We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel New Otani Tokyo The Main
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel New Otani Tokyo Garden Tower(Chiyoda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,665)
Filter reviews
1,665 results
Traveler rating
762
656
177
46
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
762
656
177
46
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese gardengarden towerbeautiful gardenhuge hotelrevolving restaurantyotsuya stationakasaka areachoice of restaurantsmt fujibusiness tripking bedbreakfast buffetan upgradelots of restaurantsspacious roomfour nightswonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
727 - 732 of 1,665 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The rooms are wonderful, but the gardens surrounding the hotel are nearly worth the price to stay there.. Also enjoyed the buffet in the lobby restaurant. Great transportation hub out front. A quieter, parkland alternative to staying in Shinjuku.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I went with a tour so I barely spent too much time. It was clean quite and had friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michalakis-cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is a perfect place for a first time visit to Japan. The staff were friendly and courteous. They spoke Engish very well and were willing to accustomed to helping foreigners in the hotel and around the city. The restaurants in the hotel were excellent but pricey. The rooms came with hot water pots that let you make tea or noodles. This was convenient when jet lag set in or I wanted to save a few yen. The hotel is built on absolutely beautiful grounds with an over looks Tokyo tower and the city is a sight at night. This hotel may cost more than others but the service they made my vacation much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I was in the older tower, so experience my be different in newer tower. Location is good, convenient with bus to Narita, restaurants nearby. Room felt cramped and small, room service was extremely expensive. I felt this was an "ok" hotel and would stay again if there is a good deal on price, otherwise I will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maverick171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very dissappointing. Be careful as the name "new" Otani is anything but new. We stayed for 5 nights with two kids in a tiny room with an extra bed.
Despite the hotel being very quiet we were given a room which overlooked concrete highways, not the famed 400year old garden.
The room was tatty and old with holes in the chair and had a general worn look.
One of the reasons I booked here was the pictures of their great swimming pool HOWEVER they charge Y5000 per person (USD60) for a swim and do not allow under 18 yr old children. So in the heat of summer, at the end of a hot day touring Tokyo we had nowhere to relax other than a tiny room overlooking the freeways and concrete.
When I approached the front office manager requesting a change or upgrade to make our stay more enjoyable, he wanted an additional USD200 per night for a "newly" refurbished larger room. He did not seem to hear that we were not happy.
Concierge and laundry staff were exceptionally helpful though and added a small happy touch to an otherwise dull, experience. Location is perfect with easy access to the subway.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking that you dont land up in the old "new"otani" rooms!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alexanderfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews