We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel but has its flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as part of a wider trip around Japan. The location of the hotel is excellent, breakfast is good and the free wifi is certainly a perk. However, our room was unacceptably hot and we were unable to turn the heating down which prevented us from sleeping well. There are two restaurants, the top floor restaurant and bar is pricy but very nice. The 3rd floor restaurant is more basic and we found their interpretation of western dishes weird at best.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 867 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Great location, with 2 metro stations (5 lines) on the doorstep, making it easy to navigate such a vast city. Always plenty of taxis outside too. Hotel itself in the Tokyu plaza, with a few shops and restaurants for all tastes. More just across the road. The hotel is modern and clean. All staff friendly and polite, especially the concierge who helped us with a number of things, including a helicopter flight over Tokyo at night (a must!). All staff spoke good English. Upgraded to a superior double; comfy bed, good facilities (including a super loo!).

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jko29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Never stayed in this hotel, but went to Excel Shibuya several times and then Otani and Cerulean. The hotel is a perfect location and overall quality is very good. Wi-fi works great and it's free, while on higher level hotel you have to pay! Breakfast is pretty good but not at the level of others. For same price (just 200 yen difference) you can have a completely another level buffet with garden view at the Otani, for example, within 5 minute walking distance. The convenience store downstairs with ATM can prove very useful. Around lots of restaurants and alternative places for breakfast. All in all I will consider again this hotel for my next visit to Tokyo.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank kuka70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour of Japan. We had a twin room. It was very small with limited space for 2 suitcases which we were living out of during the tour. Pillows are very hard. Bathroom very small. This appeared to be the norm. Plenty of hot water and toiletries. Breakfast was poor. Small restaurant so you need to get there early if you want breakfast before you set off in the morning. Food always lukewarm at best. Doesn't get replenished very quickly when it runs out. Was very conveniently located for getting round Tokyo. Underground station directly opposite hotel. Staff were always polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been a semi-regular guest at the Tokyu for several years and it is a solid hotel. Close to everything you need, with a great staff and nice rooms.

When in Japan, I like a smaller room, or should I say, an appropriate-sized room (I found the palatial rooms of the Grand Prince a sickening waste of space). Tokyu rooms are what you need and no more. The value is decent, though Tokyo could probably demolish 20% of its hotels and turn the land back into parks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I visited Tokyo for a few days of vacation. I needed somewhere conveniently located for meeting up with friends and shopping.

The Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo fit the bill. It is across the street from the Akasaka Mitsuke subway station, with the Nagato-cho subway station also around the corner. This puts you within a short walk of 5 subway lines, which makes it easy to get around to most anywhere in Tokyo. In addition, there are tons of restaurants and bars in the immediate Akasaka and Akasaka Mistuke neighborhoods.

The hotel rooms were about average for a Tokyo business hotel. The room size was mediocre. The bathroom does look recently remodeled, which is a plus. The Nespresso machine in each room and memory foam pillows are also nice touches.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govt_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during my visit to Tokyo, and it was perfect. I was a little worried after reading some reviews online about the hotel for its rooms being too small. I stayed on the 8th floor, in the ladies area, in a moderate single room, and it was perfect. Room size is great, plenty of room to walk around, good closet space, bathroom with tub. Quiet room as it is facing the back instead of the street. Most importantly, it's in a very convenient location, literally right across tokyo metro station Akasaka Mitsuke, arund 90 mins from Narita Airport on Keisei main line limited express. The hotel is in a businss district, therefore it's less busy but just a couple stations away from Ginza and other areas. Hotel itself is surrounded by lots of restaurants, coffee shops and convenient stores. Hotel staff very efficient and accomodating. I booked the room on expedia, got a great 50% off rate. Wrote the hotel with my special request of non-smoking and room on ladies floor. Got a reply the next day confirming all the requests. I am very happy with the hotel, and definitely will return to it. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank Sidneyleee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
Hotel Monterey Akasaka
#18 of 116 in Minato
583 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: 2-14-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#18 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#19 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $136 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
★Located 1 min. by walk from subway station★Two subway station serving 5 lines are just a stone's throw away from our hotel.Using the subway,you can reach key areas such as Shinjyuku,Shibuya,Ginza and Tokyo station within 10 minutes.And there are limousine bus services between our hotel and Narita and Haneda airport.Besides there are a lot of restaurant around our hotel. The perfect location for your business and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akasaka Excel Chiyoda
Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing