We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Tokyo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in the heart of Tokyo”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in Tokyo designed by Kengo Kuma, world famous architect. The price is quite reasonable for the high end hotel. The location is ideal for any purpose. The swimming pool is long enough for a serious exercise. I always stay in this hotel in Tokyo.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Makoto I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    284
    49
    19
    13
See reviews for
254
462
69
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our experience of Tokyo was greatly enhanced by our stay at the Capitol. Our room was well designed, incredibly comfortable, spacious, and offered a great view of the city. We loved the choice of showers in our ensuite and actually experienced 'bathroom envy'.

The professionalism, welcome, service and assistance offered by all staff throughout the hotel was always of the highest standard.

We found the location ideal, with easy access to 2 subway stations under the hotel and a third station a short 5 to 10 minute walk away. We found it a great base from which to explore many different locales across Tokyo. We also enjoyed eating and drinking locally in Asakaka, where there is plenty of choice.

We really, really enjoyed our stay at the Capitol and would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahului, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed here the end of May for 5 nights, and had an awesome stay. Other reviewers have complained about the location, but I thought it was a great spot, as there are several metro lines right in the basement to get you anywhere in Tokyo. The room itself was very clean, and pretty large, and the bathroom was incredible. I could have lived in the shower, and the view was awesome. Also, the staff was VERY courteous and polite, which was such a bright spot about this hotel. They have employees posted at several spots as you walk through, just to greet and say hello to you. I booked the room 90 days in advance, and got a great deal, so try to book early. If I'm in Tokyo again, will DEFINITELY stay here again, and won't think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamonmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights during a business trip in Tokyo.

The hotel is centrally located on the edge of the Akasaka neighborhood, and is walking distance to several attractions, including Roppongi and the Tokyo Tower. There is a subway station entrance on the basement level below the hotel, which is incredibly convenient.

The hotel is very impressive, but understated. There is a small lobby sitting area with several restaurants and a nice water feature. Not a 'grand' resort feel, but a low key business atmosphere. Staff was very friendly, professional, and spoke pretty good English.

The room is one of the best I've stayed in. Very large, and very well appointed. Everything is very nice, clean, and in excellent condition. The bed is large and comfortable. There are wall to wall windows with awesome views of the city. The bath is huge with a rainfall or normal shower and large bath tub. There is a desk, a nice sitting area, an entry foyer with wetbar, and a 'screen' that can be moved to block off different sections of the room.

Overall, I would highly recommend and would definitely consider staying again. Only downside is the value question. The rate is pretty high, and then all of the on-site dining is very expensive.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

It was the first hotel we stayed in Japan.

We had wonderful help from the concierge team who helped us book restaurants and trains. The response was always perfect and extremely fast.

The hotel itself is beautiful. On the lower level there is a connection to the subway which was very convenient. Also, on the same level they have a very nice coffee house where you can have breakfast.

The room was small, but perfect. The toilet was a highlight of the room!

Location is very good located.

In general, a really good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cramond07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Had a delightful one week stay at this marvelous five star hotel and splashed out on a club level room, where both the service and lounge were exceptional. The overall experience was blissful, with outstanding facilities and amenities (pool, gym etc). The staff genuinely do all they possibly can to assist, and if you book many months in advance, it is possible to stay even if you are not a plutocrat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lighter789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the Capitol for 5 days - this hotel is amazing! We had travelled for 2 weeks prior to arriving in Tokyo and we just wanted somewhere comfortable to arrive to at the end of our long days in the city.

The bathroom is probably the best part of the room - the shower is just incredible, when they say power shower, they definitely mean it! There is plenty of space, both in the shower and the counter space.

In addition, the service is just amazing - they really go above and beyond to make sure your stay is comfortable.

The location is ok, but the nearest train station is a bit of a maze.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smcs1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,141 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
2,015 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 111 in Minato
2,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,890 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Property: The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. 4 different subway lines stations are directly connected the hotel building. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing