We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice appartment, good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitano Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kitano Arms
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
166 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very nice appartment, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a full week in our first visit to Japan. This was a very good place to stay. Reasonable price, very friendly staff, and spacious rooms. We stayed in an appartment. Difference to hotel is that you don't get waken every morning for room cleaning for instance, which was very helpful when we tried to sleep through our jet lag. Appartment had fridge and little kitchen. We did not cook, but ot was good to have a fridge and a possibility to have breakfast in there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mapengobis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
23
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel has big rooms with more space than anywhere else we stayed in Japan. Our well-priced double room had a large seating area with a couch, a kitchenette, and lots of cupboards and wardrobes. After several weeks in Korea and Japan, we were able to stash all of our luggage out of sight and enjoy the space.
Up on the hill near the Diet, and near the National Theatre, it seemed initially that it was a bit out of the way. But then I discovered Akasaka. A short walk downhill was this lively area of shops, bars and restaurants with something to suit everyone.
The subway station, right in front of the hotel, has five train lines that make it easy to get to just about anywhere in Tokyo. There are enough shops, cafes and convenience stores nearby for that late night purchase and taxis are easy to get on the street in front.
I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet. The ones in front face the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rickbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Booked a double studio but upon late check-in were put in a twin room with terrible furniture and army-style blankets. No reception staff was available and the security suggested that we had to wait till next morning. Next morning the reception staff suggested to move two beds together and put a queen-size bed sheet on them, which I didn't accept. Immediately after that we were offered room with a proper queen-size, which happened to be furnished to expected standard.

Fitness room is available but nothing much can be found there other than a dumbbell rack and a solitary cross-trainer.

Other than this, the hotel is a very good value for money - finding rooms of this size in Tokyo at $160 a night looks like an exceptionally good deal.

Rooms are cleaned once a week. The hotel is just half a minute's walk from Nagatacho subway station (Exit 4). In 10-minute's walk is Akasaka-mitsuki station area with lots of restaurants and cafes, ranging from oyster bars to simple ramen places with only 4 ramens on the menu, although super delish.

Room Tip: If put in a twin room, insist on double, they are of a higher standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hardalloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during a recent trip to Tokyo. The hotel facilities are in fact apartments which come with a kitchenette. They're very well maintained but a bit outdated as far as style goes. Also, although there is a kitchenette, don't expect too much in terms of cooking utensils, the very basics are covered but anyone thinking about whipping up a full 3 course meal would be sorely disappointed. These elements and the fact that it's located in the administrative heart of Tokyo -read: nothing to see/do in the immediate vicinity- are the only drawbacks though. Pricing is very competitive and the rooms are of a positively lavish size by Tokyo standards. They also come equipped with a dedicated internet router and complimentary internet access. In the immediate vicinity you will find 3 convenience stores (all open 24/7) where one can purchase the essentials. Right outside the door there's also a subway station with ample connectivity to the railway stations and other metro lines covering all of Tokyo.

Also on the premises is the 'Kitano' restaurant which sadly does not seem to be heavily frequented. A shame, really, as they offer classic French cuisine that's very well executed and at very reasonable prices. Note that portion sizes are smallish though so if you're a big eater it might make sense to look elsewhere.

Provided that you don't want to stay smack in the middle of the most happening spots in Tokyo and appreciate an excellent price/quality ratio and the option to do some self-catering I can unhesitatingly recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xenophon2NewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We arrived the day after the 1 in 100 yr snow storm, Feb 8th so a lot of snow lying around Tokyo. Once we found the right railway station exit, #4, it was fabulous to have the subway entrance so close. Coffee shop & 7/11 right next door with plenty of choice for food, as Kitano Arms is an apt hotel you can warm/cook your own meals, cheaply purchased at the 7/11. But just down the road at Asakasa Mitusake so many restaurants were available if you want to go out. Our room was at the back & very quiet, staff so very helpful & friendly, free wifi, rooms were spacious ( a luxury in Japan) & comfortable. So many things are wonderful about Japan we love it and will definitely return, thank you Kitano Arms for helping us out during the crazy weather situation.

Room Tip: we had two different rooms but on the same side, both at the back & very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yanya14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week at the hotel... rooms was spacious and clean. Staff was very friendly and attentive. hotel also very conveniently located near metro station and easy access to other places of interest in tokyo! Would definitely come again to this hotel on my next visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Johan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

stayed here with my husband for the last leg of our honeymoon. the room was pretty old and furniture dated. but it was quite sizeable to fit us and a few pieces of luggage and still have space to move around. train station was also at the doorstep of the hotel. is ok if u dont plan to stay in ur room much.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Oakwood Premier Tokyo
Oakwood Premier Tokyo
#25 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Shinjuku
Hundred Stay Tokyo Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Tokyu Stay Shibuya
Tokyu Stay Shibuya
#15 of 27 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Shinjuku
Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku
Tokyu Stay Nishishinjuku
#22 of 81 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitano Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitano Arms

Property: Kitano Arms
Address: 2-16-15 Hirakawa-cho, Chiyoda 102-0093, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kitano Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Also Known As:
Kitano Arms Chiyoda
Kitano Arms Hotel Chiyoda
Kitano Arms Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing