We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel standard is fantastic! The rooms are excellent large in size and well maintained! The staff are fantastic and the service is exceptional! The hotel shops have most things any tourist / business traveler would need.
The restaurants are fantastic for breakfast lunch or evening meals. I could recommend this hotel to anyone wishing nice rooms, food and fantastic service.. One thing to remember is he size of he hotel. If you are In the tower it can take 15-20 mins to get to front door or reception.
It's only a five minute walk to the merest tube station and dozens of nice cheap (for Tokyo) restaurants.

Room Tip: The small suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    590
    155
    42
    20
See reviews for
289
362
114
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times but this was the first time at their Zen Floor in the Main. The service and room are fabulous. To name a few, big room, bath products from Salvatore Ferragamo, beautiful view and a lounge which offers during the whole day snacks or drinks.
The restaurants at the hotel are worth a visit, they are pricey but have a special setting. The hotel is situated near Akasaka and you have easy access to all parts of this wonderful city. Will stay next again at this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room at the Zen Floor, is automatically on a high floor (e.g. 11th and 12th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the New Otani Garden Tower last year and we repeated this August in The Main. Both stays were absolutely great, comfortable, convenient and as we expected. We specially appreciated the staff of the hotel, that made great effort to make our stay a great one. We will surely stay here again if we ever visit Tokyo again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayatxu23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location right by the metro and the famous ramen noodle street. Staff were reasonably helpful and the garden is absolutely beautiful to walk through.
There are many restaurants at the hotel, we wanted to go for the sky lounge but got there 5 minutes before they were meant to close and they had already closed so missed out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philadelphia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was large, comfortable, with all modern amenities. All of the service was warm and helpful. Breakfast overlooking the gardens was a real treat and being able to walk through them afterwards was fantastic. In addition, although not a Japanese experience,, having dinner on the 40th floor of the Garden Tower, at an excellent Italian restaurant, Bella Vista, overlooking Tokyo at night, made 2 Italophiles very happy.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got it at the end of a long hallway in the Main.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinecrest, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Even though the hotel is centrally located in Tokyo, it is surrounded by beautiful greenery, including a nice Japanese garden for nice walks. My room was spacious and comfortable and had a gorgeous view (see picture), but others do face the ugly paved parking lot in front of the hotel. The pillows were horrendously hard, but I called housekeeping and they brought me a very comfortable Tempurapedic pillow. I had problems with the TV a couple of times during my stay and housekeeping had to send someone to repair it each time. The gym is very small and poorly equipped. They don't even have bottles of water, which seems cheap for a hotel of this category. The one elliptical machine that they had was broken (see picture), and it all seemed in need of a refresh. This was disappointing to me.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GalileoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The New Otani has a great location and the main building has relatively spacious rooms with all the amenities. A wonderful place for breakfast or lunch, too, is the Garden Cafe, overlooking the garden waterfall. Take some time to wander through the gardens! They're over 400 years old....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajera51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo EXECUTIVE HOUSE ZEN
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#8 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main

Property: Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Address: 4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda 102-8578, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main 4*
Number of rooms: 643
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Tokyo Garden Hotel
New Otani Hotel Tokyo
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing