We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/30/21
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com$62
Booking.com$89
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveler rating
435
448
85
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
435
448
85
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews imperial palace national theatre subway station non smoking few minutes walk hanzomon shibuya exit japan diet haneda jr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 996 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I spent almost a week at the Grand Arc Hanzomon.

Our room was small, pretty typical of hotels in this price range in Japan.

The room was clean. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well.

The staff was friendly and helpful

The location is hard to beat. A short walk to two major subway lines.

I loved being right across from the path around the Imperial Palace grounds and went jogging on it 3 mornings during my stay.

It's a 20 minute walk to the shopping just South of Tokyo Station

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2019

So it is an average 3 star hotel. OK for a business stay, but would not stay here if travelling personally.

Checkin: was OK, the staff speak English fairly well and was given WiFi password. Which worked for half a day as on Monday the password is reset and a new one is generated(?). Be aware of this.

Rooms: Rooms are tiny even for Japan standards. The bed was squashed up against the wall - it was just enough for 1 person to move. There is a huge amount of hidden engineering in the room to make comfortable. For example the floor in the bathroom has a big incline, so the toilet seat buffers are different heights to keep the seat level. The toilet engineering has been covered in various posts, so will skip this plumbing marvel. The kettle has extra button that makes it inconvenient, but at least there is one. There is not enough room to open a bigger suitcase.
Asking for an iron, I got one, but again over engineered. But no place to set it up.
Slept OK though.

Breakfast: You have a limited choice of US (scrambled eggs and ham), continental (yogurt and a couple of rolls) and Japanese a mixed concoction of weirdness for a western pallet. I tried the Japanese, but asked for black tea - was charged handsomely for this, despite this being just a simple substitution.

Facilities: Website claims "outdoor pool" and also fitness center. Hotel has NOTHING.
It is primarily used for events on function floors.

Location: OK, it is close to a couple of Metro stations, but basically you are next to the Royal Palace grounds so quiet and not much happening. There are few restaurants, but basically you will use Metro for any trips.

Summary: I was there on business as office is close by - If I stayed personally it would definitely NOT be first choice. Be aware if you do anything "off standard" you will be charged, and not by a small amount. Rooms were noisy at night, quite a bit of police activity.

Room tip: Ask for room on 17th floor, these are literally TWICE the size
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IJKMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018 via mobile

I hadn’t been to Tokyo before and reviews suggested that Chiyoda or Shibuya were good neighbourhoods. Chiyoda is more central, so we chose this neighbourhood and hotel. It’s a fine place - rooms are very small but that’s common with hotels in Tokyo (and japan more generally). The subway Hanzomon is literally 3 min away, and there are a number of coffee shops, family Marts/7-11/lawsons nearby if you fancy buying food instead of eating out. There’s also plenty of restaurants. We didn’t eat at the hotel.

There are pleasant shrines and temples nearby. The imperial palace garden, parliament and theatre are also within 20 min walk. The next metro station, Nagatacho, is well catered for most lines. I’d recommend getting a day metro pass for 600 yen (basically, over three trips per 24 hs and it’s worth it). Shibuya is also on the purple hanzomon line so from the hotel you can be in Shibuya in 15 min.

Overall a great place. Cleaning staff were attentive and replenished shampoo and others every day ( there’s a generous supply of everything including make up cleaner, lotion and face foam, which is a nice touch). The toilet is an experience - you need a PhD in engineering to figure out how to use it for the first time- but you’ll see these toilets everywhere (including public stations). The best part of the hotel is the spectacular view of Chiyoda (day and night).

I read reviews that check in wasn’t very pleasant - I guess most tourists from Europe will arrive jet lagged early morning. Be mindful check in is at 2pm (although they let us in at 1pm). There’s no vending machine or complimentary stuff in the shared areas but if you sneak into a floor, they are there. Better yet, hoof it to family Mart in 3 min and get what you want.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank eagertraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2018

It is hard to find fault with this hotel, located in a very convenient but less than happening area of Tokyo (close to the Imperial Palace grounds, embassies, businesses and government/political offices). The subway stop is close by, allowing easy access to more lively areas of the city. The rooms are small by Western standards (which is to be expected for Tokyo and completely normal) but very well appointed, organized and clean. Most of the rooms have fantastic views of the moat surrounding the palace and the business and government district surrounding the hotel. With the weddings and other events taking place at this hotel, you sort of feel that you are staying at a much more luxurious hotel. (By the way, it is not noisy at all.) It is definitely good value for money, and I would stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank SoloFemaleTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

The location of the hotel is perfect for those wanting to visit the Imperial Palace and the National Theatre. It is walking distance from the Budokan indoor arena where major concerts and major Sumo contests take place. The Hanzomon metro station is only 300 metres away with major shopping and entertainment centres of Tokyo only a few metro stops away. The hotel is not on any of the limousine bus routes from Narita or Haneda but it is not too hard to get there by public transport.

The Room I had on the 11th floor was a little on the small size but not a surprise for Tokyo. I had a great view from my floor. The room was very clean. The shower worked well and there was bath (albeit a small one) which is becoming increasingly unusual in standard hotel rooms around the world. The toilet as is often the case in Japan is a jet toilet and for those who have not been to Japan before are in for a surprise.

I stayed here over a weekend and there were a couple of weddings taking place but this was not a problem at all and did not disturb at all.

The staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and answered all the questions I had. Very helpful staff. I only ate breakfast at the hotel which is presented in a very pleasant area. My rate included breakfast and looking at the price was reasonable. It is not a buffet style system and there was not a great deal of it but for me enough to satisfy.

There are a number of 24-hour shops in the area (as there are everywhere in Japan) and a few restaurants but this is more of a quieter area of Tokyo so if you are looking for wall restaurants and bars, take a quick metro or taxi ride.

Overall my experience was excellent. I Will certainly stay here again for the price I paid and I look forward to returning.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WinchesterCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews