We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with a 'but'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Ranked #10 of 78 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The new Otani Hotel is a great hotel to stay. It is about 300 meters from Nagatacho Station and easy to find.
Check in was quick, courteous and efficient, rooms were clean, fresh, pleasant.
The hotel is fairly big, has a pool, various shops and restaurants.
I must say that it is an expensive hotel, but great. I can certainly recommend it if you are not on a budget.

What I can't recommend however is the Bella Vista Restaurant in the Hotel. The service is 'OK' (but OK in Tokyo is still very good compared to other places) but the quality of the food I found disappointing to say the least. It is an expensive restaurant and I expected better service and nbetter tasting food.
Don get me wrong, both the service and the food were not horrible, but definitely subpar for Tokyo and subpar for that price. Venture out of the hotel to eat, there is better to find

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldtraveller110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel standard is fantastic! The rooms are excellent large in size and well maintained! The staff are fantastic and the service is exceptional! The hotel shops have most things any tourist / business traveler would need.
The restaurants are fantastic for breakfast lunch or evening meals. I could recommend this hotel to anyone wishing nice rooms, food and fantastic service.. One thing to remember is he size of he hotel. If you are In the tower it can take 15-20 mins to get to front door or reception.
It's only a five minute walk to the merest tube station and dozens of nice cheap (for Tokyo) restaurants.

Room Tip: The small suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times but this was the first time at their Zen Floor in the Main. The service and room are fabulous. To name a few, big room, bath products from Salvatore Ferragamo, beautiful view and a lounge which offers during the whole day snacks or drinks.
The restaurants at the hotel are worth a visit, they are pricey but have a special setting. The hotel is situated near Akasaka and you have easy access to all parts of this wonderful city. Will stay next again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room at the Zen Floor, is automatically on a high floor (e.g. 11th and 12th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean-Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the New Otani Garden Tower last year and we repeated this August in The Main. Both stays were absolutely great, comfortable, convenient and as we expected. We specially appreciated the staff of the hotel, that made great effort to make our stay a great one. We will surely stay here again if we ever visit Tokyo again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayatxu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location right by the metro and the famous ramen noodle street. Staff were reasonably helpful and the garden is absolutely beautiful to walk through.
There are many restaurants at the hotel, we wanted to go for the sky lounge but got there 5 minutes before they were meant to close and they had already closed so missed out.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philadelphia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was large, comfortable, with all modern amenities. All of the service was warm and helpful. Breakfast overlooking the gardens was a real treat and being able to walk through them afterwards was fantastic. In addition, although not a Japanese experience,, having dinner on the 40th floor of the Garden Tower, at an excellent Italian restaurant, Bella Vista, overlooking Tokyo at night, made 2 Italophiles very happy.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got it at the end of a long hallway in the Main.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Even though the hotel is centrally located in Tokyo, it is surrounded by beautiful greenery, including a nice Japanese garden for nice walks. My room was spacious and comfortable and had a gorgeous view (see picture), but others do face the ugly paved parking lot in front of the hotel. The pillows were horrendously hard, but I called housekeeping and they brought me a very comfortable Tempurapedic pillow. I had problems with the TV a couple of times during my stay and housekeeping had to send someone to repair it each time. The gym is very small and poorly equipped. They don't even have bottles of water, which seems cheap for a hotel of this category. The one elliptical machine that they had was broken (see picture), and it all seemed in need of a refresh. This was disappointing to me.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank GalileoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,067 reviews
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#4 of 78 in Chiyoda
2,093 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 117 in Minato
3,247 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main

Address: 4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda 102-8578, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $152 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main 4*
Number of rooms: 643
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Tokyo Garden Hotel
New Otani Hotel Tokyo
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing