We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, well cituated and very friendly personnel”
Review of Marunouchi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marunouchi Hotel
Ranked #21 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The first time in this hotel in (central) Tokyo, this is a very nice hotel, well cituated, central and close to all necesseties, the personnel was very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeePeetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 487 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

I really, truly hoped my visit to this central Tokyo hotel would be better this time, as I got a nice, large cornerish room (the last time my room was so small I had to walk out to change my mind).
This is not a business friendly hotel. The location is what draws people, as well as the relatively cheap rates. You know why it is so cheap when you need to do anything.
There is no wireless Internet, which means you can only work in your room.
There is no lobby bar, save a cigar bar that stinks, so there is no place to unwind with a colleague after work.
Nope. Things haven't gotten any better.
There is an overpriced French restaurant. There is a Japanese restaurant that doesn't appear to have sushi available (at least not in English). There is a Chinese restaurant with no English translation.
They won't let you order in pizza or anything else.
The mini bar had some whiskies. That's it. Nothing else.
So, you're left with room service. The room service menu still consists of a laminated 1 page of unintelligble gobbledygook. What is "Salad of Gourmand" for JPY2,887? What is "Today's fish meuniere truffle flavor" for JPY5,197? What is the difference between "Assorted appetizer" for JPY3,465 and "Assorted cheese" for JPY2,772?
This is not a business-friendly hotel.
I had to go downstairs into the cigar bar to order my food and wine. It stank of cigars, but I had to stand there and point to what I wanted from the menu. I still smell of the smoke, and nobody was smoking near me b/c I was in the entry! It took more than 30-odd minutes to get it delivered to my room.
There are few people who speak any English, making communication quite difficult.
If you only use your room to crash at night, this place is fine.
It isn't welcoming. It isn't helpful. It isn't charming. It isn't friendly.
And, I'll talk about the TV, because when you are working, getting ready to leave, whatever, you want to know what is going on in the world. All the hotel has in English are CNN and BBC.
The only reason I give it an average rating is due to the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, because it is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovemanhattanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The first time I was here, way back in 2005,was a shock for me because of the tiny room. I recall having a room with no outside view. Since then I've been a repeat client, thanks to it's central location in the CBD.
In the most recent visit, I was very happy with a room overlooking the grand Tokyo station and its rail tracks. Being mentally prepared for a small room must have helped. I could hear the trains running but the window soundproofing is good enough that it wasn't disruptive to my sleep.
The lack of a gym is a negative point for me but the fact that it connects in it's basement to the little restaurants under the Tokyo station and directly to the airport train sort of made up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jalee70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

If you're coming to Tokyo and plan to stay at a lovely hotel with probably the best location in town (especially if you plan to take trips on trains), you can't go wrong with this elegant, modern, beautiful place! When you get off the train, once you get out of the station you are right at the door of this great hotel! There's even an underground passageway that leads you right to it so you aren't subject to the vagaries of Tokyo weather.

When you arrive you're greeted by an elevator which whisks you to the seventh floor and the lobby. By the way, this elevator is a "view" elevator, so you can see out as you travel up! The lobby is several stories high, so you get a fantastic view by looking up! Right at the edge of the lobby is a very elegant restaurant, Le Palme d'Adam (which means "Adam's Apple," perhaps a strange name for a restaurant). As you walk toward the desk you're greeted by the usual pampering crew who will take your bags away and lead you to the desk, where in a maximum of Japanese efficiency you're quickly registered and ready to head for your room. You're guided by a very nice young lady who carries your bags and guides you to your room, explaining all the things you need to know about the room.

My room, both times I stayed here, was on the "courtyard" side, so except for a pretty formal garden far below, there's not much of a view. But the room was spacious, very modern and neat, with every amenity you'd need and large by Japanese standards. The bath was large, and I had a small "dressing area" off the bath. The appointments were of the highest quality. There is no feeling of "second best" about this place. The bed was very comfortable, what I would call a "heavenly bed" if I were describing a Westin or Sheraton bed. The room was quiet and just about all you could ask for in a room if you want relaxation and luxury. Yukata are furnished so you can walk around your room Japanese onsen-style.

Now as to their restaurant. I went to the French restaurant, "Le Palme d'Adam" *(Adam's apple) and had a wonderful, elegant and satisfying meal. They have a dish there which I believe may be called "Palme d'Adam" and features a roasted apple stuffed with foie gras and accompanied by fried apples and a wonderful sauce. That description doesn't do justice to this wonderful dish, which was so elegant and delicious. I also had a cold rice soup with tomato, and that description just doesn't do it justice as well. The servers were very professional, polite and very attentive to your every wish. On my last visit I went back twice and enjoyed it. Oh, their crepes suzettes were made at the table and were spectacular.

This is a hotel to which you're going to want to return as often as you are in Tokyo. It's just a tad pricy, but if you can afford it, you're worh it! Next time I plan to pay a little more and get a room facing the train station, as I'm a big fan of watching Japanese trains zooming in and out.

A GREAT EXPERIENCE!

Room Tip: Ask for the station view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitsiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed at this hotel last week for five nights. The hotel is very conveniently located if you are working in the marunouchi area or if you want quick access to the tokyo station, barely five minutes walk. The hotel is neat and clean and offers a view of all trains coming in and out of Tokyo station. Tokyo lights and air conditioning patterns have changed since the quake and that's to be seen in this hotel too. Rooms are comfy and largish by Tokyo standards. My television remote stopped working within a day and I didnt bother complaining as I was more at work than at the hotel. There is no 24x7 coffee shops in this hotel and there's a frnch restaurant. I had a meal there once and the portions are rather small. Food is tasty though. There's also a teppenyaki restaurant.
The staff are nice and helpful. Overall, pretty good.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANANDKMOORTHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel every time I am in Tokyo because of its convenience. It is right next to Tokyo station so very accessible to many metro and train lines. I also love that it is connected underground with Marunouchi Building, Shin Marunouchi Building so you can always enjoy good food and shopping even in challenging weather. It is also walking distance (10 minutes) to Ginza. Service is excellent and the staff is always helpful. Rooms are small which is standard in the heart of Tokyo. Rates are reasonable in this location so I will continue to stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeHYW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is its convenience - being opposite Tokyo Station, it is easy for catching the Narita Express. Room was small, but in good condition. It faced the station, but I did not hear any noise. No iron/ironing board in room, which is always slightly annoying, although room service promptly helped out. Service was impeccable, although the cafe hasn't quite mastered a western-style breakfast. Lots of quick food choices in the shopping centre that adjoins the hotel, plus a 7-11 style convenience store is nearby where you can withdraw yen from an ATM. Air conditioning was wound back and lighting was dimmed given power cuts post the terrible tsunami, but this is common across all big businesses as the Govt has requested a 15% cut in power usage.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Marunouchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Super Hotel LOHAS Tokyo Station Yaesu Chuo-guchi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyobashi
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Courtyard Tokyo Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marunouchi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marunouchi Hotel

Address: 1-6-3 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $231 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marunouchi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Marunouchi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marunouchi Hotel Chiyoda
Marunouchi Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing