We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Most amazing views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days, in a deluxe room, beautifully decorated, nice shower, comfy beds, with a super modern Japanese style. And the views! Amazing, day and night. Service ok, not everyone speaks English so we struggled a bit. Slightly far from centre but just above a tube station and close enough to Roppongi hills

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    271
    45
    16
    12
See reviews for
234
432
67
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here in September for 5 nights, having researched possible Tokyo hotels several months earlier. I can't say I'm surprised to see that during those months, this hotel has risen to the #2 ranking in TA for Tokyo hotels. It is without doubt one of the greatest bargains I have ever encountered. Not that staying here is cheap, but on this same trip we stayed at TA's top-rated hotel in Hong Kong, and the Capitol Hotel was half the price of the Hong Kong hotel.
We stayed in a Club Deluxe King on the top floor, and had great views over Akasaka through to Shinjuku and the surrounding areas. The room was very elegant and comfortable, blending modern and traditional touches successfully. The bathroom and huge walk-in shower was particularly wonderful. The separate dressing room and wardrobe was also a nice touch.
Buffet breakfast at Origami was to the expected standard, although the variety on offer was not at the over-the-top level found in some 5-star hotels. One morning we had a Japanese breakfast at Suiren (the hotel's Japanese restaurant), which was open specially for breakfast for the long weekend holiday. This made for an interesting and enjoyable experience.
But the area in which this hotel shines particularly is service. In the months leading up to our stay, I emailed the hotel on various occasions to organize restaurant reservations around town. These were all handled flawlessly, and on check-in, we were handed an envelope with maps and directions to each of our restaurants, including photos to assist in recognizing them. We were also able to check-in early, despite arriving well before the usual check-in time. During our stay, no question or request was too much trouble.
The hotel's location boasts direct access to 4 subway lines from the basement level, although it needs to be understood that depending on which line you are after, there may be several minutes' walking involved. Google maps shows the location of the 4 lines' stations relative to the hotel very clearly, so it is possible to take this into account with one's planning, once you get the hang of things. It's also worth taking a little time to explore the Hie Shrine, which is just outside the hotel's front entrance: a small piece of tranquillity in the midst of the tall buildings.
As a rule, I like to try different hotels on different trips, and rarely return to the same hotel, even the ones I like. But in this case, I suspect I will have to make an exception: I can't think why one wouldn't return here. Location, service, value-for-money: this hotel really presses all the right buttons, and then some.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights and loved our stay here. These are the hotel hightlights:
Positive things:
- Room it self was very elegant, comfortable, nice size, and had a great bathroom! (Awesome Japanese toilet separate from shower with wonderful pressure.
- Service. The concierge staff were awesome. They spoke perfect English, and were very helpful. We email for months making restaurant reservations, sumo bout reservations, kabuki reservations. All my inquiries were met with quick and efficient responses. And when we arrived they gave us a print out with specifics about each of the reservations, including dress code, directions to get there (including which exit out of the subway station to take). They also recommended great lunch restaurants. Asked for recommendations of where to go for a jog and they pulled out a “jogging map” with several routes.
- Convenience. With many lines available for the subway under the hotel (and a 7-11 on the subway floor with great coffee and egg sanwich for breakfast) you can get anywhere pretty easily.

Negative things
- The hotel is really isolated from the hustle and bustle of the city, which is nice, but I would have liked to have some options of places to walk around with shops nearer the hotel, to be able to go out on a 10 minute stroll now and then. But not a big issue at all.
All in all, an awesome hotel. I would definitively stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra_lube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel certainly deserves OUTSTANDING and more. From the moment you enter the hotel until the moment you leave the service is exemplary and the quality of the establishment fantastic. Things I loved about this hotel are many, but some key points

- Quietness - it has a peaceful and serene ambience throughout.

- Room size - the layout of the king room makes it feel much more spacious and open than others I have stayed in of similar size

- Bathroom layout - love, love, love the bathroom division between the vanity area and the combined wet room and bath that was enclosed in a glass room. Also having a separate toilet. Would copy this myself!

- Subway station below - so great that there are two subway stations accessible from the B2 level (Kokkai-gijidomae with the Chiyoda and Namboku lines and Tameike-sanno with Ginza and Maronouchi lines) gives easy and safe access to some of the main subway lines and the wider excellent train system. (Great coffee shop and 7-11 on the way out). Just remember to check the temperature and weather before you go out... as you may get a surprise when you exit the subway as you don't even have to go outside to get the train.

Origami restaurant - when you think of an all day dining restaurant I had expected more casual. But Origami gives you the option of casual food (awesome burger and club sandwich) served elegantly. The house red, bottled especially for Origami is lovely and good value (beautiful glasses too). Why compromise!

There are so many wonderful things about this hotel and I have probably missed many. But most of all the management of this hotel should be so very proud of their entire team, who serve with a perfect mix of respect, diligence and friendliness. I was re-visiting Tokyo for the first time on many years and after previously staying in one of Tokyo most renowned hotels, was a little nervous this Capitol Hotel Tokyo may not turn out to be all that it showed in the photos. But it was and more!!!!

Thank you to you all!!!!! You all made my stay in Tokyo one of the best trips away ever!!!!

Anyone reading this review...I completely recommend this wonderful hotel! It is as perfect, immaculate and elegant as all the photos show. Outstanding value!!!!!!

Room Tip: City view of the Diet Building is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie_MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed 5 days for our honeymoon at the beginning of may.
We were granted an early check in, complimentary sweets and a room upgrade.

Room - Huge (40sq.m), perfectly clean and fully equipped with everything needed. Bed was extralarge and comfortable. View from 26th floor (west towards Shinjuku) was amazing.
Service - Polite and efficient staff, both via email before arriving and during our stay.
Location - Excellent position with subway accessible from hotel lift.
Value - Booked in advance made it a 5* hotel with a 3* price tag.

Overall - We were impressed by the quality, care and dedication to provide the best service in every single aspect.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Highest floor - west side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gb2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in September 2013. We arrived quite early in the morning from the airport and were pleasantly surprised to find out that our room was available for an early check-in. The receptionist also handed us an envelope containing all necessary information on a restaurant where we had earlier asked them to make a reservation for us (and which would have otherwiese been quite a challenge to locate). The perfect service continued during our whole stay, with the staff being very friendly and efficient in dealing with our every need.

Our room (26th floor) was very spacious and had a nice view over all of Tokyo. It had a very large and comfortable bed. Needless to stay it was also perfectly clean. Very quiet too, so perfect for a good night's sleep for jetlagged travellers.

The hotel is located in a district that doesn't have too many sights or restaurants nearby (except for the in-house options, which we didn't try though), but we found that to be a non-issue, as it is literally on top of a huge subway station that has 4 lines taking you in each and every direction you might want to go (walking distances inside the station are quite long depending on the line, but still not too much of a problem).

Overall, this was what I would call a perfect stay, and we would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

It is my 7th stay at Capitol Hotel and i really appreciate The excellence service and The stonish view from all sides into Tokyo. One of the best places to stay in Tokyo. You are located in Kid of the govermental District, all is clean and structured. Enjoy !

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Harrobo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,695 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Property: The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. Subway station with 4 lines is located right under the hotel. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking and Jetsetter so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing