We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel; great location; few amenities”
Review of Hotel Grand Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand Palace
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Enjoyed my stay here fine. The location is great for short walks or long runs through the neighboring parks and palace gardens, as well as some nearby shopping/dining options, though for the most part it is immediately in a business area. Staff was incredibly friendly. Restaurant breakfast was mediocre. Dinner better, included various good japanese options, but was expensive. Lack of a fitness center would be a problem, though on nice days (which I had) you can run outside and it is beautiful. No wifi here -- ethernet only -- but the internet was fast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jag343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

164 - 170 of 499 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here as part of a tour package to visit Tokyo. The hotel lobby and restaurants are obviously where all the renovation money goes, because the room left MUCH to be desired. A lot of hard work has gone into getting the smell of cigarette smoke out of the "non-smoking" rooms, but it's not gone yet, and certainly not from the hallways. The sheets were clean, but after investigating underneath, there was hair on the mattress. I'll blame the tour company for this foul up, but my wife and I were booked in a room with two twin beds. The hotel didn't remedy this, part of the whole "prepaid tour package" thing, so we spent several uncomfortable nights crammed into a twin together. We both aren't into sleeping alone.
Though the hotel was old, the staff and location couldn't be beat. Walking distance from the subway, and the vast, beautiful grounds of the imperial palace. Less than 2 blocks away from streets of excellent restaurants of every kind (yes, Tokyo has amazing Italian food) and an intriguing Shinto Shrine. It was too cloudy to see Mt Fuji, but the view of the city from the 23rd floor French restaurant was decent.
A word of caution when using the hotel to exchange money: convenient, but pricy. The exchange rate was 79 Yen to the Dollar, and the hotel would only do 70:1. Get your money exchanged at the airport, they don't take commission.

Room Tip: Make sure they understand you are a couple and want one big bed, not 2 little ones. Double occupancy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ooklish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I am familiar with Tokyo and have stayed at various hotels.
If you are not going to be staying in your room much and not looking for luxuries such as swimming pool, spa,gym etc. This is a good choice!

Rooms are simple yet accomodating.
Staff is great and hotel has cafe, restaurants etc. Also Starbucks, postoffice, convenience stores etc with in walking distance.
Hotel is old but clean and does not have run down feeling. They have kept it well.

Location is great, in central Tokyo near metro station and great for walks/runs around the Palace if you wish.

Have stayed here several times now and it if you are not looking for the bigger chains like Hyatt, Hilton etc..This is a great choice!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great business hotel, wonderful staff, perfect location. Walking distance to subway stations. My room had a view of Mount Fuji ..it was my lucky day I guess. Nearby is the Imperial Palace and its public gardens, so you can actually jog or just go for a walk . The famous Yasikuni shrine is just around the corner. There are many local restaurants nearby ..for reasonably priced mealsIts my all time favourite hotel in Tokyo for many years.

Room Tip: Rear view rooms..more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed here on a business trip for several nights and found, certainly for the 'day off' I had for sightseeing, the location to be very good. A very short walk from the Kudanshita metro station and within short walking distance of the Yasukini shrine and around 20-30 minutes from the Akihabra electronics shopping complex and the Imperial Palace & Gardens.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful if they tried (though this is Japan, it goes without saying) and the room was comfortable and spacious enough, but overall I felt the place a little tired and in need of an uplift. I wouldn't say it was unclean by any stretch of the imagination, but I think the slightly stale atmosphere could lead to that impression. I did also struggle with the humidity, the air conditioning in the room wasn't cool enough for my personal preference, and it didn't seem to exist in the halls and lobby.

The top floor bar offers fantastic views over the city.

One last point was that the breakfast really wasn't up to much, by both Japanese standards and the western choices.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Grand Palace. The staff are very attentive, kind, and helpful. They all spoke English very well also. The rooms are quite plain and maybe a little dated BUT very clean which is by far more important in my opinion. There is an inexpensive resturant across the street (Jonathans) that we went to in the morning for breakfast. The subway station is less than a 5 min. walk away. Overall a good place to stay. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammyb613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

One of the most insecure hotels I have every stayed in! Despite having the door locked and bolted was woken up at 5am to find a thief in my room going through my stuff. Chased him out of the room and down the corridor but he got away. went back into the room to find all my money stolen. When I contacted the manager he first denied that a thief can get into the room. Police were called but of no help either.

Be warned this hotel is NOT SAFE

Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Simjesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiyoda hotels
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Kudanshita
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
APA Hotel Tokyo Kudanshita
APA Hotel Tokyo Kudanshita
#58 of 78 in Chiyoda
80 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
#19 of 78 in Chiyoda
978 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,074 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Jimbocho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Palace

Address: 1-1-1 Iidabashi, Chiyoda 102-0072, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $123 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Palace, located close to the Tokyo Station Terminal and Imperial Palace Garden neighborhood, offers you spacious and comfortable guest rooms, appetizing dishes, exquisite view from sky lounge and friendly staffs you can ask for any requests. Nearest metro / JR station can be reached within 2~7 min walk. Easy access from these stations to most of the famous must see spots in Tokyo will make your travel more smooth and pleasant. Limousine bus runs every day from both Narita Airport and Haneda International Airport which stops in front of the hotel. And of course, Free Wi-Fi is available during your stay. Please feel like home with our Japanese hospitality in Hotel Grand Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palace Chiyoda
Grand Palace Hotel Tokyo
Hotel Grand Palace Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing