We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can get a good deal - go!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you can get a good deal - go!”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Its a very nice hotel, with a great view over the city and Imperial palace gardens. The rooms are bigger than other Japanese hotels, but still small by some standards. They were clean, the service was excellent there.

There are a number of resturaunts and bars there, however Hanzomon itself has a limited number of places to eat. We usually used the subway to get to somewhere more interesting, but the Subway entrance is about 400m away. (Use the yellow signs to find your exit - the hotel is listed).

While we were there the Tokyo high and mighty seemed to be meeting there and there were numerous TV cameras outside. For the price we paid for it, we were very happy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tungstenthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    386
    69
    10
    11
See reviews for
106
381
130
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2010

This place is right by the subway and the Imperial Palace. I had a great view of Tokyo and Tokyo Tower from my room. Good deal for the location and lots to do in and around this area.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAnthony1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Uk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Firstly I went with my 11 year old daughter, so although the room was small, not such an issue, but we did have our 2 suitcases taking up most of floor space! But certainly adequate if intending to be out most of day. View was great & panoramic - and made the room feel much more open & bigger. Spotless, good size bathroom with nice big bath and shower, toilet with all functions you could ever want and more!

Friendly staff - all those we spoke to could speak English. Restaurant good and reasonably priced.

Location great - very close to subway. Took taxi to and from Tokyo Station (one hour from Narita Airport on Narita Express) and it cost about £10 for the 10 minute journey. Subway not worth it because of stairs.

Free internet connection very fast - LAN cable in drawer in room - connected my laptop within a minute of arriving.

Through Hotels.com we paid less that £60 per night for both of us which was very reasonable - I would have paid more. If we go back to Tokyo I would not hesitate in booking the same hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salisburyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

This was the first hotel I ever stayed at in Japan and so I was shocked by how small the room was. However having been many times again and stayed at different places I know that this is quite a standard size of room. Although it was small it had everything I needed and there are lots of gadgets in the bathroom, from the toilet seat to the clever mirror that does not steam up after you shower!

The location of the hotel is the main attraction though. With the train station nearby it is just so accessable. I just wish I had been there in Blossom season.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Katlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2009

All of the reviews I have seen online have been from people who speak Japanese and mention that not many foreigners stay in this hotel. This is true, when we stayed there, as far as I could see, we were the only English guests in the hotel. None of us spoke Japanese and the staff were very helpful and most of them could speak English quite well.

Just to add on to what others have said, really nice view, good location (couple of minutes walk from Hanzomon station). The rooms are quite small, but it wasn't much of a problem as we didn't spend much time in the hotel anyway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hctimxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babievi
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2009

Very convenient hotel located only 2min away from the Hanzomon station. Hotel was clean and the room is pretty decent size. Our room had 2 double bed and 1 single bed. One of the room was where the bath and shower was located and the other room was where the high tech toilet was located.

Pros: The district seem to be business people oriented. There are restaurants and convenient stores close by and a McDonald just outside of the Hanzomon station. Very friendly staffs and although most of them don't speak fluent english, they would attempt to communicate with you by hand signals. Though my 2 night stay, I've encountered 2 staffs who were able to speak fluent english. (both during night time)

Cons: I would not recommend this hotel to people who are not used to carrying heavy luggages and will be planning to take the train. Reason is the Hanzomon line does not have any elevator or escalator. To get in and out of the station you would have to walk up and down the many flight of stairs. (however if you are willing to pay for taxi service, its around 1400yen from Tokyo station to the hotel)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babievi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2009

This hotel is conveniently located a block away from the Hanzomon station and right outside the west side of the Imperial palace. What is so great about that is that it's easy to find and every taxi cab driver knows where the imperial palace is. The rooms and beds are small compared to Western hotels, however it's typical for japanese hotels. The hotel was very clean, smelled good (because of the open floral shop), great food and the staff was very helpful. Our view was part of the imperial palace grounds and some of the hotels near tokyo station. It's way better than having a view of just buildings.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
#17 of 74 in Chiyoda
948 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
2,013 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 111 in Minato
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 83 in Shinjuku
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon

Property: Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Address: 1-1 Hayabusacho, Chiyoda 102-0092, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Arc Hanzomon Hotel Chiyoda
Grand Arc Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing