We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 Star Hotel & Service !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Originally I was going to book an American hotel as the rooms may be bigger. I was nicely surprised at the size of the standard room. Had a king bed with large bath area with separate room for the shower / tub combo. The rain shower head was quite nice and the water pressure was strong. Being from America, the toilet was quite amusing. Heated seat was very unique! It has 2 bath robes, 2 pair of slippers and plenty of toiletries for you to use. Rooms were clean and modern. There was a small refrig with drinks also. We got upgraded to larger room for free just for being a "I Prefer" memeber which was a free membership. This is definitely a no brainer to sign up before you get there. We were there 7 nights and thoroughly looked forward to going home to a spacious & luxurious room. Upgraded room was even more spacious with more living space than std. The hotel staff was one of the best I have ever experienced in my many years of travel ! We were treated so well by everyone and English was not a problem as they were fairly well versed. There are many staff employed there and you were given constant attention coming & going. Location wise - this was central to the city and connection to the local subway was perfect! Subway station literally 2 minute walk from lobby. From there it connects all over the city. Advice- try avoiding the Ginza line as your last leg on return trip if possible as it is long walk thru the tunnels to get back to the hotel vs the other local lines. FYI - the hotel connects with 4 main subway lines. Did not get to eat in restaurants nor use the pool but did stop by the see gym & pool, Pool had lanes for doing laps and very clean. They even issue you slippers to use while in pool area. Gym had lot of work out equipment to select from. Area around the hotel is mainly business district but less than 5 minute walk to main street with lots of restaurants to choose from. I also loved the fact that there was a 7-11 in the basement of the hotel and snacks were quite reasonable compared to the Starbucks close by. This was our first time to Tokyo and it is such a vibrant & exciting place to visit and staying in such a beautful hotel centrally located along with excellent service made it all the more enjoayble.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PBWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

613 - 619 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great location, very central, easy to get everywhere, hotel is fabulously equipped and very new. Outstanding staff and probably in the Top League of 5 stars in Tokyo. I prefer it via Grand Hyatt.

Hotel is directly next to a famous shrine and walking distance to Imperial Garden and some shopping district.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopser9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The rooms and the location are the two things that make the hotel stand out and lift it to the top range in Tokyo in terms of value for money.

Rooms are spacious, super clean and modern with all amenties one can think of. The service is, in typical Japanese style, professional and polite. Bathrooms are huge with a massive tub.

Being right in the centre of Tokyo with a direct link to the tube, is a real plus.

The gym could be improved.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

As soon as you step into this hotel you're greeted by this Origami type wooden structure on the ceiling, which looks different from every angle you stand. The ponds, waterfalls and gardens surrounding the hotel are beautiful and you really feel as if you've stepped into olden day Japan.

The rooms are great! Modern and clean with amazing views. The bathrooms are so cool. You can move the partition to one side and then the bathroom becomes part of the room. There's a cable in the bathroom draw which lets you plug your iPhone into the rooms sound system and a volume control in the bathroom so you can play music in the shower and in the room.

The staff are all very polite and helpful! Will stay again :)

Room Tip: Choose a view of the Biz Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RyanJoshua00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I can honestly say this property gathers pretty much everything that I look for in a hotel. It was my best overall hotel experience so far!
It's very centrally located in Chibuya (which is a neighborhood with many of Tokyo's main attractions) but still very secluded in a small street, beside a small temple/park. On the basement level you have access to 3 major subway lines, which is VERY convenient.
Staff will do anything you ask them and they're unbelievably polite. I bought my bullet train tickets through the Concierge and also booked a tour guide and both went very well.
What amazed me the most was the combination of traditional Japanese aspects with a very tasteful and minimal decor, still managing to keep everything very comfortable and beautiful. I was upgraded to a Premium Room on the 22nd floor, huge, overlooking Tokyo through the big floor to ceiling window - it was just mind blowing! I also loved the bathroom, all in black, also huge, with great shower and tub. I didn't care much for breakfast, which is also more expensive than in other 5* hotels.
I could not recommend it enough. I'm sure it will contribute to your Tokyo experience in a much more authentic (and cheaper) way than the big chain hotels.

Room Tip: Do upgrade to a Premium Room if you can. They're huge and have amazing views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The rooms are lovely with fantastic views of the city, service is superb and the location couldn't be better, I cannot use enough superlatives to describe the Capitol Hotel, I absolutely loved it and how cool that it's connected to the metro with a supermarket & coffee shop just a lift ride away!! You will not be disappointed if you choose this Hotel for business or pleasure. I'm sure the Hotel restaurants are fantastic, we only ever had breakfast, however there is so much to offer just a short walk away, bars, restaurants and amazing shopping along with the beautiful gardens of the imperial palace, loved every minute of my 6 day stay here, I will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Capitol Hotel is situated 3 minutes walk from the Diet Building (the Japanese Parliament), and another 5 min from the Imperial Palace. I loved the location - the service - from the check-in counter to the Concierge who made such great recommendations, to the housekeeping people who left extra bottles of water in my room when they realized that I need more water. Fantastic experience - would highly recommend this hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriptiLochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 75 in Chiyoda
2,056 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 116 in Minato
3,034 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 75 in Chiyoda
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 83 in Shinjuku
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $348 - $736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. 4 different subway lines stations are directly connected the hotel building. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing