We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation in Tokyo.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Ranked #11 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Family Vacation in Tokyo.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Close to restaurants and convenience stores. Central location within a quick walk to the Akasakamitsuke Station made it easy to access the extensive subway system. Also found the Yotsuya Station convenient when using our Japan Rail Pass to travel on the local JR trains in Tokyo metro.

Room Tip: If staying in The Main, request a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinCitiesMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    599
    159
    42
    21
See reviews for
294
371
116
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I always stay at the New Otani and have done now for several years. The tower is a little dated, but the rooms in the Main are comfortable and well-equipped. Service here is always excellent and breakfast in the Satsuki restaurant is one of the best I have had anywhere. My only gripe this stay is that I came down at 6.15 am for my breakfast as I was catching a flight home, but I had to stand in line for a very long time - over 30 mins, consequently I had to really rush. I think a group was checking out, but when I got seated I noticed tables were available but that there were not enough staff to clear and rest them quickly. The hotel needs to look at this as two more staff would have made the situation much better. The daimyo's garden and carp ponds around which the hotel is built is a real treat and a retreat from the city's hustle and bustle. Another big plus at the New Otani is its pricing - it compares very favourably to other hotels of this class. Disagreeing with a previous poster, the subway is conveniently near with access to several subway lines. Perfect for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forexport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is lovely, with well kept grounds and near several useful subway lines, and the service is excellent. For the tourist (as I was), the location is central, but the hotel itself is not really very near anything very interesting - it's in a business district. So one has to take the subway to go most places. That's probably true for most hotels though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pyreflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here on business trip, the hotel complex is huge ans confusing, pricey. Room was dated and tired looking. quite a hike to the nearest subway. the high point of my stay was the Mt Fuji view from my window on a clear day. also visible from the upstairs breakfast lounge. very nice!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank towkaylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent 4 days at the New Otani with my family. Met my very high expactations. While busier than I had imagined - - they do a lot of weddings - - it was never crowded or harried. The service was impeccable. The gardens were beautiful. The overall location was central and convenient. While not cheap, it was excellent value. Given that I wanted my family to experience Japan, it was ideal - - better than staying in a US-branded hotel. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have spent much time in Japan over the last 20 years on business related issues . Much of this time spent in Tokyo . Over this time I have stayed in a number of hotels in Tokyo - some good , some not so good . None of them however particularly memorable - with the exception of the New Otani . In a world where every hotel looks like the last the New Otani stands out as offering the client a substantially different environment . It retains it's old world charm and consistently supplies first class service . It's position is also ideal logistically . Is one of the few hotels I look forward to staying in . The last visit no different to any other - consistently good service in a unique environment . Don't change .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the New Otani Hotel - The Main from June 6, 2013 to June 9, 2013. I wasn't sure what to expect as it seemed like two hotels in one. However, the service was excellent. The staff was super polite and very helpful. The room on the 10th floor was spacious and very comfortable for both of us. Attention to detail is everywhere. The breakfast buffet is quite large and satisfying. We had dinner once at the hotel as we didn't feel like going out. It was ok. The hotel's location is great. The Imperial Palace is about a 30 minutes walk from the hotel if you don't mind walking. There are various train/subway stations within walking distance too. We used the Akasaka-Mitsuke station to move around. Between the Garden Tower and The Main there is a nice looking Japanese Garden with a waterfall. A good place to relax, meditate, or contemplate. Another advantage of staying here is that the limousine bus from Narita Airport will drop you off at the hotel. It takes at least about an hour to get to the hotel. The cost is 3,000 yen one way. The hotel complex is huge as there are many retail stores between the two buildings (Garden Tower and The Main). We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Domingo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower
Akasaka / Roppongi
Hotel New Otani Tokyo EXECUTIVE HOUSE ZEN
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 110 in Minato
3,076 reviews
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
#9 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,983 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main

Property: Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Address: 4-1 Kioicho, Chiyoda 102-8578, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#10 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main 4*
Number of rooms: 643
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Tokyo Garden Hotel
New Otani Hotel Tokyo
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing