We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every cent to stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #7 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth every cent to stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The good thing about staying in a business hotel is that you don't get the family and kids crowd. It's a very quiet hotel and the decor is very simple and contemporary with a touch of zen.

We were being upgraded to the club room which was amazing! Large room with spacious bathroom and dresser. The room had a fantastic view of Akasaka and the Hie shrine. The bathroom amenities was abundant and also of good quality

Hotel is located just 10mins walk to Akasaka which has lots to eat. It is also near to Sanno tower which has some restaurants to offer. The metro station is also located just mins away. It takes about 15mins by cab to Tokyo station.

Another good point of the hotel is that it is one of the Haneda airport shuttle pick up point.

Highly recommended! And I'm definitely staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    271
    45
    16
    12
See reviews for
234
432
67
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

It's a bit of cliche to read on review that "such and such hotel was a nice retreat from the hectic nature of Tokyo", but in this case that's absolutely true.

I stayed here for two nights at the end of a long (and epic) ski trip. Being above a confluence of a few major subway/metro lines made it easy to get to.
Staff were uniformly excellent and courteous to a fault. I arrived in typically ski-traveller fashion - carrying all of my hardware, dressed extremely casually in hoody and jeans and unshaven for three weeks, and was treated like any other guest of the hotel. This is always a sign of a good hotel in my book.

Rooms are great. Nicely appointed and very large for a Tokyo hotel room. The layout of mine was a little unconventional but worked well. The foyer branches into two rooms: one being the bathroom proper, with the bath, shower and toilet in one, while the other featured the vanity/mirror as well as the closet and luggage space and bar fridge. Both rooms accessed the bedroom/living area and could be closed off with large sliding shoji (wooden screens).

Bed was superb, as was the shower. The room was spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Free wifi was a nice touch and was room specific (i.e. you log into your own room's wifi router).

Had a brief look at the pool which looked quite nice. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was a typical hotel affair. The breakfast room was great though.

Would go back for sure.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the Hie shrine. The greenery makes for a nice view that can break-up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautiful rooms with great views, we stayed in a club room which entitled us to free cocktails and snacks between 5 & 7pm. Warm, friendly staff. Probably the best service we have experienced in a hotel. A quiet hotel, but many restaurants and bars close by and direct access to subway in hotel basement making it easy to get to other areas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charliewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent the last two nights of an amazing trip to Japan in this hotel and it was a fabulous end to our trip. great staff, wonderful room and view and great food. Perfect way to finish our holiday, Would highly recommend as a stylish and amazingly comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTGTGTGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous and had superior service. Located above a major subway line, it had very fast access to the comprehensive Tokyo subway system. The concierge escorted us to the subway entrance the first time, to show us how to navigate the system - excellent service, and quite easy to use. (By the way, despite its locations with the trains, its' VERY quiet in the rooms.)

The room was more of a suite; quite large and extremely quiet and comfortable.

Just a bit off the beaten path, our cab driver had a bit of a problem finding it from the main Tokyo intercity train depot. When the meter ran over the anticipated fare due to an extra 5 minutes of searching, he refused payment for more than the dispatcher at the train had said it would cost. (He did not speak English; but when we showed him the address in Japanese, he quickly found the correct spot.)

The hotel has lovely (although expensive) restaurants and exercise facilities, but this kind of luxury is unusual and worthwhile.

Room Tip: There are tons of small local eating places within a 5 minute walk, esp. if you're into Japanese...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryfromChevyChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
195 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

For a truly perfect hotel in tokyo, my review will not be useful if i did not tell you a little about the imperfections. One needs to be in-the-know to get by here - the staff is grade A excellent catering to your every discerning need so you better know your need before asking for assistance. This hotel seems to cater to guests who are well travelled and sophisticated, they appear to frown if you have to ask for service in their staple breakfast restaurant 'Origami'. Please wait and you will be served and well too. But that's the only gap if i have to be so pointed. All rooms are excellent, spacious by japanese standards and indeed from the doorman to concierge to housekeeping - all are just there or just seconds away. Bed and bathroom are glorious. Will definitely have good night's sleep. This hotel also has the subway at its basement - so how spoilt can you get especially in winter? If you want to go local, do go down the leafy path of the shrine just outside the hotel and this leads you to a lane of great breakfast, lunch and dinner options - all truly authentic japanese at a fraction of the cost anywhere. Had a wonderful time with my daughter and she got around just great taking tours on her own organized by a helpful concierge. We love Japan because of this good experience at a hotel like home.

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine and as there are offices connected to this hotel, the hotel rooms are all on hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sweetiemine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I do not exaggerate when I say that everything about my week long stay at the CHT was perfect. The staff practically fall over themselves to be polite and helpful, the location is great, the rooms are massive and extremely comfortable (the awesome showers alone are worth a mention), the views are utterly spectacular (we had a room on the Imperial Palace/Diet building side; the lights of the Ginza skyscrapers at night are beautiful). I didn't sample any of the restaurants but went to several in the nearby streets, some posh ones and some izakayas, and they were all lovely.

It's in a nice neighbourhood, busy enough to not be dull but quiet enough to be peaceful. So quiet, in fact, that on our last evening in Tokyo we were perfectly alone under the cherry blossom trees when I proposed to my girlfriend in front of the shrine behind the hotel.

When I go back, I'll book this place in a heartbeat. Best hotel I've ever stayed in.

She said yes, by the way.

Room Tip: You'l have great views on any side but if you get a choice, get one with a view of the Imperial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,694 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Shangri-La Hotel, Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Property: The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. Subway station with 4 lines is located right under the hotel. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing