyo City Private Tour by Subway
Ranked #6 of 280 things to do in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: These beautiful gardens are located outside of the Imperial Palace. Access to the gardens is open to the public although the palace itself is off limits.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice scenery in the heart of the city”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The garden would not give you any "wow" or "ooh", but it is well maintained and is a great place to escape from the hustle and bustle of Tokyo for an hour or two.

When visiting in early December, there were still red leaves around and the scenery is quite nice. There aren't any spectacular palaces or castles, but the garden do give you some nice photo opportunities in the heart of the city (see attached photos) - for free.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Stephon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    602
    256
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“There are better gardens in Tokyo”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is not a spectacular garden, by any means. It's nice that there is a green spot in the middle of the city though, so if you are in the area and want to see a bit of greenery you might as well stop by, but I wouldn't go out of my way just to see this garden.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very average and not worth the trouble in August”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I'm sure it's pretty in the spring but don't bother going there on a hot day in August. There is little shade and not much to see. The black asphalt was excrutiating on a hot day and the only respite was in the rest house at the top of the hill. The streets around the park were interesting and a lot less congested than other areas in the city, but there isn't much to do in the area. We recommend Yoyogi Park and Meiji Shrine for beautiful scenery, gorgeous trees and shade!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank S_family2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Very average park”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The only part of the Imperial Palace grounds open for the public. I have seen many much better city parks & gardens around the world. Unless you are in the area and just need a break away from the city bustle, otherwise it is not worth the time and logistics to go there. If you like running, different story: the walkway around the outside of the Imperial Palace grounds offer a nice uninterrupted run on smooth asphalt.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good place to relax in the middle of a massive city”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We went all over Tokyo and this was one of our stops. We got in and it was beautiful. Great park with lots to see. We laid down on the grass of a big field in the middle of the gardens and it didn't feel like we were in the middle of Tokyo. It was great. Well worth the train ride/walk!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 325irollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The East Gardens of the Imperial Palace (Edo Castle Ruin) also viewed

 

Been to The East Gardens of the Imperial Palace (Edo Castle Ruin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing