We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a wonderful example of what service and hotel business can be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
San Juan Islands, Washington
Level Contributor
285 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Still a wonderful example of what service and hotel business can be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Recently I took a memory trip, having constantly traveled the world for over 30 years. As in the other luxury hotels I used to frequent, all were still wonderful. And the Imperial was - oddly enough - as luxurious and welcoming and filled with top flight service and amenities as it was the first time I went there 30 years ago. Some reviewers here have called it old - maybe they should stay in the hip, techno glass hotels with hip, techno, and clueless staff most overpriced hot places employ these days. Nothing old about a gorgeous very expensive Kashan carpet on the landing of a subtly lighted staircase off the lobby, or the wonderful tall lobby with the muted and private yet open setting enabling quiet talk or a drink at your table. Wonderul check in and check out service; so much that they get almost frantic if a customer has to wait more than 5 seconds after walking up to the desk. There is always someone lurking to take care of the customers in perfect English (at least for us Yanks and Brits). Rooms are updated with electric curtains and the latest Japanese gizmoes in the johns. Elevators are still run by beautiful young ladies in local dress who bow on entering and leaving. Restaurants are first class. Spectacular for joggers as the Imperial Palace and the Giina with its mecca of stores and Kabuki are a few short blocks away. This star has not diminished an iota in the three decades I have used it. So nice to see when the hangers-on have disappeared or are at reduced levels of service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,062
    432
    87
    27
    12
See reviews for
355
356
135
565
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The Imperial hotel is like a grand old dame, full of style , grace and elegance. Wonderful service caps a great , traditional experience .

This is the polar opposite from a crisp, white, Steele, concrete and glass modern box . It has tradition ( with parts dating to a frank Lloyd wright design).

Walk the alleys nearby for outstanding food. Run around the loop of the Imperial Palace opposite to shed the pounds .

Fabulous, traditional experience of city centre class

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotlandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed one night at this hotel, the staff were so polite and helpful ,they went out of there way to ensure everything was as good as it could be, Once you learnt the etiquette of the lifts , ie you wait to be beckoned by the girls operating the lifts who are dressed in national costume and bow to you every time you enter the lift, they made you feel special. The room was a good size and very clean, it was a pleasure to stop at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1AlanKay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Attentiveness beyond expectation and perhaps even desire. That's what you can expect at the Imperial. This Frank Lloyd Wright designed hotel is something to look at and provides a glimpse of what travel must have been like in an era long gone.

Great room, attentive service and more thank you's than you will get in a year. A bit too formal for my taste but certainly experience you should have at least once.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMc_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdxdesi
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Imperial Hotel impresses on all fronts. This hotel is located opposite the Hibiya Park with several places (palace gardens, Ginza, Tokyo station etc) within 10-15 minutes by foot. The hotel is a bit old but well maintained and that probably adds to the richness of the hotel. The room was a pretty good size, nicely done and very clean. The restaurants were expensive but packed with people - especially over the weekend. However the location makes it possible to wander out to a wider choice of restaurants in the Ginza area starting just past the Tokyo Expressway. The best part of the stay was the service - the hotel staff do make you feel welcome and special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdxdesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a nice hotel near the Imperial Palace grounds in "downtown" Tokyo. I recently stayed 7 nights for a business trip and found it acceptable. The service is excellent. I was on the 25th floor looking toward the Palace gardens, which was a very nice view. The room is a bit dated (perhaps the 80's?), but very clean. Of course had the nice Japanese toilet, had a safe in the room, had a couch separate from the bed area (so a nice-sized room by Tokyo standards). All of the employees were friendly and clearly had a mandate to say hello to all guests. Only (minor) complaints are the distance from the lobby to the Tower portion of the hotel (takes maybe 5 minutes to get from the room to the lobby, rather than the typical 1-2 minutes), and the dated rooms. I understood the price to be a tad high, but as this was a business trip and the hotel was booked for me, that wasn't overly considered in my review.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel159549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Teikoku Hotel (aka Imperial Hotel) is popular. The highend service is most likely the reason why this hotel is popular amongst the Japanese and foreign guests. The hotel lobby is "grandiose" but yet you always find staff readily available to attend to your needs. As for location, it's a matter of perspective, but overseas visitors find the close proximity to the Imperial Palace an allure. BUT saying that, I find this hotel boring (sorry).

Yes, it's grandiose is impressive and standard of service is high. And yes, the close proximity to the Imperial Palace is enticing; however, if you are looking to "discover" the City of Tokyo, I find the Imperial Hotel located in a slightly inconvenient location. You have to understand, Chiyoda-ku (ward) is full of corporate and government offices. If you take away the Imperial Palace and Ginza (which is walking distance), I find this area quite dull. As a matter of fact, at night, I find the area around the hotel, quite dead (hence, boring). If I were spending good money to stay in a decent, highend hotel... I will stay elsewhere in areas such as Shibuya-ku or Shinjuku-ku. A lot more things to do and easy access to Tokyo Metro. But again, this is just my opinion.

Now talking about the rooms... they are spacious. Very neat and tidy (particularly after the extensive refurbishment completed couple years back). A lot more modern but yet with a touch of Japanese flavour. BUT again, nothing special. Getting to the rooms can be quite interesting... I was surprised to find automatic doors strategically placed in areas of each floor. I found myself swiping my room key to get access to the door of my room. Added security... probably but I have another theory. On a sidenote, If you are not a smoker, make certain that you strongly request for a non-smoking room or else you may get stuck with a room that smells like an ashtray. That's exactly what happened to me.

As for restaurants, food used to be better. Particularly when I was growing up in Tokyo in the 80's and 90's. As a matter of fact, I had my prom at the Imperial Hotel (LOL). Food is still good but is quite pricey. I would prefer going outside for a cheap but decent meal. That's something you will find in Japan. Japanese people love good food.

So, this is a mixed review. Matter of perspective... you may like it or you may not. If you want to be close to the Imperial Palace-- spot on. However, if you are looking for more... you have a lot of other choices in Tokyo.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, confirm that you are being checked into a non-smoking room. A smoking room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HHRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
The Tokyo Station Hotel
#4 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#7 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#2 of 69 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Marunouchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Property: Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda 100-8558, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 931
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel by the Imperial Palace. Founded in 1890, has welcomed celebrities by offering impeccable Japanese hospitality. Located in the central Tokyo; 5 minutes to Ginza shopping area by walk, 5 minutes to Tokyo station by taxi, 15 to 30 minutes to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakusa, and Ropponngi area by subway, and 45 minutes to Haneda Airport, 90 minutes to Narita Airport by Limousine bus. Free VDSL Wi-Fi connection and 16 restaurants and bars inside the hotel are available. ... more less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Chiyoda
Imperial Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing