We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in posh Akasaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel in posh Akasaka”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Capitol hotel is a really stylish hotel close by the government buildings in Akasaka. Many restaurants and cafes in the area. The hotel is connected to 3 metro lines which can be accessed from the ground floor. You don't have to go outside and leave the hotel to get to the metro. I have stayed there a couple of times and what I like is that after the first time they remembered that I needed an iron and ironing board. Since then whenever I check in these are already in my room and I don't need to ask anymore. This is good customer service! The only downside is the breakfast. I find it extremely expensive and there is not a lot of variety. However they have a really nice bar and both the Japanese and Chinese restaurants are very good. Service in general is very attentive as you would expect from such a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fos_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    283
    47
    18
    13
See reviews for
250
457
68
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

In this hotel we experienced the best service to our Tokyo trip. Spacious rooms with modern design we expected and the bathroom was a real oasis of relaxation. In the hotel we were able to use the gym and enjoyed the peace that reigned in the aisles. The staff was constantly concerned about our welfare and recommended us to visit the temple, located just outside the hotel. We extended our vacation with three days earlier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YESS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I started staying here when our Tokyo office moved a couple of years ago. Previously I used the Imperial... the two hotels could not be more different.

The Capitol is modern, all steel and glass, with beautifully put together rooms and interesting public areas. Service, as you would expect, is very good and quite unobtrusive. The quality of the English spoken is very impressive.

The Origami restaurant is a bit too formal for my liking (I prefer to find more "local" places to eat), and I found the bar to be more of the same (not sure I need to be told where to sit in a bar?). But these are minor quibbles. I shall be returning in a few weeks.

Room Tip: As you would expect, the higher the better... views are good all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days, while on a 10 day visit to Japan with my wife and 2 kids (12 & 13 years old), in 2 rooms, next door to each other. The Captiol Hotel is a beautiful modern hotel, with well laid out rooms, and all the amenities you may expect from a 5 star hotel. The rooms are quite, and even with my 2 kids in a room next door to us, we could not hear anything going on in their room. The lobby is sufficiently large, with about 5 reception agents working at any one time, including a dedicated concierge. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and everyone speaks good English.

Although the hotel is located in a business area, with not much to see or do around the hotel, the subway station is right under the hotel and is only a few minutes away from any attraction you may want to visit in Tokyo. The hotel felt more oriented to business travel, then leisure, but they did have a pool and a spa, although we did not have time to use either one of them. The hotel had many western business visitors, and the hotel bar was loud (even by western standards) in the evenings.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at Capitol Hotel Tokuy, and will return here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel was among the very best hotels I've stayed in anywhere around the world. We booked a Club room which turned out to be on the top (29th) floor. We arrived at about 7pm on the Friday and had to wait a short while at check-in, but the lobby area was nice and the staff were very polite.
The room itself was mind-blowing. It had a small entrance area, and then sliding doors open to both the left and right - to the left is a chnaging area and sink etc, and to the right is a bathoom with huge walking-in shower, bath, and seperate toliet. Beyond that is the bedroom area, which can be seperated by two huge sliding ricepaper partitions. The window is floor to ceiling and spans the entire length of the room (about 30 feet).
The best feature though is the sublime view of Mount Fuji that you get as the sun sets over Tokyo. We spent a good hour sitting watching it slowly vanish on the horizon. With the screens back, you can even watch it from the bath or shower.
The pool area is really nice (free if you are on the Club floors) and the breakfast was great.
It is a very short walk to the subway (in fact you can reach it entirely underground without having to venture into the heat of Tokyo).
While there, check out Ninja Akasaka which is about a 10 minute walk. Hilarious dining.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, if only for the fabulous views. However, you may need to pick your room carefully. We were in 2913 and it was perfect but I imagine much lower and yuo might not see it. I believe the views from the other side are of the Imperial Palace.
The staff were polite and efficient, and all spoke excellent English.
Really can't fault this hotel.

Room Tip: Select a high floor facing West for Mt Fuji.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights with a 4 mo old baby. Room was spectacular, very spacious (deluxe king). Great, new cot provided for baby and room could be separated with sliding screen.
Wi-Fi in room - yay!
Great location easy access to subway, multiple lines, directly under hotel.
7 eleven and Starbucks under hotel if you need a coffee fix, surprisingly Starbucks coffee was nice!
Had a day of business meetings and were able to use library lounge meeting room on 27th floor, for a charge.
Haven't eaten at the hotel restaurants, there is no need,plenty of restaurants elsewhere, and if you want to stay in and not blow the budget, all department stores have food halls where you can pick up wonderful morsels ( all wonderfully packaged with little ice coolers).

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KyliePenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Fantastic stay on our holiday at this Tokyo hotel. Mainly for business travellers so not on the doorstep in tourist area but don't let this put you off. Subway is directly linked to the hotel with many lines passing through the station. We loved it so much we re-booked for our return to Tokyo on the same trip (after 4 days in Kyoto), cancelling our other hotel.

We stayed in a club deluxe room with access to executive lounge, a little bit more but well and truly worth it. Champagne cocktails every night for up to 4 hours and tea/coffee etc all day as needed. Breakfast options were vast and delicious. Nothing was too much trouble at this hotel and staff/service was great. I think exec lounge could be improved (if looking at anything) given the broad offerings/service comparable to other hotels, however was certainly good enough.

Near to Government buildings with easy access to main Tokyo central station for Shinkansen and other sights etc. Don't buy drinks in the hotel (we bought a hot chocolate each one evening and sat and drank before bed - around 10,000 yen each...ouch! No real issue, plenty of easy to access options either nearby or with simple metro ride to another stop or two away. Whilst not a busy area at night, it wasn't a problem for us and meant our stay was relaxing.

Gorgeous toiletries and amazing bathroom to complete an amazing stay.

Room Tip: Exec room beautiful view of Tokyo Tower and the city at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
Imperial Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,987 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Palace Hotel Tokyo
Palace Hotel Tokyo
#1 of 74 in Chiyoda
1,117 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Conrad Tokyo
Conrad Tokyo
#1 of 109 in Minato
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
The Tokyo Station Hotel
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 82 in Shinjuku
2,843 reviews
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 109 in Minato
3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol Hotel Tokyu

Property: The Capitol Hotel Tokyu
Address: 2-10-3 Nagatacho, Chiyoda 100-0014, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#5 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Capitol Hotel Tokyu 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu is situated very conveniently in Akasaka, the heart of downtown Tokyo. It is located with easy access to famous shopping and dining areas such as Ginza, Roppongi, Shibuya, Omotesando or Harajuku. 4 different subway lines stations are directly connected the hotel building. Guests are able to savor the quiet natural surroundings of Hie Shrine, a serene space surrounded by natural beaty where it is possible to escape the hustle and bustle of Tokyo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Rakuten, Hotwire, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Capitol Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Tokyu Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing