We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location.....overal wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good location.....overal wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in the Capitol Hotel 4 nights (including new year´s eve) and all what we can say is that we would come back to that hotel if we go to Tokyo again.

Wonderful room, nice location (direct access from the hotel to 2 lines of the metro, walking distance from restaurants area, next to a lovely shrine....), very good service (they were really helpful with reservations before traveling to Tokyo, which is highly appreciated if you do not speak Japanese).

For sure we recommend it!!

Room Tip: We had a room looking the Shrine and you get nice views of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMerenciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    272
    46
    17
    13
See reviews for
241
440
67
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the Capitol Hotel Tokyu from Dec.30th, 2012 to Jan. 1st 2013. It was a fabulous experience. The hotel is a epitome of contemporary Japanese design, sleek and elegant, from the lobby to the room. You immediately feel the tranquility after a day's shuffling in the massive Tokyo Metro when you enter the hotel through the connected tunnel with the metro exit. This is also a big advantage when you travel to Tokyo in the winter. There are two lines directly linking to the hotel and another two lines connected underground. The bathroom was divine. Excellent design of the shower that I've ever experienced. Simple and ease of use. No need to learn how to operate it. I was assigned a room with an overview of the Hie Jinja 日枝神社, a shrine famous for its host of new years ceremony that a local usually goes for the worship in the very beginning of New Year after the midnight countdown ends. The shrine itself acts like a private garden for guests luckily gets the room with the view. What's worth more is that we joined people grouped together to get in to the Shrine in the midnight and the shrine hosted a variety of activities. People ringing the bell, shrine maiden dancing, fortune-telling lucky draw, and food stalls. Very much like a carnival. Overall speaking, I would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crystalyschang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This a great hotel with very good rooms in a nice location in Tokyo. Its location next to the Hie Shrine reflects the spiritual and modern of Tokyo "living" side by side. The staff were very helpful when my luggage failed to arrive with me, even though they are not very flexible with the late check out! Short walk to nearby excellent restaurants and bars, this hotel provides a nice base for a stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickg450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms good location but lots of good locations in Tokyo. This hotel lacks warmth and true Japanese spirit. Too much bowing, konichiwa and not enough fair dinkum hospitality. Loosen up get a sense of humour and some real warmth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicknoname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a great experience in this hotel. It was pristine. We were on club level and everything was perfect from the service to the room decor. We enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. Wonderful location with easy access to the subway. Just delightful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GYCSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Though a little out of the ways at Akasaka (for tourists I mean), I was impressed with the size and decor of the rooms, as well as the transportation options of the hotel. Although staff were less friendly than expected, rooms were kept clean and the receptionists were incredibly helpful. Facilities were a little small, but I was surprised they had a gym and swimming pool to begin with.

Given the convenience and rooms, the hotel is definitely value for money. We had no major complaints and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again if needed.

+++:
Rooms: Large rooms (a rarity in Tokyo) in a contemporary decor, with a couch, work space, and walk-in shower. Room was kept very clean, definitely up to the standards of a luxury Japanese hotel. The bed was large as well, and though I do believe it was two twin beds stuck together, the mattress above was thick enough to obscure that fact.

Location: Connected indoors to the Marunochi Line, Chiyoda Line, and Namboku Line of the Tokyo subway system. Less than a 5-10 minute walk from a plethora of shopping, food and entertainment choices. Also, there was a convenience store (7-11) in the lobby of the office building of which the hotel is part of, although it did not sell alcohol.

Service (helpfulness): We were allowed to check in an hour early, which is also a rarity in Japanese hotels. Also, I misplaced my scarf one night and but staff found it and returned it to the lost and found! I am particularly grateful for that.

Wifi: Our rate included free wifi that worked perfectly in the rooms.

---:
Service (friendliness): Staff were a little less than friendly, particularly the receptionists when we had requests. I understand that some of this might be chalked up to cultural differences, as staff needed to maintain a composed and professional aura around guests, but sometimes they came off as a little cold and condescending.

Facilities: We weren't expecting too much, but gym and pool was quite small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamesjen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Probably not the "best" hotel in Tokyo (although top 5 for sure) this very well may be the best hotel value considering price. The Capitol is located in the government district, steps away from the Diet and PM's residence. It is the original standard for western style hotels in Japan and has been around for many years. Recently renovated, the rooms are large, extremely comfortable and modern, but still retain a Japanese flavor. The shower is probably one of the best I have experienced anywhere, and was a highlight considering the long hours I was working in Japan. The Capitol bar is another favorite feature and has a huge selection of premium spirits, and wines. It is extremely comfortable for an evening cocktail after a long day of work. Origami, one of the restaurants off the lobby, is a great choice for breakfast and also offers a nice afternoon tea.

I was extremely satisfied with my stay at the Capitol. While it is just a step down from the super premium hotels that Tokyo has to offer, the price is very reasonable with really nothing to sacrifice. Highly recommended for business. While also a good choice for personal travel, it may not be in the best location for those planning to do hardcore sight seeing. But either way, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ngIsland_familyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#5 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,998 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Property: The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. 4 different subway lines stations are directly connected the hotel building. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, JAPANiCAN, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing