We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price for central Tokyo - very family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great price for central Tokyo - very family friendly”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were looking for an affordable place for our family of four (2 kids in elementary school), and this looked like one of the best deals we could find. The central location on the JR Chuo line was also very close to Tokyo station, making it easy to catch the early morning shinkansen for a day trip for skiing at Gala Yuzawa, and close JR trips to Ueno and Shinjuku/Harajuku. We got a Japanese-style room with space enough for 4 futons. It was a little tight, without a lot of room for our stuff, but it was the newest, cleanest ryokan we've stayed in yet - seemed to be recently remodeled, a very nice bathroom in the room, and a really lovely Japanese bath in the basement.

The staff were incredibly kind, and very helpful, and offered our children Japanese sweets and small souvenirs which they really enjoyed. The hotel breakfast was very good too. I was worried the kids wouldn't like the Japanese breakfast, but there is plenty of breakfast food kids enjoy too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    28
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
14
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Second time in Japan but the first time to this hotel. Stayed here with my wife and four young children. We picked the hotel because in addition to conventional rooms it has a number of traditional Japanese rooms (I wanted the kids to experience something different). We stayed in a relatively large traditional family room that could house all of us; this room came with a private outdoors bath (in addition to a great indoors bath). The wooden outdoor bath worked really well - it is housed off the standard bathroom in a well screened balcony. Location is good - nice quiet street but close to a number of metro stops. A good number of restaurants within 2 min stroll including a very friendly one called tek tek. What is great about this hotel is the helpful and friendly staff; there was all someone around with good English and everyone went out of their way to help us. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hinksfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The staff are exceptional. They provided us with recommendations, reservations, directions, local insights and a lot of additional help during our first perplexing days in Tokyo as Westerners who do not speak the language. They called ahead for us on more than one occasion. Our japanese style room was very comfortable and spotless. The showers are hot and strong. The windows sound proof, so you will sleep like a baby on your futon on the tatami mat. Crisp cotton and silence... Breakfast was fun, (japanese style) and friendly. There is good coffee. Remember the rooms are small compared to western standards, but this is Tokyo. Train station close by. Tricky to find the first time -- ask a passerby, who if they speak English, will certainly help you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel has the perfect location with 5 metro stations within walking distance.
In a quiet road this hotel offers typical japanese rooms and western style rooms. I stayed in a japanese room, which was fantastic, I can only recommend it.
There is a bath, jacuzzi and sauna in the basement and two massage chairs to relax.
The japanese breakfast is delicious, after all, you don't want European breakfast in Japan.
But what makes the hotel so special is the very friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: choose a japanese style room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Croydon-MrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The most valuable thing has been the excellent personnel of the hotel, looking forward everything is correct at any moment. Also it is very conveniently placed very close to several subway stations. Familiar atmosphere. Good Japanese breakfast. Cleanliness of all the installations and the room. Very good ratio price vs quality.

Room Tip: Ask for double bed instead of the smallest one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BANDFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomamae-gun, Hokkaido, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great stay at this hotel, fully recommend for pretty much any type of travel. Easily access both JR and Tokyo Metro lines. Great small Japanese-style breakfast. Very clean and modern rooms, and nice onsen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We chose to stay in this family run hotel since we had to take early morning train to Nagano for ski holidays in Hakuba. The hotel is on little quite street at the back of main road where you can find so many ski shops. Going to Tokyo station is less than 10 minutes and taxi cost around 1,100 yen. On first arrival day, we printed google map in Japanese for taxi driver which was helpful as hotel was quite hard to be located.

We stayed for 3 nights in a Japanese room. Our room was super clean with very comfy futons, though room size is small(which was what we expected anyway). Bathroom was quite modernized with fancy toilet (with all electronic buttons and seat warmer) similar to those provided in 5 star hotels.

Pros:
1)Room was super clean and well appointed
2)Basic Japanese breakfast with egg cooked the way we like provided good value considered the room rate
3)Staff (especially Tanaka-san) were generally very polite and have excellent service mind
4)The shared bathroom with onsen on B1 floor is a plus after tired walking day in Tokyo. But beware the temperature in lady room was rather hot-48 c. We ended up taking bath on this floor every day. Yukata was provided in the room.
5)Location is perfect for ski equipment shopping
6) So quite during weekend and holidays and walking around was nice
7) So many quick eat delicious Japanese restaurants/shops, AM/PM 7/11 around as it is in business location.
8)Hand soap foam, razors and tooth brushes are provided which was a nice touch giving the price
9) Walking distance to traditional old temple in Kanda near Ochanomizu station
10) Coined laundry facilities are available. +Access to ice machine(free), drink vending machine.
Cons
1) Hotel is not a smoking free one so ensure you will stay away from smoking rooms on the same floor, if any.
2)Room size is small

Overall we had a memorable stay and even more than we experienced at Shibuya Excel Tokyu Hotel that we stayed last time. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose and book room type from the hotel website.No need to provide credit card details upon booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiyoda hotels
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Sotetsu Fresa Inn Ochanomizu Jimbocho
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
APA Hotel Kanda Jimbocho Eki Higashi
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
the b ochanomizu
the b ochanomizu
#30 of 74 in Chiyoda
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Villa Fontaine Jimbocho
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Ryumeikan Ochanomizu Honten
Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Hotel Juraku
Hotel Juraku
#35 of 74 in Chiyoda
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan

Property: Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan
Address: 3-24-9 Kandaogawamachi, Chiyoda 101-0052, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In July, 2009, Tokyo Family Hotel has made a great reforming and refurbished the image into a Japanese modern atmosphere of EDO, which is the old name of Tokyo. At the same time, we've changed the name of our Hotel to Ochanomizu hotel "SHORYUKAN". We appreciate that the support of our customers only has made us possible to continue our hotel for a long time since the foundation of our Hotel, almost as same as the beginning of SHOWA era, 1925. This time we have arranged many types of rooms according to the needs of our customers, such as from ordinary single, double and twin rooms to some types of Japanese style rooms. Please stay with us and feel at home. Please enjoy our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Rakuten, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ochanomizu Hotel Shoryukan Tokyo, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing