We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Smart but cramped, view of a wall” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tokyo Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
138 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Smart but cramped, view of a wall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night as it was the last hotel in Tokyo with any rooms during golden week. £200 a night exc breakfast.


The property

Very smart shiny newly done up old station hotel next to the main station. The décor is first class – deep carpets, new paint, shiny brass, great marble. The hotel has small public areas (one lounge, which was so full there was a queue to enter), small reception. Right next to the station so great for train travellers.


The room

The rooms are in two lines – one line looks out over the plaza in front of the hotel (and has large rooms), the other looks out onto the wall of the station six feet away, and so is dark and pokey. We were in the dark rooms. The room was barely 100 feet (cats quite safe). Apart from size and the lack of light and outlook, the room was smart. The window was sealed, making the room feel very stuffy.


The bathroom

Good sized bath with a power shower over. Not huge but large enough, good smellies.



The bed

Very comfortable queen sized bed, nice cottons, good bedside lighting.


Ambient noise and light

Good curtains closed out the light, but some piece of electrical gear whined outside all night in a maddening falling and rising tone.


Other comments

Tokyo is expensive, so maybe my frame of reference is not great, but while I would not have minded paying £200 to look out upon a view with 200 feet, I objected to paying £200 to look out on a whiny wall, so this was not a great experience.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel look out on the wall of the station six feet away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coltbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    202
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
232
351
105
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

As first time visitors to Tokyo, we chose this hotel for the central location, and from recommendations on this site (especially regarding the English speaking concierge). We could not have been happier with our choice. We stayed in a palace side king room for 4 nights. The room, though not overly spacious, was luxurious, the bed wonderful, the decor elegant, and everything new and fresh with every gadget you could need - and free very fast wi-fi. The renovation of this historic building is superb. The concierge explained the history of the building as he escorted us to our room and his pride was evident. Our room was so quiet you could hear a pin drop (amazing considering it's proximity to one of the busiest railway stations in the world). Previous reviewers have mentioned the wonderful bathrooms and the very special Toto washlet toilet. I could go on and on - highly recommend this hotel! Also highly recommend Tokyo as a fabulous holiday destination.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicrobBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful, just cannot fault it, I enquired about where I could purchase one of the long shoe horns you find in the rooms, the staff said they would make enquiries and get bacK to me. When they rang back they said they were very expensive, so they would send one up to my room, what great service!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

It was a very nice experience for the first 3 nights in Japan. I am so happy that we chose this one as I heard of the new renovated hotel. It uses the latest, state of the art technology every part of the room and building, yet it has good taste and classic atmosphere. You cannot beat the location especially if you use Narita Express and Shinkansen bullet trains. Employees are so nice, professional, and helpful. They gave us the warm, welcoming feelings. Breakfast was superb. We will be repeating customers and will recommend to anyone who is visiting Japan.

Room Tip: Like most any other hotels in Tokyo, rooms tend to be small. Get largest room if you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yumiko734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, HI
Level Contributor
172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had been waiting and hoping patiently for this place to open, having stayed across the street at the very nice Marunouchi hotel. How happy I was to see what a sterling job they did of bringing back the luxury hotels of yesteryear. Equal in all respects to those great dames of the past, just meandering around the huge property made you feel as if a duke, duchess or emperor might appear just around the corner!

I read many of the other reviews for this hotel and have trouble understanding any of the negative remarks. Of course I understand that people have different tastes and experiences, but in all ways I found my experience here to be top rate.

I think I must have stayed in the same "Dome" room as some of the other reviewers, because I found the same amenities and furnishings, including the crystal chandeliers, the huge and wonder "rain" shower and the separate "personal" room with the porcelain "throne." No one mentioned, though, that this "throne" was one of the technical marvels of the bathroom age, a Toto "Washlet" that does everything for you when you "use" the facility except powder your bottom. No need to even touch the thing! From raising the lid to flushing and lowering it, and everything in between, this is truly a marvel of the age, and something really special. I would like the "not so" Grand Hyatt hotel in New York to come and learn something about great hotel bathrooms!

I didn't notice anyone's commenting on the lovely spa downstairs. I didn't use all their services, but just visiting the Japanese style bath (I was told you can't call it an onsen because they don't have natural mineral water being piped up from under the ground) made for a very relaxing experience. As I'm sitting in my room right now, I believe I'll be making a quick trip down there for an invigorating soak when I finish this.

So I basically have to agree with all the good comments that were made about this hotel, from the "surprisingly quiet" comment to "Great Hotel in the heart of the city." I definitely will stay here when I visit Japan again, because it's worth every penny you have to spend on it. A wonderful time here!

Room Tip: Be sure you get one of the "dome" rooms that overlook the concourse of the station. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitsiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is the first time I stay in this hotel, experience is not good at all except the breakfast is good but expensive, still i think the breakfast is worth cos i can see the chef has the heart to make such delicious breakfast buffet. The service there are not good at all. Conceige are so slow and impatience。a google map print need to stand more than 10 min. The conceige staff are not friendly at all! everythime i call for the message, they transfer and transfer and end up they cant find my message. Waste me another 5-8 miins waiting for the transfer。 i m a international traveller and always stay at 5 stars for more than 30 years. My comments is I will not pay 530USD per nite for this kind of service standard . I will never go back and refer this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilichili123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Situated above/next to rail lines and the bullet train, the room was surprisingly quiet. The room that we stayed in was in the dome section where the view was not only the beautifully restored dome with its interesting artwork but the coming and going of the commuters. Although the trains do stop running by midnight and start by 5:30 next morning, I could not tell that at least ten different lines were running next door. The room is luxurious starting with the chandelier hanging from the high ceiling. Although the room was a bit tight due to the big comfortable bed and chair with glass side table, it was furnished with two crystal night lamps. It had an iron and ironing board in the closet. Wifi is available. The bathroom has a very nice, deep tub with separate room for toilet. The outside corridor is elegantly decorated using white as the color theme which I am not sure how long that can be maintain. The only drawback for me about this place is the lobby. The lobby is too small to accommodate not just the hotel guests, but the many users of the hotel restaurants. In addition, unlike the other luxury hotels in the area, there is no doorman to greet you as you get off the taxi. We had to drag our luggages from cab to the hotel lobby. The location is obviously convenient being so close to the trains, shopping areas, and plenty of restaurants. However, have to learn to work the underground passage way to the other side of station without going through the JR turnstiles. And being Tokyo Station, the place is crowded.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank going_there_now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 70 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tokyo Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tokyo Station Hotel

Property: The Tokyo Station Hotel
Address: 1-9-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tokyo Station Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Tokyo, Japan HotelOne hundred years of experience has prepared us to move forward to the next generation. The Tokyo Station Hotel has a rich history, and is proudly a designated Important Culture Property of Japan. This Central Tokyo hotel preserves its deep rooted heritage and provides guests contemporary accommodations and unparalleled hospitality. The luxury guestrooms are housed in the hotel's iconic red-brick building, and over the past century have been called home by famous writers and prominent worldwide figures. The hotel is located in the heart of Tokyo, Japan overlooking the Imperial Palace. The Tokyo Station Hotel is directly connected to the JR Tokyo Station Marunouchi, for convenient travel throughout Japan. The hotel is also located just 30 minutes from the Haneda Airport Station by Tokyo Monorail; and 60 minutes from the JR Narita Airport Station by Narita Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tokyo Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing