We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful”
Review of Imperial Palace

Imperial Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.28*
and up
Tokyo Highlights Afternoon Tour and Sumida River Cruise
Ranked #13 of 266 things to do in Chiyoda
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The current palace was constructed in the same spot where Edo Castle used to stand. Most of the palace grounds are not open to the public except for the East Gardens, which are accessible on select days.
United States
Level Contributor
343 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place is so beautiful, it is a shame that we couldn't get closer to the place. We did not know that palace was still occupied, however while we were disappointed that we couldn't access the palace, the grounds around are magnificent. Great spot for photos, we even saw some ladies drawing the bridge which was lovely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fnqfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    611
    440
    126
    44
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Less than impressive”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had booked a tour in advance, which you must do to enter.
The capital had only moved here from Kyoto a few hundred years ago, and then almost all of the buildings etc were destroyed during the World War. What is left is a couple of measly keeps, (the most impressive relocated from Kyoto), a bridge and a very modern and humble looking building which is the current 'palace'. The tour was in Japanese, but free audio guides were available. These were interesting enough.. but as far as an interesting site goes.. this is far from exciting.
I had previously been to Kyoto and the temples and palace there are older, more beautiful and more interesting. If you want to see a 'palace' go find a castle. Even if they are recreated, Osaka Castle or Odawara castle are impressive at least.
We were all quite glad when I heard the audio guide saying 'This concludes the tour'. I wouldnt go here unless you were really stuck for other things to do in Tokyo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilikethai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not All Accessible, but Still Worthwhile”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is where the imperial family lives. So, many parts are off limits. Still, what you can see is worth seeing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Far Far Far view”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

You have to go there,it is a important touristic landmark, but no more. Nice surroundings, including Tokyo Station, a long walk, free, but you go, take pictures, see tourist, ang go to walk to another neighborhood

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jorge r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nothing Special Relative to Japan”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you have limited time in Japan and particularly if you are going to Kyoto, the Imperial Palace in Tokyo is nothing special. Kyoto has palaces and garden that are far more grand and beautiful. This is not an accident as Kyoto was the imperial capital for over a 1000 years and much of it's history has been preserved. Meanwhile, the original structure here Edo Castle suffered from fires and clearing for the newer Imperial Palace in Tokyo which itself suffered much destruction during the war. Even if you are not going to Kyoto, I would spend time visiting the various temples, parks and gardens around Tokyo.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarcoPolo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing