We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Tokaido Shinkansen tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Tokaido Shinkansen
from $291.29
More Info
from $295.99
More Info
from $141.60
More Info
Reviews (1,220)
Filter reviews
1,220 results
Traveler rating
861
251
83
11
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
251
83
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jr pass bullet train reserved seats japan rail pass high speed train shin osaka business class always on time plenty of leg room standard class trolley service comfortable ride smooth ride your luggage mount fuji last row fast train
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 1,220 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2018

It was a memorable experience. We took the green car on the Nozumi (fastest bullet train) from Shinagawa to Kyoto and booked the seats on Mount Fuji side. All staff were pleasant and it's worth going on. In the green car the seats can be turned around so if there were 4 of you you can face each other for the journey.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank KuanWai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

We took the bullet train from Shinagawa to Odawara. It was a great experience, the speed was really obvious when another train passed in the opposite direction.

We bought our bullet train tickets at Shinjuku station, and took a local train to Shinagawa. Rail staff said we did not need a further ticket for the local train. Well, when we attempted to join the bullet train at Shinagawa, a loud and officious rail officer demanded to see our tickets for the local train. Fortunately, an older officer saw that we were not intending to rip-off Japan Rail, and let us through the gate. Be sure you obtain all the necessary tickets!

We returned from Odawara direct to Shinjuku by slow train, which took three times longer.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Kevin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

Travelled from tokyo to kyoto. It really is an experience of a lifetime. Super comfy seats. The best part is to watch the velocity of the landscape moving.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank RitaSoares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2018

This train system is amazing (depending of course where you come from!) The whole system for boarding is easy and very efficient. Don't be late for it though, as you will miss it - they are on time to the second. Signposting easy, once you get the hang of it, as it is also in English and colour coded. Fantastic. Very comfortable seats. Quick journeys.
Even if you are not going anywhere in particular, try this bullet!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank fenningrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2018

we used the rail system extensively during our trip. the "bullet train" is great, comfortable and like all other Japanese system, a model of cleanliness, order and courtesy. My only caution is, there are some segments where there is the option of reserved seats TAKE THEM, otherwise you may find yourself, like we did, standing in a packed NYC metro car

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank EricRojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews