We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marunouchi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marunouchi Hotel
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfy business hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed at the Marunochi Hotel for a week and liked it. You get continental breakfast and a decent coffee, for me the most important thing in the morning. The rooms are clean and comfy.
It is close to the Tokio station and within walking distance to the offices in the Marunouchi area.
If you take the Narita Express from Narita airport, it's a 5 minutes walk fom the station to the hotel.
For dinner we prefered to go to one of the little restaurants between Yaesu and Nihonbashi on the other side of Tokyo station.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fra_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    231
    58
    8
    10
See reviews for
51
51
56
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Good location for work. Decent rooms. The restaurant are just hotel restaurants even though the prices can lead you to believe they could be a cut above the rest. Stay here for work and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The location is probably one of the biggest drawcards of this hotel. It is close to the station and to the offices in the Marunouchi area. The underground walkways to the station also lead to lots of places to eat and shop.

The rooms and nice and fairly spacious. The bathrooms are very clean and well appointed.

There are a couple of restaurants that do a decent breakfast (but not sure about the rest of the food).

The view over the station and railway lines is not fabulous but it's probably better than looking straight at more buildings.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izumo, Japan
Level Contributor
222 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Location is extraordinary in Tokyo. Seeing of park side view room is not interesting for me. Room, bed and bathroom is very comfortable. We can request any style egg and bacon or ham dishes in western style breakfast. But, selections of fruits, vegetables and breads were poor.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobuhirokodani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Second visit to the same hotel... only went back as it was a 2night business trip and this is a neat, clean and central hotel to all my meetings. Perfect business hotel - cannot fault it for that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The first time in this hotel in (central) Tokyo, this is a very nice hotel, well cituated, central and close to all necesseties, the personnel was very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeePeetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I really, truly hoped my visit to this central Tokyo hotel would be better this time, as I got a nice, large cornerish room (the last time my room was so small I had to walk out to change my mind).
This is not a business friendly hotel. The location is what draws people, as well as the relatively cheap rates. You know why it is so cheap when you need to do anything.
There is no wireless Internet, which means you can only work in your room.
There is no lobby bar, save a cigar bar that stinks, so there is no place to unwind with a colleague after work.
Nope. Things haven't gotten any better.
There is an overpriced French restaurant. There is a Japanese restaurant that doesn't appear to have sushi available (at least not in English). There is a Chinese restaurant with no English translation.
They won't let you order in pizza or anything else.
The mini bar had some whiskies. That's it. Nothing else.
So, you're left with room service. The room service menu still consists of a laminated 1 page of unintelligble gobbledygook. What is "Salad of Gourmand" for JPY2,887? What is "Today's fish meuniere truffle flavor" for JPY5,197? What is the difference between "Assorted appetizer" for JPY3,465 and "Assorted cheese" for JPY2,772?
This is not a business-friendly hotel.
I had to go downstairs into the cigar bar to order my food and wine. It stank of cigars, but I had to stand there and point to what I wanted from the menu. I still smell of the smoke, and nobody was smoking near me b/c I was in the entry! It took more than 30-odd minutes to get it delivered to my room.
There are few people who speak any English, making communication quite difficult.
If you only use your room to crash at night, this place is fine.
It isn't welcoming. It isn't helpful. It isn't charming. It isn't friendly.
And, I'll talk about the TV, because when you are working, getting ready to leave, whatever, you want to know what is going on in the world. All the hotel has in English are CNN and BBC.
The only reason I give it an average rating is due to the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, because it is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemanhattanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Oakwood Premier Tokyo
Oakwood Premier Tokyo
#25 of 74 in Chiyoda
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marunouchi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marunouchi Hotel

Property: Marunouchi Hotel
Address: 1-6-3 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marunouchi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Cancelon, Rakuten, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marunouchi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marunouchi Hotel Chiyoda
Marunouchi Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing