We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value in a nutshell.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Value in a nutshell.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Clean and compact, the rooms are tiny but deliver everything you need - so long as you don't need to swing a cat. The staff were very helpful, giving excellent advice on things like negotiating the Tokyo subway system. So long as you don't mind the toilet and shower down the hall (actually 2 paces from our room) this is a great place for travellers on a budget.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David_ST8074KV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    108
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
31
39
75
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had a great time here. I traveled alone to Japan from the US as a 22 year old girl and was so happy I was directed to this hostel. The staff was so friendly and I knew at any time of day or night I would be greeted my smiling faces and could buy a hot meat and coffee. The other people I stay with in the dorms we SO friendly. It a cozy home in a big city. The beds were comfortable and had screens so your bed could be pitch black even though all the lights were on. Location was PERFECT. lovvved it here, would suggest to anyone on an adventure

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Compared to my bad experience at Hotel Istana Ratu in Jakarta where my nephew lost his money in his backpack inside our room, Sakura Jimbocho hotel's staff are honest and helpful. I left my money and credit card with the receptionist who just placed them on the rack (not safety box) in a room right next to the reception. Everything was intact when I got them back. The hotel is centrally located, clean and affordable. I highly recommend this hotel to travellers travelling alone lilke me or travelling with family/friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelBugEver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2014

If you want a good sleep, don't choose the male dorm. There is one person making long stay who keeps on coughing at night, i don't even get one night of good sleep. Also the staff couldn't help me with the problem, they only asked me to add money to change to single room, which is too costly for me.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennypart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Hotel is situated in a great location and metro is just around the corner. Staff was very friendly. Rooms are small, but everything is clean and well organized. Sakura Jimbocho made it easy to expierence Tokyo on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brindisi
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Good hotel, simple but very clean. Thay give you what you need, helpful staff, clean room, good furniture (simple but good), good room service and it's near to underground! If you jump in tokyo, go there!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davide D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
サクラホテル神保町, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Sakura Hotel Jimbocho, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and your comment is appreciated. As for smoking matter, we express our deep apologize and we would like to keep making efforts for your more comfortable stay. It would be highly appreciated if you consider booking at our hotel next time again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Sakura is a hostel which has small private rooms and all other facilities are shared.The rooms are tiny by non Tokyo standards and probably the smallest room we have stayed in anywhere, however Tokyo hotel rooms are famously small.
The staff are friendly with decent English and the place is clean and comfortable. The walls are a little thin and some of the other guests could be heard talking throughout the night, although this is not uncommon in a hostel type environment. We paid about $70 AUD / night which include white bread, vegetable soup and tea / coffee (the breakfast).
The location is great if you are a fitness champion - only 3 mins jog to the Imperial palace garden running track, which is a pleasant 5km loop.
It is definitely a case of you get what you pay for here so if you are looking for a budget option this place is fine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelGb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Tokyo Kiba Hotel
#6 of 33 in Koto
228 reviews
Akabane / Itabashi
Hotel Tetora Akabane
Hotel Tetora Akabane
#1 of 14 in Kita
34 reviews
Ueno, Asakusa
Stayto
Stayto
#26 of 122 in Taito
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Kudanshita
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Jimbocho
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
APA Hotel Tokyo Kudanshita
APA Hotel Tokyo Kudanshita
#57 of 74 in Chiyoda
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakura Hotel Jimbocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakura Hotel Jimbocho

Property: Sakura Hotel Jimbocho
Address: 2-21-4 Jimbocho Kanda, Chiyoda 101-0051, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sakura Hotel Jimbocho 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sakura Hotel Jimbocho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakura Hotel Chiyoda
Sakura Hotel Jimbocho Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing