We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed at this wonderful hotel during December to January 2012 to celebrate the New Year. The rooms were extremely comfortable and well appointed and the breakfasts were great. As with many Tokyo hotels it is extremely well located close to subway stations, shops, restaurants and bus was nearby for a short ride to a JR station with an elevator for disabled people. The staff were most helpful to locate us up high with a palace garden and Tokyo Tower view to watch the lights show 2011 then twinkle up the New Year 2012 spectacular change. Hotel is in a quiet location yet close to all one would want to visit in Tokyo. Thanks to Grand Arc Hanzomon staff for looking after us..

Room Tip: Ask for view of Tokyo Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrabbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    381
    69
    10
    11
See reviews for
105
380
128
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

we stayed here at the beginning of May. The room was a little small for two people as it was a semi double but the position in Tokyo was good, near the palace gardens- if you like to jog or walk- and fairly quiet. I thought it good value for money. Try booking a japanese room as they look out over the park and looked nice- I peeked in!! Overall, nice place with some nice touches.

Room Tip: japanese room further up get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pip_and_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel has easy access to the metro, and is located overlooking the imperial gardens. The view is nice from the arc, either day or night. The room had every essential (plus the yukata robes) and was quite comfortable. There are places to eat on the premises, but not all open every day; there are other dining options in walking distance. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a nice pleasant mid range hotel. The room was slightly smaller than a similar hotel I stayed at whilst in Kyoto. Here the double bed is against two walls. This was not a problem for me as a single traveller but I could see that it would create some interesting manoeuvring if used as a double as one of the occupants would have to climb over the other to get out during the night (however this may well be the same in many hotels in Tokyo.) The room was exceptionally quiet and I did not hear anything from either of the neighbouring rooms. The bathroom was well appointed though the bath was not full size.

Breakfast, Japanese, American or Continental, is served at a cost of circa Yen 1000 and was a pleasant start to the day.

The hotel is located very conveniently to Hanzomon subway station with exit 1 of the station being a 3 minute walk from the hotel reception. The imperial palace gardens could be seen from the bedroom windows as could the Tokyo tower in the distance.

My reason for giving this four rather than five stars is that the bed was a little lumpy. Nothing that stopped you sleeping after a full day visiting Tokyo but enough for me to notice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikes1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The views from the higher floors over the suburb and the palace gardens, is captivating especially during cherry blossom time. The ground floor cafe/restaurant provides prompt, quality meals from a restricted menu, at very reasonable prices (by Tokyo standards). Our room was a good size, with high quality fittings. The adjacent park land is perfect for an afternoon walk along the palace moat.

The short walk to the Hanzomon underground provides convenient links to Tokyo's extensive rail network, however I'd recommend a taxi if coming from the central station.

There is limited shopping and restaurants in the immediate area, but there are a number of convenience stores.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I would recomend this hotel to anyone travelling to Tokyo. The rooms the were clean and tidy (only as small as the average hotel rooms are in Japan but me and my partner found that we had enough space) and the view was great (Tokyo Tower and the Imperial Palace Park). The staff were friendly and approachable - there is also a good level of English if your Japanese is not up to scratch. And the breakfasts were tasty - we ate there three of the five mornings we were there.

It is primarily a business hotel and the location reflects this. The hotel is slap bang in the middle of the business distict which meant it was quite quiet at night and during the weekends. We found this suited us but this maybe a drawback for others. The transport link was excellent. A very short walk from Hanzomon station (Hanzomon line line) and this took you directly to Shibuya (in 10mins) as well linking up well with the other subway lines.

Over a giant thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

our honeymoon to Tokyo and first trip to this wonderful city, we decided to stay here after all the great reviews.

pros
- very clean
- free wired internet access
- plug converter for 3 plug laptop power adapter
- great value hotel
- quiet area
- close to hanzomon line - easy access to shibuya and omotesando stations, north track ends at the new tokyo sky tree in oshiage station
- many places to eat nearby and in hotel
- friendly staff, some spoke good english, others not so much - still very helpful
- short walk to tokyo station east of the imperial palace

cons
- room was a bit small for a "double" room but we quickly got used to it
- requested and paid for a non-smoking room, could still smell smoke
- no currency exchange, banks nearby provide service
- free internet lost connection intermittently

would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSTHUNTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
#17 of 74 in Chiyoda
937 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,994 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 82 in Shinjuku
1,261 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon

Property: Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Address: 1-1 Hayabusacho, Chiyoda 102-0092, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Arc Hanzomon Hotel Chiyoda
Grand Arc Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing