We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TA's one of Top Best Budget hotels in Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque NM
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“TA's one of Top Best Budget hotels in Japan”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here last year and wrote a review. I liked it so much that I wanted my husband to experience the stay at Grand Arc Hanzomon this spring. Although the timing was right for the cherry blossom season but because of the unusually early bloom this year we missed the peak. I was really looking forward to the beautiful blossoms in the next door National Theater's front area and Chidorigafuchi around the Imperial Moat. Nevertheless we enjoyed our seven- day stay at this hotel. We had a standard twin room on the thirteenth floor with the Imperial Moat, the Diet Building and Tokyo Tower view. The view was as refreshing as the first time.
As mentioned in many reviews the metro line Hanzomon station is only a couple of minutes away although the elevator for the station is eight minutes or so away. There are many convenience stores and restaurants nearby. The hotel has wedding ceremony and reception halls, banquet rooms up to the sixth floor. There are four restaurants on the premise, La Mer French restaurant on the forth floor, Hagoromo Tempura on the second floor, Mon Japanese in the basement and Patio Western café on the ground floor. I did not visit La Mer but had breakfast and lunch at Mon and Patio. We had dinner at Hagoromo. Mon and Patio were quite busy during lunch time. Hagoromo's tempura was quite good and the price was not bad at all for a restaurant in a hotel managed by the Imperial Hotel.
Our room was spacious with a large window. It had a closet with a space to hung clothes and drawers, an extra sink, a writing table with a TV and a set for tea with a small fridge, drawers and a safe underneath, a chair and a coffee table and a trouser presser. There is a coin laundry in the neighborhood.
We were very happy and understood why Grand Arc Hanzomon was selected at the top on the best budget hotels in Japan by TA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    366
    67
    10
    11
See reviews for
102
373
123
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in the Grand Arc for 7 nights in April and really enjoyed it. We stayed in a semi double room and a twin room.

Both rooms had really large windows with a great view towards the river and the imperial palace, also one of the rooms had an excellent view of the Tokyo Tower. Our rooms were very clean (spotless), comfortable and had everything we needed including a full complement of toiletries.

The room had a small fridge and to be honest the room was a much better size than we expected. The twin room was larger but you do pay a higher price for that space, the semi double was adequate. We are travelling for a while so have 2 large suitcases, these were stored against the wall and didn't get in our way. We did keep most things in the suitcases though rather than scatter everything around the room.

The aircon was very good and the in room internet access was fast and reliable.

The hotel is really accessible via the metro, on the Hanzomon line you go to the Hanzomon station - the closest exit to the hotel is exit number 1 - bear in mind this exit has stairs only, exit 5 has a lift - using exit 5 is a longer walk to the hotel but only about 5 minutes in total. Using exit number 1 you literally cross the road, take the first left and walk for about 2 minutes - the Grand Arc will be on the right hand side.

The reception staff are very helpful and spoke enough English to understand our questions. The hotel will also store luggage, which is secure and they give you a tag so you can make sure you get the right luggage back. They stored our bags for us overnight.

The location of the hotel was excellent, it was very quiet and only about a 15 minute walk to the entrance for the Imperial Palace gardens. The Hanzomon line is one of the main tokyo metro lines so it makes all the tourist attractions really easily accessible such as Akihibara (electric technology town), Asakusa for the Sensoji Temple and Skytree, Shibuya for the pedestrian crossing as well as Tokyo station for the JR train lines and Shinkansen.

There is also a Lawsons, Family Mart and Sun Rus convenience stores close to the metro station about a 3/4 minute walk from the hotel.

All in all we really did enjoy our stay - for the location, comfort and cleanliness. We would stay here again and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y0dagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great view over Tokyo Tower and the Imperial Palace Gardens. Looks great at night. Close to subway, quiet area with not many restaurants near by but good value western breakfast. Imperial Palace Gardens a popular place for jogging any time of the day or night. Staff helpful and spoke great English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stretch2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place is great! I will definitely be staying here again when I visit Tokyo again. I did an internship in Tokyo 2 years ago so I lived in an apartment for that, so this was my first time staying in a hotel in Tokyo. And you really can't beat this. $90/night for a single room that is by Japanese standards quite spacious with all the amenities you could want (wifi, refrigerator, tv [if you buy the card] a pants press [in case you are here on business like many of the guests] is a good deal! Really don't even bother bringing toiletries either the soap/shampoo/conditioners they have are great, my hair feels better than at home! And it's in one of the quietest spots I've ever been in Tokyo because it's so close to the Imperial Palace. It's got such a nice view of Tokyo Tower at night, and it's close to several stations.

The Hanzomon Line is very convenient because it takes you right to Sky Tree and also right to Shibuya which gets you just about anyplace else in Tokyo.

Hotel staff speaks English though most of my interactions with them were limited and I usually just used Japanese.

Don't forget to visit the Imperial Palace while you're here! You're so close! It's also a really nice place to run in the morning. If you want to go inside the Imperial Palace grounds you have to apply about a month before you visit, but really the East Gardens are great and those don't require any sort of reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonMarie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very grand, indeed! It was next door neighbor to the Tokyo Opera House and Imperial Palace. My room had a great view of the Imperial Palace and Tokyo Tower. It was a short distance from the Hanzomon station which was great. The staff were very courteous and helpful. Plus factor is that it is few minutes away from Chikara Meishi, serving very delicious Jap food with affordable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudineOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for our first trip to Japan. The location of this hotel is very convenient since it is a short walk to the subway station. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The rooms are of course on the smaller size but we knew to expect this when coming to Japan. When travelling to Osaka/Kyoto they happily held our luggage til we returned. Vending machines are located on every floor and the rooms have a small refrigerator. You also have a nice view from your window that includes the Imperial Gardens and Tokyo Tower.We also booked this hotel through hotel.com atleast 5 months in advance and received a really good deal that averaged out to 89 dollars a night. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michy430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is not a very tall building but the views to Tokyo are incredible! Our room was in the 13 floor and we could see quite a lot. The room was not big, as normal japanese room, but the layout was great and there was enough space. The hotel is more a business hotel so it was very quite at night which was great. Only negative was the quality and quantity of restaurants around, it is a very quite area, however, by underground or even walking Ginza have everything that you need

Room Tip: Choose a room with city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaquelGouveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,947 reviews
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
#17 of 74 in Chiyoda
906 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
2,985 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon

Property: Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Address: 1-1 Hayabusacho, Chiyoda 102-0092, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Arc Hanzomon Hotel Chiyoda
Grand Arc Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing