We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,269)
Filter reviews
2,269 results
Traveler rating
1,358
761
106
25
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,358
761
106
25
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suidobashi station free massage chairs great hotel minute walk relaxation room quiet street convenience store next door third floor laundry machines amusement park mita line small gym jr line standard room narita airport japanese restaurant easy access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 2,269 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2019

This is the 3rd time I booked this hotel for my business trips to Tokyo. It is close to the train and subway stations, on a quiet street and has a 7-11 next door. The rooms are clean, they have the WSJ each morning for reading and a restaurant on-site.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelniwa, 支配人 at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2019

Dear Mike F,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write your review.
We are so happy hear that you had a good time with us.
Please recommend to your family and friends about our hotel.
Thank you again and we look forward to serving you again in the hear future!

Best regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations Manager
Mie ITO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

Niwa hotel is on a quiet street at walking distance from the JR Suidobashi line and very close to the Jimbocho Station on Toei Mita line, which can easily take you anywhere. So the hotel is very well located in Tokyo. There are also many nice restaurants and supermarkets within walking distance from the hotel. We had breakfasts in the onsite restaurant, which was very good and with plenty of dishes (both western style and Japanese style buffet available). My only negative comment is related to the size of the restaurant, which is insufficient to accommodate all customers that come down to have breakfast, especially between 8 and 9 am. We always had to wait a few minutes for a table to be released for us, but that didn't impact my extremely positive judgment on the hotel.

The hotel itself was fine. We had a triple room, which was quite large compared to the Japanese standard. The three beds were large and comfortable, with enough space to open two large suitcases (although on the floor), with all the the amenities you would expect. The bathroom was large and spotless clean. My favourite amenity was the room cell phone which you could take with you during your entire stay and that we used for free internet and maps/directions. There is also a Workout Room equipped with some fitness machines and a Relaxation Room overlooking a rooftop mini-garden, equipped with full-body massage chairs to loosen tight muscles at the end of a long day in Tokyo.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and I'd come back when visiting Tokyo in the future.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ele170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelniwa, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2019

Dear ele170,

I was absolutely delighted to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, and many thanks for taking the time to write your kind comments about all aspects of the hotel including the service and facilities. Your positive feedback is incredibly encouraging and motivating for us a team. Thank you for taking the time to write about us. I look forward to welcoming you back and hope to meet you when you return.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019

The Tokyo Dome area of Tokyo does not get a lot of attention as a hot tourist spot, but I spent 9 days over the Golden Week period at the Hotel Niwa which is very near the Tokyo Dome and it was a great location. The hotel itself is on a very quiet street which is unlike many other quality hotels in Tokyo, but there is a convenience store right next door, and you are just a 5 minute walk to the JR Suidobashi line and 5 minutes to the Metro Toei Mita line which can easily take you anywhere. We were also very impressed by the quantity and quality of restaurants all within an easy 10 minute walk or so from the Niwa. We had some high quality sushi, okonomiyaki and monjayaki, some unbelievable Thai food, awesome Indian food, great Japanese curry plus many other memorable and fairly inexpensive great meals all within a short walk of the Niwa. There are also a bunch of restaurants at and near the Tokyo Dome including some branded Western chain options. The Tokyo Dome also has a small amusement park nearby which was popular with young families. We thought we would have to hop on the subways to find interesting restaurants or activities which we did on a few days, but we were pleasantly surprised at how many days we could find a great variety of things to do and places to eat within walking distance of the Niwa. We totally skipped the onsite restaurant which looked a little pricey including the breakfast as there were plenty of convenience stores available for a quick and inexpensive breakfast.

The hotel itself was fine. The room was a fairly standard Japanese room - so a little on the compact side, but well laid out with all of the amenities you would expect. If you are used to smaller Japanese rooms, you will be fine. If you are accustomed to larger Western rooms, the room will feel small and compact to you. One nice amenity was the room cell phone which you could take with you during your entire stay and use for free internet, calls, texts or maps/directions. I have only seen this amenity with a few Japanese hotels and it really does save you from having to accrue expenses on your own mobile phone while you are in Tokyo. It's a nice feature. Also the massage chairs on the 3rd floor in the relaxation room were very nice and did the job after a long day of exploring Tokyo, however several days the relaxation room was rather crowded and really wasn't all that relaxing when there were big crowds of noisey people there. The relaxation room is a nice concept, just a little small when several people all decide to use it at the same time. We used the onsite laundry which was also simple and easy to use. The real selling point of the Niwa though is it's very convenient location.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MackLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelniwa, Guest Relatons at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2019

Dear MackLaJolla,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home. I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling about us. Your review and feedback would help us a lot to improve our service, and somewhere encourage our staff too.
Wishing your continuous support, and will see you again in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Walking distance of Suidobashi station, Tokyo Dome and many restaurants. Enjoyed both the Japanese breakfast and the Western-style/Japanese buffet breakfast. Part of the hotel package included vouchers that could be applied toward dining at the hotel. Was nice being able to access the lounge that had free full-body massage chairs after a full day of walking. Top notch staff that was very helpful and highly accommodating. Sliding shoji screens cover the windows in the room, which are aesthetically pleasing, but do not offer a black-out feature, which didn't matter to me since I was an early riser. Would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shigatsuW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelniwa, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Dear shigatsuW,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a detailed review and feedback, and it seems you have had pleasant stay with us. We hope to be in your service again in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
]Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

Hotel Niwa is a wonderful destination for those visiting Tokyo. A little way out from Tokyo station it is welcoming and quintessential Japanese. It is in a great location just near the metro and the JR line. It is close to eateries. A great destination to relax at after a busy day in Tokyo!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Q6601LQandrewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelniwa, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2019

Dear Q6601LQandrewc,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling towards our hotel.
Hoping continuous support from you.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews