We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for a short visit to tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Good location, next to the Palace. Staff are friendly and helpful, speak relative good English. No money exchange service at hotel, so make sure you have some cash before arrive at hotel. Room is very clean and in good condition. subway is only a block away from the hotel. couple of 24 hours stores next to the station.

Room Tip: Higher floor and palace view sided room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 886 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

The hotel is about a minute away from the nearest subway station (on the Hanzomon line) and about 10 minutes walk from the nearest JR station (Yotsuya). In the Chiyoda business district, the area is quiet after-hours and isn't the best way to experience Tokyo as a tourist. However, the quality and value of the hotel, and the ability to hop on a train after a short walk are beneficial. Because the area is a business district, there aren't many bars and restaurants locally. For food, I would recommend Vege-Table, which is just around the corner. The restaurant, which I visited twice, had very friendly, english-speaking staff (with english menu), and focussed their menu around vegetables (not vegetarian, although there were options), which made for a nice healthy meal amongst the many unhealthy restaurants. It was also well-priced. The hotel room was excellent - large windows letting in lots of light and providing a great view of the Imperial Palace grounds and city skyline. Our twin room had two semi-double beds, and a spacious bathroom with a basin and mirror external to the bathroom. Free internet was provided through a wired connection. The beds were comfortable (well, by Japanese standards) and the room was quiet. There are three restaurants, but we deemed them too pricey, so found others locally or elsewhere. This was definitely the best presented/equipped of our 4 hotels in Japan, and was a bargain at £50 per night for a twin room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Friendly staff who spoke excellent English welcomed me to this hotel - which doubles as a wedding location for many Japanese. The hotel has it's own chapel, several ball rooms and restaurants - all of which were good additions to the hotel - and not disturbing for me who did not want to get married.
The room was small, but really comfortable - the best about it was the excellent view. The first day I stayed there, it was really difficult to leave my room, as the view was simply breathtaking.
The rooms was extremely comfortable, extremely clean - the only negative thing I found, was that there was no English language channel on TV - which would have been nice for the occasional news update.
The location is perfect if you are willing to travel with the public transport system - otherwise, Hanzomon is a bit of a Business district, with only a few restaurants and bars around. The station for the Metro, is only 200m away, which makes it really easy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darnitBLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

very nice, sturdy looking hotel. staff spoke limited english but were very nice. our room was very clean, had a great view, and everything we needed. they have free internet but it's not wireless. it's located in a quiet area that's removed from the hustle and bustle, but i actually found that to be a pro not a con. overall, great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 09871234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Going to Japan with my boyfriend was a holiday of a life time but before you go, you get nervous about certain things. One thing we were worried about was "what was the hotel going to be like?" You never know what your going to turn up to. We were greeted by English speaking, really friendly, polite staff. The girl who checked us in was so lovely. We checked in to a fairly small-ish room but it was a decent size for what we needed as we spent very little time in the room anyway. The room had a huge window from celing to floor over looking the moat around the palace. I had to pinch myself a few times to check it was all real. The bathroom attached was lovely and clean and had a bath with shower attached and a super ace toilet with electrical settings :D The staff laid out new little house slippers for us everday and a clean bath robe. The towels were washed everyday and the room kept spotless. I can not fault anything about this hotel. The hotel was right next to a tube station which made it easy to get around Tokyo with very little problems. There is a lovely place to eat inside and with the staff speaking English, you can get help if you need it. I would recomend this hotel to anyone and would definatly stay there again myself. Awesome place and kicked the holiday off to a great start!

Room Tip: Leave a box of English chocolates for the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazuChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is a centrally located hotel with great views of the Imperial Palace. Located conveniently on the Hanzomon (purple) Line, you can enter and exit the subway station via Exit 3, which leads directly to the hotel. The room and hotel service were perfectly fine. The bed had a very firm mattress and pillows, so the sleep quality was actually very high for me! Everything was clean and tidy. I especially loved the free pink scrunchie, which helped me control my long and frizzy hair in the hotel room!

The atmosphere is "Westernised Business" but with strong hints of Japanese style. The ground level restaurant downstairs serves a satisfactory set lunch.

Room Tip: Say you want a non-smoking room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElyBUKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We had a reservation for the end of May, but given the natural disaster we decided to cancel out trip.

This hotel offered NO REFUND. $600 down the drain. Not even half refund. I will never stay here even when I will go to Japan next time. I asked them to re-evaluate their policy given what has happened, but they do not bend the rules.

Very, very. very disappointed with this type of customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
9  Thank barilla102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
Hotel Monterey Hanzomon
#18 of 75 in Chiyoda
967 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,051 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 116 in Minato
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Tokyo Green Palace
Tokyo Green Palace
#33 of 75 in Chiyoda
225 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
Toshi Center Hotel
Toshi Center Hotel
#26 of 75 in Chiyoda
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon

Address: 1-1 Hayabusacho, Chiyoda 102-0092, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#13 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $97 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Arc Hanzomon Hotel Chiyoda
Grand Arc Hanzomon Chiyoda
Hotel Grand Arc Hanzomon Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing