We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
229 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Still a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Been staying here every couple of years since 1995, and it is still a great hotel. The location is great because it's near Tokyo Station, close to key businesses in Maranouchi, and since one always wakes up too early the first couple of mornings, having the Imperial Palace grounds across the street makes for a nice morning walk. Another plus is that it's an easy couple of block walk to Ginza. Service is of course outstanding, rooms are impeccable clean, the lobby always feels alive. Restuarants are also fantastic... breakfast @ the Viking is a wonderful buffet of Western and Japanese dishes (eggs to order in addition to hot & cold meats, fresh breads, salad for breakfast :)), Ten Ichi is the best Tempura "chain" in town, and the Chinese restaurant is still as delicious as I remember it being over a decade ago.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower high floor room for great views of the city and of the Imperial Palace Grounds (need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmmnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    488
    98
    27
    12
See reviews for
406
395
151
652
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location: awesome location, close to lots of restaurants and Yurakucho train station, you cant pick a better place to stay in Tokyo.

Rooms: very clean, awesome restrooms, safe box.

Restaurants: very nice but very expensive. This is the only thing that disappoints.. but a short walk and you will be near many restaurants.

Service: world-class service staff.. this is service you will remember. The best service that I have ever experienced.. very thoughtful and awesome staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niksharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

When I introduce business associates to Tokyo, I often have them stay at this hotel. This is because it is in a great location to walk around and get a feel for Tokyo. Moreover, the hotel itself is an attraction in itself; the wall behind the lobby bar area was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright (actually he designed the original hotel but that wall is all that survives at this location) and just hanging out in the lobby bar area (where you can get light food, coffee, and so forth, in addition to alcohol) is well worth the time.

There are many fine restaurants in the hotel and the hotel rooms are decent. If there were an option for giving the hotel 4.5 stars, that would be my selection. I essentially am giving it that but am rounding down (it just doesn't quite seem right to round up to a five rating). The one slight demerit I would give is after having stayed at the hotel perhaps 15 times, I just can't say I get a warm and fuzzy feeling from the staff. Businesslike yes, but warm, not particularly. Not really a problem, but not a positive either.

A small piece of trivia, Donna Summers mentions staying at the Imperial Hotel in her song "Tokyo." It is a very well-known Tokyo Hotel, perhaps the best known.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Imperial Hotel was originally designed, as many know, by Frank Lloyd Wright; and is one of the few buildings to have survived the Great Tokyo Earthquake of 1923. The intervening years have done nothing to diminish the grandeur of the old Grand Dame establishment. The only structure to survived from FLW's time is the classic bar, which is both a great place to soak up old stories from the bygone days and just sit and end the business day with a drink. In general, the subsequent remodels and refurbishment of the physical structures have faithfully reproduced the style and ambiance of the early 29th century, but with all the modern amenities.

Service is impeccable and very attentive; selection of restaurants will suit all spectrum of tastes, from class European to classic Japanese, but they also have other ethnic focused restaurants to select from (e.g. Chinese and even an American Style 'diner' experience). One of the best buffet breakfasts can be had at the top of the Hotel with spectacular views --The Imperial Viking Salon. The buffet breakfast has a central serving area and one side has Japanese/Asian style breakfast items; while the other side encompasses classic European style breakfast foods. If you want to try something different (from European or American breakfast), I would highly recommend the Nadaman.

In hotel shopping malls are located at the bottom of the main building and include a wide variety of shops. I especially was intrigued by the Japanese Sword Shop and the extensive Kimono Shop; but more affordable venues would include classic Japanese ceramics; pearls; jewelry; and some branch shopping shops of major department stores near the Ginza.

Speaking of the Ginza, the hotel is within 3 or 4 blocks, walking distance, of the heart of the Ginza, where there are a whole host of shops that cover not only more Japanese Swords; Kimonos; but all the boutique type stores you would find in Paris; London; or Rome. Unique Japanese Department stores are also located nearby; as is the major SONY showroom.

Across the street, next to the major movie theater, is a wonderful Japanese Wood Block Store who's owner's family has been in the Japanese Wood Block business since 1870. He carries not only reasonably priced 'copies' of famous Japanese Woodblock prints from all the famous Japanese artists, but has original woodblock prints starting in the thousands of US dollars.

Speaking of the Movie Theater, just walk around the area until you find the Godzilla Statue outside. You can contemplate all the old classic Japanese Sci-Fi movies while having a Starbucks coffee nearby.

Easy use / entry into the Tokyo Metro is available within a block; and the major attraction nearby are two: Hibiya Park, where there is an amazing Curry Restaurant (sorry, didn't get the Japanese name, but the Hotel Staff recommend it highly; the Restaurant dates from the early 19th Century) and, of course, the Imperial Palace, where you will find fine jogging paths.

Free Internet available. I had trouble with wireless connections, but I suspect that's the company laptop; hardwired connections are also available and you don't worry about not having a cable; the hotel will provide it to you at no charge.

Room Tip: All rooms very quiet; double/triple paned window do not allow outside sounds to permeate into the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is in a great location opposite the imperial palace which was very pleasant to have a walk around. There are fantastic small restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel and underground stations very close by. We booked club floor, which they still charged extra if you went to the club lounge for a coffee, which they credited after I queried the charge. Where the hotel came to show they really were 1st class was the lady on the 14th floor club concierge, I was in Japan on an exchange 27 years ago and I had some basic details on the family I stayed with, and the lady managed to contact the family and arrange for my family to catch up with them. This is something I will always be very great full to her for. The hotel has great staff and is in a very good location, give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before and it was indeed a pleasure to return there. The room in the tower wing was good. The Japanese breakfast was good, though its quality was a little less good compared to that of my previous. stays. But where this hotel stands out is the quality of its service. I felt ill the night I arrived. I asked the hotel concierge for assistance the following day, The person in charge took the trouble to telephone a nearby hospital to find an English speaking doctor to treat me. On another occasion, I needed to buy bus tickets to go to Mount Fuji. The guest relation officer,Ms Akimoto, went all the way to assist me to get the tickets. Great service.
The hotel is also ideally located to visit Ginza and is near the Imperial Palace, where it is a good place for a morning run.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Large lobby, gracious thoughtful service. They waited on us hand-and-foot. Every tiny, even obscure request of ours was handled in lightning speed and efficiency. But this hotel was not the boring glass and slate like so many new 5-star hotels in Tokyo, this one has classic Japanese charm, and is more traditional. The breakfast buffett is absolutely incredible. the best of my life hands down. Endless choices, Western and Japanese. We were full all day and are still talking about it 9 months later.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Property: Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda 100-8558, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 931
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel by the Imperial Palace. Founded in 1890, has welcomed celebrities by offering impeccable Japanese hospitality. Located in the central Tokyo; 5 minutes to Ginza shopping area by walk, 5 minutes to Tokyo station by taxi, 15 to 30 minutes to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakusa, and Ropponngi area by subway, and 45 minutes to Haneda Airport, 90 minutes to Narita Airport by Limousine bus. Free VDSL Wi-Fi connection and 16 restaurants and bars inside the hotel are available. ... more less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Chiyoda
Imperial Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing