We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Five Star Hotel”
Review of Palace Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is perhaps one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

We arrived around midday and the reception staff arranged an early check in for us with no fuss. We stayed in a Deluxe room with balcony on the 11th floor of the hotel. From our room we could see part of the Imperial Palace grounds, greenery in the parks in front of the hotel and the Tokyo skyline.

The view from the room basically summarized the essence of Tokyo for us. History and tradition through the Imperial Palace grounds, the skyline of the business districts symbolizing the business and shopping metropolis Tokyo is, and the nature that sprouts between buildings exemplifying the attention Japanese culture places on parks and gardens. A truly beautiful city view both during daytime and at night.

The room was functional and very spacious. We found the decoration tasteful with nice colors and with attention to detail everywhere. The balcony was on the small side but it overall added a feeling of more spaciousness to the room. The bed in the room was big and comfortable.

Hotel breakfast was very good and the terrace outside overlooking nature and the moat next to the hotel provides for a nice relaxed meal or tea/coffee. There are many restaurants in the hotel and even a small arcade for shopping and food at the basement of the hotel.

Service wise the hotel was great. The staff were discreet, courteous and polite and there seemed to be enough staff ready to help at all times in the lobby.

During our stay we visited the Imperial Palace gardens which are just across the road from the hotel. We also walked to Ginza, past the famous Tokyo station, a nice walk to the heart of Tokyo shopping.

Overall an excellent stay at Palace Hotel Tokyo. I recommend the hotel for a business stay or for a couples luxury sightseeing, shopping and eating Tokyo visit.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in on the south side was quiet because of the moat and park in front of it. No st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sito_Journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,239 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the Palace Hotel on a business trip where my wife joined for a couple days. As many reviewers have indicated the hardware at the new Palace is impeccable - very modern with a touch of warmth that gives it an incredibly comfortable feeling. What was incredible about this past stay was the service of the assistant chief concierge Yuichi Hoshino who not only helped us with bookings but helped us find different restaurants over the phone while we were lost in Tokyo. Every day he greeted us, helped us and then walked us to our taxi to make sure that everything was okay - and with no expectation of a tip. I stay in hotels at least 3-4 times per month, and the Palace is one of the best.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I had stayed at the Palace 7 years ago and loved it, for comfort, service and location (close to Tokyo Station and the Otemachi metro station, and overlooking the Imperial Palace grounds). The hotel has since undergone a major expansion and renovation and recently reopened. It is now much bigger and grander. We were told that 80% of the rooms have views of the Palace grounds; our view was superb and our room included an outside balcony. The room was very spacious and well appointed, with every imaginable amenity. Overall the hotel is a beautiful property, but staying there was a bit overwhelming. Staffing levels and service standards are so high that, for us do-it-yourself Americans, walking through the lobby felt like running a gauntlet. After we used the gym (excellently equipped, by the way), staff members received our sweaty towels like a gift and ran ahead of us to open the exit door and press the elevator button for us. Generally, of course, Japanese service standards are much higher than American and all those "arrigato gozaimasu"s can really make you feel appreciated. Yet, our conclusion was that next time we go to Tokyo, we will stay in a smaller, less grand hotel. Having said that, the Palace is a great indulgence if you love to be treated like royalty!

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded at no extra charge to a high, club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Convenient location- just a short walk to the tokyo station. Room is well designed with tasteful touch. The bathroom is well equipped and stylish. And this is only a standard room.

I should also add that the room offers a great view of the surrounding area. Breakfast had a good spread and was well prepared. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecSoviet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed three nights at this new hotel on a business trip. The location is across the street from an entrance to the Imperial Palace grounds. It is also only a couple of minutes walk from a metro station and about ten minutes walk from the famous Tokyo Station, where you can catch the Narita Express (departs about every thirty minutes and takes an hour to reach Narita Terminal 1 and 2. The hotel has very nice rooms with a sleek modern look and understated decor. Lots of modern features, including push-button controls for nearly everything and plenty of plug-ins for charging your electronic devices. Most of the rooms have views. Service from the staff is awesome and friendly. I did not try the restaurants or executive lounge on this trip, but The hotel has both. Another nice feature is that there are restaurants, fast food, and convenience stores a few minutes walk from the hotel in an underground shopping area that connects to Tokyo Station. One minor quibble is that simple printing tasks in the business center were more complex than you find at most hotels and they charge for even a self-printed boarding pass. Still, this is a very good hotel in my opinion. I would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank madoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This newly renovated hotel was nothing but stunning. Located right in front of the Imperial Palace and in the middle of the most prestigious area of Tokyo, the view from the room was unbeatable both day and night. If you want to, you can jog or walk in the track surrounding the Palace's garden. I saw people doing it even until late at night and very early in the morning. You don't have to worry about getting harassed or robbed and the air was almost free of pollution. The hotel is also within walking distance to the Tokyo Station (also newly and beautifully renovated), subway stations and Ginza - a great walk even during the night. The room is classy, cozy and completed with everything even beyond one's expectation including a pajama and flat TV above the bathtub. TV channels are either Japanese or dubbed in Japanese but by turning the sound off you can still listen to the original version of the CNN, BBC, Discovery and Nat Geo channels in English. The service I would say was the best I had ever experienced, starting from the check in till check out time and all occasions in between. The staff seemed to do it wholeheartedly without expecting tips (it is not customary in Japan to accept tips from guests). One suggestion to the management, a welcome basket of fruits or Japanese delicacies in the room would add a little touch to the already excellent experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabyVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I cannot fault this hotel. I visited here on a business trip thus can't vouch for it as a family destination, nor can comment on value for money. But if someone else is picking up the tab, go for it. I was incredibly busy during my stay so saw nothing of Tokyo and far too little of the hotel. But if we focus simply on the room - which is what most business travellers need most of all - then it's fantastic. Exceptionally comfortable bed, glorious shower and bath, sumptuous towels and nightgowns, plenty of space, and brilliantly peaceful. I had time to dine only once in the restaurant and the food was first class. The bar is comfortable and spacious and one never has the sense of being hurried. The Japanese reputation for politeness and service is well deserved and this hotel has impeccable staff from top to bottom. As a deeply reluctant voyager, this hotel reduces the pain of business travel and pointless conferences and fixed-smile introductions to a zero. Thanks so much, staff of the Palace, if I ever come back to Tokyo and can afford it, I won't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: As always, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reluctantvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#4 of 82 in Chiyoda
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 117 in Minato
3,206 reviews
Akasaka / Roppongi
The Prince Gallery Tokyo Kioicho, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-1-1 Marunouchi, Chiyoda 100-0005, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $416 - $992 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Hotel Tokyo 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable perspective on the city and a singular, moat-side location across from the Imperial Palace gardens, Palace Hotel Tokyo opened on 17 May 2012 in the city's Marunouchi business district as part of a JPY 90 billion mixed-used development that includes 290 guestrooms, 10 restaurants and bars, and Japan’s very first evian SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing