We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A truly enjoyable dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andy's Shin Hinomoto

Andy's Shin Hinomoto
Ranked #7 of 6,680 Restaurants in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A truly enjoyable dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited while on business, Monday night , was packed, loud, a great atmosphere, plenty of appetizers, sake, tall beer steins, and the largest crab legs one could wish for. Nothing negative to report, excellent food, service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    53
    23
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
215 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“So glad we found you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We tried several times to locate Andy`s. They only accept telephone reservations but we emailed enquiring and were given directions and an early slot. The place was already busy at 5.30pm on a Friday evening. It is a really fantastic place. Long shared tables and ever attentive Andy to recommend your supper. Best tempura prawns we have tasted. Do go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinBDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow!! What a treasurer!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our group of 6 had diner at Andy's during our trip in Tokyo and it was devine! We didn't order from the menu but let Andy serve us his best dishes. By far the best Japanese food I ever ate! And very good value for money. Including a night full of drinks and food we paid 5000 yen pp. I could not think of anything negative about this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Interesting place !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had been recommended Andy's Shin and were very pleased we went. The atmosphere was amazing, it was packed, and it was great to have an English menu and people who could explain it. We love Japanese food but like lots of Brits are unfortunately rather sanitised in our food choices, and bream head or cod sperm don't necessarily appeal! We were rather cramped at our table but had a delicious meal with good wine and beer. My only gripe was the cigarette smoke, our neighbours were chain smoking and we are just not use to it any more. Would recommend though, and would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank janetatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ingredients and health are also important”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Even though it is a very popular eating spot for foreigners and locals in the heart of Tokyo due to the so-called freshness of the fish, shellfish and veggies they serve, I must say I did not have a good experience the first and last time I went to. No doubt the food may be fresh but the way how it is prepared and the dressing, spices or oil they use to cook with may not be as good and healthy as they should be. After eating fish nuggets, marinated asparaguses, mushrooms, beans sprouts, and tempura I had stomach upsets and threw everything up at once. To make matters worse, when I went to the toilet, I noticed the toilet bowl had a lot of mold stains inside. It was appalling!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LeylaV_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Andy's Shin Hinomoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing