We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,194)
Filter reviews
2,194 results
Traveler rating
1,315
736
102
23
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,315
736
102
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuidobashi stationgreat hotelminute walkrelaxation roomconvenience store next doorquiet streetthird floorlaundry machinesamusement parksmall gymjr linemita linestandard roomquiet hotelnarita airporteasy accessjapanese style
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 2,194 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2017

We booked this hotel for the beginning leg of our two week trip to Japan and were greatly pleased with it. The hotel is tucked away a block or two from the main streets and JR train station so it gives you some peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle of the city. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby so grabbing a bite to eat before you head out or before you call it a day is easy. The location itself is central to most of the great attractions of Tokyo with just a few stops away using the train. There are also plenty of convenience stores nearby so you can get any necessities quickly.

The hotel itself is neat and tidy. The rooms are of Japanese standards, so tiny. They also have many amnesties that cater to travelers, including: laundry room with built in detergent dispensers, massage chairs free of charge (come in handy after a long day of walking), a smoking area in the garden, and a currency exchange machine in the lobby. Also on the third floor there is a SIM card vending machine if you need to acquire one for your phone. The breakfast buffet is great however it can get busy so expect a line, specially if the hotel is completely booked.

As mentioned before the only downside to the hotel would be the size of the room, but we arrived to a Japan expecting that to be the case. Overall will be definitely staying here again in our next trip to Tokyo.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TKRalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear TKRalf,

I was absolutely delighted to read your feedback following your recent stay with us at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, and many thanks for taking the time to write your kind comments about all aspects of the hotel including the service and decor. Your positive feedback is incredibly encouraging and motivating for us a team. Thank you for taking the time to write about us, I look forward to welcoming you back and hope to meet you when you return.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Moderately priced and located near both a JR train station and Metro line it's excellent for shopping and sightseeing.
The rooms are small by European standards but very fair by Japanese standard. We had enough space for everything (luggage, clothes) and it knows its clientele. Iron and board were in the cupboard.
We met a regular who was convinced this is the best hotel in Tokyo and we tend to agree.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Y S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear Y S,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a detailed feedback of us.
Your comments and feedback are very valuable and helps to improve our service.
Actually, we offer four categories of room types, and each of them has unique accent of Japanese design. Please check with our website homepage.
We hope you will visit us again, and please bring your family and friends next time to share wonderful time with our nice staff.
Thank you.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

The hotel locates near Suidobashi JR & subway (5-minute walk). A manageable distance even under a strong typhoon hitting the city during our visit, and so should be just a wink away in usual days. The room is huge in Tokyo’s standard. Comfy beds and nice set-up. Nothing better to have a relaxing bath after a whole day walk, and thankful to have the super clean and well-equipped bathroom.
Too bad that I can’t find any lotion from the toiletries provided. A little bit caught me off handed as I did not expect Tokyo being that dry in October. I guess the fault is all mine and you can get anything conveniently from the convenience stores & drug stores around.
Last but not least, the staff is absolutely friendly and helpful. A very lovely stay and will definitely love to return there someday.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank molylau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear molylau,

Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent return stay at Hotel Niwa Tokyo. I was thrilled to read that once again we have met your expectations and you enjoyed all of the service you received as well as the excellent facilities we provide to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2017

This was our first ever visit to Japan – the first stop on a trip around the world in search of the greatest engineering and architecture sites. Our visit to Tokyo started out true to the reputation of taxi drivers dressed in coats and ties, wearing white gloves. Our taxi ride from Tokyo Station to the Hotel Niwa took a solid half hour in Friday night traffic .. . which was farther from the downtown core than I had expected from looking at the map of Tokyo. It's a big city!

After our taxi ride through heavy city traffic, the Hotel Niwa turned out to be down a very narrow and dark back street, which made me wonder if we might be in a questionable neighborhood. I needn't have worried. When we walked into the hotel, we saw that it was actually a very lovely hotel with a lobby of understated class with its entry behind a small waterfall garden. They had our reservation, and everything went smoothly there. When we saw the neighborhood in the light of day the next day, it was a very nice neighborhood with spotless streets and sidewalks ... all very much in excellent Japanese order.

As the Tripadvisor reviews noted, the room was indeed small, but this is Tokyo after all! I'd call it somewhere between "small" and "tiny", yet still bigger than a truly tiny room we had on our last trip to London! We found the Niwa room was very nicely finished – see the photos. Cost? $227/night (including tax), which is someplace in the middle, between luxury and economy, probably about what you can expect in an expensive world-class capitol. It was a good value in my opinion.

As newbie visitors to Japan, there were some delights awaiting us in the bathroom. First of all was the Japanese toilet. Wow! Had never seen anything like this before: a heated seat, spray nozzles shooting heated water up from multiple directions depending on the task at hand, and variable water pressure. And to operate it there was a control panel built into the face of the vanity. It made our U.S. toilets seem primitive.

Another bathroom feature: the mirror was heated right in front of the sink so that it would not steam up from the shower. And the engineer in me appreciated the small sloped gutter right next to the tub that led to a dedicated drain for shower or bath overflow. No puddles of water outside the tub. This permanently altered my view of what a bathroom can be!

Our room, # 1119, faced the street (east) which was high enough to give us some territorial views of the nearby cityscape – we were far enough from downtown that there were no huge skyscrapers towering over us.

The service we found to be very friendly and efficient – all staff spoke good English and it was easy to find what we needed, such as a tour of Tokyo one day. The hotel is within walking distance of the Tokyo Dome which is a good place for shopping and people-watching, plus there is an area with several rides including a roller coaster and several others. Even a Starbucks.

All in all, I would definitely recommend the Niwa for a stay in Tokyo: reasonably priced (for Tokyo), extremely clean and well-appointed, with very friendly attentive service.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor (1119) which was high enough for a territorial city view and no traffic noise problem.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NWHillclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Dear NWHillclimber,

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us at Hotel Niwa Tokyo. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your feedback to the rest of the team here. We all hope you will come and stay with us again in the near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

Great location, very friendly staff. The room is quite spacious for Tokyo accommodation. Very safe and quiet neighbourhood. There is a convenience store next door which came in handy. Breakfast buffet was amazing!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Dear Rebecca L,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home. I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling about us. Your review and feedback would help us a lot to improve our service, and somewhere encourage our staff too.
Wishing your continuous support, and will see you again in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews