We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel, great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hilltop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hilltop Hotel
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming hotel, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is charming, it an old (by Tokyo standards) structure, with "old-fashioned" service and amenities. It is quite different from the mainstream luxury chain hotels, providing a relaxing diversion from the frenetic rhythm of Tokyo life. It is located very conveniently, close to major subway and train stations, and surrounded by shops and restaurants, many of which are conveniently priced to cater to the students of the nearby Meiji University. But the hotel itself is tucked in a side street, and is very quiet. Service is impeccable, though the staff is not all well versed in English (better to speak slowly with no slang).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 334Giacomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
38
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

It was so nice to find a hotel which has kept its original historical charm and which hadn't been overly modernised. As someone who is always disappointed by unnecessary and usually soulless updating of older hotels this hotel is a gem. We had a Japanese style room which was great and our welcome to the city was wonderful. The staff were extremely courteous and we adored the deco (the table lamps alone throughout the property were worthy of an Elle Decoration article). We only had breakfasts here but both western and Japanese were good. Its very convenient from Tokyo station as its minutes away from a JR station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bureaudechange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I really liked this hotel. It was ideally located and the staff were super. I would have liked to rate it higher, but it needs some face lifting. The restaurants are very nice. A great steak place on the premises. I cannot say enough about the staff, everyone went out of their way to make sure we had a good experience. They were really good in explaining to us how to get around, as we had no knowledge at all of Japanese. Great coffee.!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DriftwoodB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Located right next to Meiji University, the hotel lies in the heart of Tokyo. Nonetheless, it is very quiet and there is no traffic noise which is of great value in a city as busy as Tokyo.
As all Japanese staff I have encountered, service at Hilltop was great and everybody tried to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
The rooms look a bit old-fashioned but everything is clean and comfortable.
Japanese breakfast is highly recommended! European style breakfast is also available.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

Our stay at the Hilltop was a lovely experience. The staff was warm and helpful (in spite of the fact that we spoke no Japanese and the staff had only a litte English). Our room was most comfortable. We had a marvelous dinner at one of the hotel's restaurants--great martinis, French wine, delicious steak. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OCPhineasFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiyoda hotels
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Ochanomizu Jimbocho
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan
Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan
#34 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Jimbocho
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Juraku
Hotel Juraku
#33 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hilltop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hilltop Hotel

Property: The Hilltop Hotel
Address: 1-1 Surugadai, Kanda, Chiyoda 101-0062, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hilltop Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your The Hilltop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Chiyoda
The Hilltop Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing