We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tokyo Classic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A Tokyo Classic”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the Imperial for the first time in 1987 and not much had changed. In fact, my godmother had stayed here in the 1960's and I'd be willing to bet not much has changed since then either.

The service is superb as are the views and restaurants, plus one gets a sense of history. That said the rooms and the hotel do feel dated. In summary, a fine place to stay depending on ones tastes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuitNflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,258
    496
    97
    24
    10
See reviews for
410
408
151
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed three nights in mid March in a room in the tower block. Room was large and spacious, very clean and comfortable and everything worked. It is true that to get to the tower room from reception takes 3 or 4 minutes, but I really did not find this a problem.

Absolutely amazing staff, tremendously helpful and anticipating of your needs. They go the extra mile for you - ask directions and they walk you halfway there! Can't praise the staff and service highly enough.

Lots of choice of food in the hotel from high style French cuisine to loacal and Asian food. Alternatively a short walk outside the back entrance takes you to a myriad of restaurants. The one I tried was good value and high quality.

Breakfast in the Parkside diner was served informally and really set you up for the day.

Location downtown is ideal, many places within walking distance including the Imperial Gardens. Near to the metro and an easy taxi ride from central station.

Overal, a comfortable, luxurious hotel with superb service at a very reasonable price for downtown in a Capital City. I'd be more than happy to stay again.

Tip: As a first time visitor to Japan, I had not realised that Narita airport was so far from Tokyo - taxis are prohibitively expensive. The "Limousine Bus" does a door to door service from the airport terminals to the hotel at a very reasonable price of 3,000 Yen. Easy to see the ticket desk as you emerge from baggage reclaim and everything very organised and efficient. If there is too long a wait, take the next bus to TCAT (Tokyo City Air Terminal) and get a short taxi ride from there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carianmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Imperial seems to be an institution - both from the lobby as big as Texas and the bill that's nearly as big. Location was perfect for me, and the staff really was incredible - friendly, anticipatory, accommodating, and best of all efficient. The room, though - um, smaller than a Motel 6 with two twin beds. Bathroom was very nice but both tiny beds were hard as ROCKS and the pillows just didn't work for me either. Room service was decent but not remotely worth the insane prices - it's just about impossible to eat on the hotel on anything less than an investment banker's expense account.

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in the Towers - you will walk forever and forever to your tiny room. Cow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davemdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
127 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I happened to stay at the Imperial in November 2012 for 2 nights. What really sets the mood right is the attitude of the staff and the way they make you feel special. Japanese are known for their helpful nature and the same holds true here - infact, at one occasion, 2 staff members left the job they were doing and showed me the way to Ginza, walking with me till the outside of the hotel!

Now this also gets me to the point of the location - from the gardens to the world famous Ginza, everything is within walking distance. Dont love 5 star food? A 5min walk will take you the best of street foods too! Rooms quality was as expected and we did have meals here too : they did cook good Indian recipes also for us.

Overall, the Imperial wins brownie points for its location, service and staff attitude

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnyPunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed here in over 8 years and it was another fantastic experience. Good location near Tokyo Station and the Imperial Palace. The rooms are on the small side - its Tokyo - but the service and attention to detail are outstanding. One of the great luxury hotels of the world and a true 5 star in every sense.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Outstanding location, hear the Ginza, several train stations and great walking opportunities in every direction. Most reviews focus on the Imperial Palace, but don't miss Hibuya Gardens, just across the street from the main lobby.

The service here is unbelievable, comparable to anything I have ever experienced. The rooms are on the large side for Tokyo. This hotel is not cheap (in Tokyo, what is?), but is worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 218SR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I cannot get over how nice and helpful absolutely every person was who I encountered during my stay. From the front desk staff who checked me into my room a bit early because I felt and probably looked awful when I arrived to the team who greets you on your way into and out of the breakfast room, they put the rest of the service industry to shame. Prices were fairly good compared to what you would get at the equivalent in NYC or London.

I loved that they had so many stores available as i had almost no time to buy souveniers. My only wish is that they would have opened a bit earlier so that the business travelers could shop! I will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDMorrison06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,040 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Peninsula Tokyo
The Peninsula Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
2,745 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel Tokyo

Property: Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Address: 1-1-1 Uchisaiwaicho, Chiyoda 100-8558, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 931
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel by the Imperial Palace. Founded in 1890, has welcomed celebrities by offering impeccable Japanese hospitality. Located in the central Tokyo; 5 minutes to Ginza shopping area by walk, 5 minutes to Tokyo station by taxi, 15 to 30 minutes to Shibuya, Shinjuku, Asakusa, and Ropponngi area by subway, and 45 minutes to Haneda Airport, 90 minutes to Narita Airport by Limousine bus. Free VDSL Wi-Fi connection and 16 restaurants and bars inside the hotel are available. ... more less ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Imperial Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Chiyoda
Imperial Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing