We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capital hotel in a Capital city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
london sw7
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Capital hotel in a Capital city”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a real gem if an hotel in a great location Chiyoda across the street from akasawa where there are literally hundreds of eating establishments, karaoke clubs and night life
You can get a great deal if you book ahead and the rooms are huge by any standard
Quality of staff is excellent , and its quite small for a 5 star so no coach parties.
Would stay there again , but moving in to the Four seasons tomorrow for a different experience

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger31148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    283
    47
    18
    13
See reviews for
250
457
68
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay of 11 nights at this hotel in late March, early April 2013.

Location. It is located in Akasaka, on a hill right behind Hie-Jinja, a major Shinto shrine of Tokyo. One can see the hotel from Sotobori-dori, the main thoroughfare that runs in front of the shrine. But there is no access to the hotel from Sotobori-Dori. By car, one has to drive into a side street then up the hill. On foot, it is best to go up the shrine and follow a hidden footpath to the main hotel entrance. This means that the establishment is pretty much protected from the hubbub of Sotobori-Dori. There is a secluded luxury to such a location. This is very Japanese (or French for that matter.) True luxury is never displayed ostentatiously but kept somewhat hidden. However, seclusion in this case does not mean isolation. Indeed, one simply has to go up to the shrine from the hotel, go down the main staircase to Sotobori-dori, and cross to the other side to find oneself in the action of the back alleys of Akasaka. Shops, restaurants, bars, nightclubs of all stripes. Going up Sotobori-dori, one soon runs into Aoyama-dori, another major thoroughfare lined with all manners of fancy establishments, for example a dealer for McLaren cars! In a nutshell, this location combines the best of both worlds: quiet uncrowdedness but not too far from the ‘action’ should one chooses to partake. This is a rare combination in Tokyo. Places like Shibuya and Shinjuku are quite lively but there, one could never escape from the crush of humanity. Finally, I enjoyed very much going through the shrine everyday as I came and went.

Transportation. There is a subway station right below the hotel. One can take the elevator in fron of the bell captain’s desk down to the station. Officially it is Tameike-sanno but like most subway stations in Tokyo, it is linked via tunnels to many neighboring stations. In this case, one could walk from Tameike-sanno to Kokkai-gijidomae, and even Nagata-cho and Akasaka-mitsuke. However, it still takes quite awhile to get there especially during rush hours when the mass of people tend to make things quite unpleasant underground. So instead of talking about these named stations, it is best to say that the two subway lines closest to the hotel are the Namboku and Ginza lines. For people who are here as tourists, it is best to avoid taking the subway between 8:30 and 9:30 AM. The crowdedness can be quite unnerving.

The room. It is fabulous in its comfort, design, and attention to details. I stayed a Double-Twin. At about 50 square meters, it is very large for Japan. The clever design makes it feel even larger. There is a shoji screen that one can use to either block out the glass-enclosed bathroom or the tentrance hallway. The bathroom includes a closet, a chest of drawers, a platform to keep one’s suitcase, a separately enclosed toilet, and a combination shower / bathtub. All fixtures are top-notch Toto. The toilet is a luxurious Toto Neorest. For the shower, there is a choice between hand held and overhead. The tiling is non-slip and of the highest quality. The bed is super comfortable and the linen quite fancy. There is a tea station / fridge in the hallway that is well equipped with all the necessary cups, glasses, and utensils.

Food and facilities. I ate breakfast a few times at the hotel. Western breakfasts, both buffet and continental, are served in the western restaurant, Origami. Japanese breakfasts are served in the Japanese restaurant. Both kinds are of the highest quality. Not cheap at about 40 USD but you get what you pay for, in quantity but especially also in quality. There are at least three ways to pay less for breakfast. There is a 7/11 in the basement, on the way to the subway station. Next door, there is a coffee shop that serves decent, reasonably-priced breakfasts on weekdays. Finally, on the other side of Sotobori-dori there are plenty of breakfast places as well as excellent bakeries selling all manners of breakfast pastries. Other than breakfast, I did not eat any other meals at the hotel. There is a gym but I never used it.

Service. The Japanese are legendary for the ultra-high quality of their service. And this hotel does not disappoint. Information, politeness, just the right amount of friendliness, efficiency, and all that. I just want to mention two things that illustrate quite well this high level of service. First, the cleaning ladies do not go from room to room with giant carts like it is done in most hotels. When they clean a room, they hang a small sign on the door knob that says “cleaning in progress”. That’s it, no carts, no trash cans on wheels, nothing in the hallway. If you are still in the room when the cleaning starts, they will ask you when they can come in. In other words, they are willing to change their schedule to suit yours. Second, one night it was raining. I borrowed an umbrella to go out. When I came back with the umbrella all wet, the doorman promptly took it from me so I never had to take it indoors. Seamless, painless, and so elegantly done.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Sotobori-dori. Also, Double-Twins are listed as being larger than Double-Kings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sd122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in the Capitol Hotel Tokyu in April and was certainly impressed. I also stayed at The Palace Hotel (also in Chiyoda) and although I much preferred The Palace (see my review) the value for money that the Capitol offers in comparison would probably outweigh all the great qualities of the Palace.

Here are the positives:
- Brand new hotel - The furnishings are all relatively new and the hotel feels modern and sophisticated.
- Location - As per my review of the Palace Hotel, we enjoyed the Chiyoda location as it's more relaxed than Shibuya or Shinjuku yet it's very easy to get to those places via the subway underneath.
- Room size - the rooms are very large and more importantly they are cleverly laid out so you get maximum use of glass across the room, giving a bright and open feel.
- Views - we had a view of the Diet, the Prime Minister's office and residence and towards the Imperial Palace. It was spectacular day or night.
- Bathroom - as others have mentioned the bathroom features a very large bath and brilliant shower facilities. The shoji screen can be slid away from the glass enclosed shower/tub so you have views from the bathroom.
- Pricing - for a modern, large hotel with professional services, we thought the rate was very reasonable and good value for money.
- Airport Limousine pickup was seamless and there was some friendly support from the hotel staff who organised our copious luggage to be minded whilst we did a last minute shop. The hotel also has generous sized change rooms downstairs where you can change after you have checked out of your room.

Negatives
These are very minor:
- Somewhat impersonal, cold feel to the hotel. Perhaps given the large amount of dark stone used thoughout the building, or more likely because there doesn't seem to be a central 'entrance' where people gather, this hotel to me lacked a soul in the common areas. I found some of the staff to be very friendly but others seemed cold and impersonal.
- The materials in the room were already showing signs of wear, given they are not of the highest quality. The rooms look great now but I'm not sure how they will look in 6 or 12 months.
- The room service menu was limited.

All in all a very impressive hotel. I would certainly return for the value for money reasons. If money were less of an object, I would choose the Palace Hotel instead. That said, you will not be disappointed in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Imperial Palace and you should get a great view of the Diet, Prime Ministers o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABMJRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This proper 5-star hotel is the best! Do as I did and book way ahead and you might get a good deal :) When you arrive in Tokyo after an overnight flight from Europe, tired and sleepy, the rooms of the Capitol is where you want to arrive. Our room had a beautiful view and if you can, ask for a view of the Heian Shrine. The rooms are HUGE relative to Tokyo standards. The room layout is beautiful and the bathroom is just lovely with a great shower and a bathtub. The people who work at the Capitol are great and helpful in all ways.

There is a subway station just below the hotel so you won't have any problem going anywhere in Tokyo. The airport limousine bus service can drop you off at the hotel's door from Narita airport and that is also a big plus if this is your first time in Tokyo and you are tired from a long flight.

I chose the Capitol because I got a good deal but now I have a favorite hotel in Tokyo and if I go there again, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Tokyu is my new favourite in Tokyo - fantastic western rooms with japanese touches like shoji screens and proper deep bathtubs . Being on top of 15 floors of office tower every room seems to have great wide screen views of Tokyo........ Rooms are absolutely immaculate (not like the Intercon or the Hyatt or even the Ritz Carlton which often feels worn) and the showers are the BEST I have every experienced. Room service is great, as are the restaurants, although they are very quiet and not anyones idea of nightlife..
Gym and pool are also quite good with 15 story views from the treadmill...
If you want something different from the normal western brands offering some of the best Japanese service around, this is the place to be!

Only downside: No multimedia for your iphone or ipad ....so bring some speakers!

Room Tip: They are all excellent- make sure its a no smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

In my opinion, one of the best in terms of room size and service. Maybe a tad pricey!

The rooms here have a modern twist to the traditional japanese styled tatami rooms sans the tatami. They are definitely considered huge by tokyo standards. My room had a king sized bed and it faces the parliament house. Do ask for a room that faces the shrine, that view is spectacular in the morning.

This hotel really uses space very well. Love the layout of the bathroom and the concealed toilet behind the sliding door in the above picture. And of course, the usual japanese toilets must have… heated seats and bidet all electronically controlled.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegreedysquirrelSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The renovated Capitol Hotel Tokyu is a real gem in the heart of Tokyo. It is just next to the Prime Minister's Office and the Diet buildings, very close to Akasaka and Tameike-Sanno too. The new design is beautiful and the rooms are well appointed and spacious - a real treat in Tokyo! The staff is well trained and courteous. If you need to stay in the center of Tokyo, this hotel is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,118 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,987 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,114 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Property: The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. 4 different subway lines stations are directly connected the hotel building. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing