We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Grand Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Palace
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was our second stay here and the staff are all friendly and helpful,nothing is too much trouble. They stored some luggage for two weeks while we went elsewhere. We ate at Jonathons across the road which has western and japanese meals and reasonably priced, but we also ate at the many restaurants around and the food is amazing. Centrally located within walking distance of the subway. There is a Daiso in the mall at Otemachi station (JR) 10 mins walk.We will definitely stay here on future visits to Tokyo.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room away from the elevator and a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catchfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    235
    84
    21
    12
See reviews for
100
61
60
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We had a triple room, which provided 2 twins (we now realize Japanese twin beds could sleep 2), and a sofa bed. We were a family of 4. For Japan the room was spacious enough for us, very clean and comfortable. We had no problem with room temperature as other reviewers had commented on, and the room was a perfect temperature. Which was lucky as I was very apprehensive about booking this based on those reviews. The subway was 5 mins walk, JR about 10mins, with plenty of interesting shops to view on the way. Koishikawa Karakuen Gardens are within walking distance and well worth a visit. This isn't a particularly touristy area, which I prefer, as I like to get a feel for the country itself other than what it puts on for the tourists. I can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat there. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

The location is great, pretty central and direct access from the airport by the airport shuttle.
The staff is very friendly and always helpful.
The food is great, especially the underground restaurant.
However, as I stayed there more than a week, i would have welcomed a gym a swimming pool and a wider variety of international TV channels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArnaudGagneux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
359 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

Spent several days here on business, my first trip to Asia. The hotel is easy to access from the airport by bus. The staff is very nice and friendly. The food was very good - we ate all meals in the hotel because of the meeting - a variety of western and japanese food. The rooms are a bit on the small side but this is not unusual for Japan (I understand). The hotel is not very modern - for example, the lighting in the rooms was poor, the hairdryers are old. The bed was very comfortable and linens nice quality. The rooms were also immaculate. The biggest problem was the virtual lack of sound proofing which is really problematic when you are jet-lagged!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harlemfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Enjoyed my stay here fine. The location is great for short walks or long runs through the neighboring parks and palace gardens, as well as some nearby shopping/dining options, though for the most part it is immediately in a business area. Staff was incredibly friendly. Restaurant breakfast was mediocre. Dinner better, included various good japanese options, but was expensive. Lack of a fitness center would be a problem, though on nice days (which I had) you can run outside and it is beautiful. No wifi here -- ethernet only -- but the internet was fast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jag343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here as part of a tour package to visit Tokyo. The hotel lobby and restaurants are obviously where all the renovation money goes, because the room left MUCH to be desired. A lot of hard work has gone into getting the smell of cigarette smoke out of the "non-smoking" rooms, but it's not gone yet, and certainly not from the hallways. The sheets were clean, but after investigating underneath, there was hair on the mattress. I'll blame the tour company for this foul up, but my wife and I were booked in a room with two twin beds. The hotel didn't remedy this, part of the whole "prepaid tour package" thing, so we spent several uncomfortable nights crammed into a twin together. We both aren't into sleeping alone.
Though the hotel was old, the staff and location couldn't be beat. Walking distance from the subway, and the vast, beautiful grounds of the imperial palace. Less than 2 blocks away from streets of excellent restaurants of every kind (yes, Tokyo has amazing Italian food) and an intriguing Shinto Shrine. It was too cloudy to see Mt Fuji, but the view of the city from the 23rd floor French restaurant was decent.
A word of caution when using the hotel to exchange money: convenient, but pricy. The exchange rate was 79 Yen to the Dollar, and the hotel would only do 70:1. Get your money exchanged at the airport, they don't take commission.

Room Tip: Make sure they understand you are a couple and want one big bed, not 2 little ones. Double occupancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ooklish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

I am familiar with Tokyo and have stayed at various hotels.
If you are not going to be staying in your room much and not looking for luxuries such as swimming pool, spa,gym etc. This is a good choice!

Rooms are simple yet accomodating.
Staff is great and hotel has cafe, restaurants etc. Also Starbucks, postoffice, convenience stores etc with in walking distance.
Hotel is old but clean and does not have run down feeling. They have kept it well.

Location is great, in central Tokyo near metro station and great for walks/runs around the Palace if you wish.

Have stayed here several times now and it if you are not looking for the bigger chains like Hyatt, Hilton etc..This is a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiyoda hotels
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Kudanshita
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
APA Hotel Tokyo Kudanshita
APA Hotel Tokyo Kudanshita
#53 of 74 in Chiyoda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
#17 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
The Keio Presso Inn Kudanshita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Palace

Property: Hotel Grand Palace
Address: 1-1-1 Iidabashi, Chiyoda 102-0072, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Chiyoda
Grand Palace Hotel Tokyo
Hotel Grand Palace Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing