We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet escape in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quiet escape in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Excellent value for the location and amenities. Service is exceptional. Though it is not in one of the larger centers of Tokyo, there are many choices of excellent restaurants in the neighborhood. Must change lines once to go to the Tokyo station, but taxi (1400-1700 yen) is a comfortable option.

Room Tip: Deluxe twin room with a view of the Imperial Gardens was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time_wanderer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    336
    55
    9
    10
See reviews for
92
348
112
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Located right next to the Imperial Palace (which was unfortunately under construction during our stay in March), this hotel served as a great base for our time in Tokyo. The Hanzoman subway entrance is at the end of the block so that was super convenient to explore the rest of the city. It's a hotel more for business people. We stayed in a traditional room with futami beds. While comfortable, the room had barely any room for the 3 of us. I understand that rooms are a lot smaller in Japan but we were not used to it being "this" tiny. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel which had a pretty helpful staff. The rooms were clean and modern. The wifi was also strong in the common areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a very quiet area of Tokyo, one block from Hanzomon subway station. The price is good, the rooms are a little small but very clean. The food at the restaurant is very good and the view from the rooms is amazing!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the last leg of our Japan tour. The hotel is located in the buisiness district and is a close to the Hanzamon line subway. It's ok for getting about, however getting in and out of the station with luggage is difficult as there are only stairs ( and many of them). The rooms were small and so were the beds & bathrooms, but it was fine if you just want to use it as a base. The views were lovely - we had overlooking the park and the theatre. My biggest issue was the very unhelpful and rather insolent staff in form of a male recepsionist. Firstly when i called down to inquire about options of getting to the airport he respnded "train". I asked if the limobus which i had read about was in service and he replied "no. Train" and hung up. I thought maybe he just couldn't understand or didn't speak english very well. He proved me wrong when I later that day went to reception to inform them that my partner had lost both his phone and camera earlier on the trip and that the police might contact the hotel with information. Before I was even able to explain or say what I had come to say the male receptionist interrupted and said it was a matter for the police. After 15 minutes of me trying to get through that I wanted to know was whether the police had been in contact or if there was anything more we could do, I had to give up out of sheer frustration and annoyance at the receptionist. He even went as far as to scournfully laugh at me for not getting the name of the police officer ( I had the policeform with reffrence number etc). I am appalled at how we got treated by the receptionist - he at no point seemed vaguely interested in helping or empathising with our situation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We found an outstanding deal online for this hotel and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel for what we paid. It was fancy for under $100/night!! We loved the view of the Imperial Palace and the Tokyo skyline especially at night. The Tokyo Tower lit up at night and was just BEAUTIFUL from our room. Other reviewers are right in that itʻs not in a busy part of Tokyo, but we liked that it wasnʻt. There was a convenience store just up the road and we found some rather fabulous places to eat just around the area. We loved the close proximity of the Honzōmon station (of the Tokyo Metro) to the hotel. The hotel staff was very helpful, most especially with helping us get to Narita Airport after check out. They called the cab for us, which made life easier for us as we donʻt speak the language, so the driver knew exactly where to take us and we didnʻt need to say too much! lol I wouldnʻt mind staying here again if we go back to Tokyo. Oh, yes, it is primarily a business hotel - lots of men in suits and ties. We felt out of place in our tourist get up - jeans, t-shirt, hat, etc. LOL Yeah, one more thing. It was smokey in our room. We werenʻt able to get a non-smoking room (they were sold out), so we had to endure the smokey room smell for the duration of our stay. BOOOO

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAKER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
457 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a very nice hotel located aross from the Chiyoda district, the location of the Imperial Palace. Alas you can't go in to the palace itself and the surrounding neighborhood is not terribly exciting; government buildings and embassies mostly. Still plenty of food options and the hotel restaurant itself is quite good. The Hanzoman line is about 2 blocks away so you can get on there and subway to most areas of Tokyo. In essence it's a nice central location but not the most happening neighborhood; in retrospect I would have liked to stay in Asakusa or Shinjuku.

The hotel itself is well maintained and the staff are helpful. Great value for the money. Tatami mat sleeping takes some getting used to for those of us used to Western style beds so be forewarned.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
222 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good location with the Tokyo Metro station Hanzomon very close. The hotel is more of a business hotel with small rooms, but ideal if you only goong to sleep. Great view towarda the Imperial palace and the skyline in Maronouchi district. Clean rooms and great staff. The resataurant offers breakfast of different kinds.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the upper floors for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,773 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
#18 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Hotel Ryumeikan Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon

Property: Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Address: 1-1 Hayabusacho, Chiyoda 102-0092, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Arc Hanzomon Hotel Chiyoda
Grand Arc Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing