We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oasis in the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“oasis in the city.”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

i stayed here for one night on my return to tokyo from kyoto before my flight out. i decided to try a quieter area, but it was still easy to find and very close to 2 different JR stations. the room was beautiful and extremely comfortable and i appreciated the refresh room with massage chairs after a long day of walking. it is close to tokyo dome so i would definitely stay here again if i wanted to catch a baseball game. overall, it felt like an oasis tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of the city; definitely a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jooliecoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear jooliecoolie,

I was so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that all aspects of your stay met your expectations. I have passed on your kind words to my brilliant team at the hotel who I am sure appreciate your feedback.
Many thanks

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    647
    82
    20
    13
See reviews for
342
836
244
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel based on tripadvisor's review and it's definitely not a let down. The loby area is not big but has the illusion of grand hotel and the design is superb. Rooms are clean and well designed, it's not our largest hotel room while we're in Japan but definitely the nicest. The staff in front desk are very polite and accommodating. We didn't buy the breakfast package because there's plenty restaurant nearby our favorite is Sukiya which we pass every morning on the way to the station. Suidobashi station is not really centrally located but quite convenient to go around from.
Love everything about the hotel, but the most I fell in love about this hotel is the design and how all the details are so beautifully executed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aditya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Aditya H,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling towards our hotel. Hoping to have continuous support from you, and please do try our brilliant western and Japanese buffet breakfast as well.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relaions
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Niwa Hotel is very well located, walking distance from a JR station and only a few stations on the Yamanote line from some Tokyo major attractions. The room, rather small, was nicely decorated and offered almost everything I needed except drawers for clothes. Luckily, I only spent two nights at the hotel, so it didn't really bother me. If I visit Tokyo again, the Niwa Hotel will probably be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patcParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear patcParis,

Thank you for your lovely review. While I would never categorize my hotel as "perfect" I am certainly extremely pleased that you found it to be so! My staff and I are all very proud of the rooms, amenities and service that we are able to offer our guests, but we always keep an eye towards the future and all the wonderful new little touches that we will be adding next!

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We could not fault this hotel. Staff are very courteous and helpful. Located close to subway and JR stations it is very easy to get to anywhere in Tokyo. A very quiet area with lots of reasonably priced restaurants in the immediate area. The massage chairs in the relaxation room were an added bonus. A good range of toiletries are provided and even pyjamas. We were here for 4 days and loved this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Jessna,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and share it with the rest of users. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, facilities, and the treatment of the hotel staff in general.
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Been here twice staying in Tokyo at this hotel. It's located centrally and has a lot of great little places in the neighborhood that are convenient for travelers (small noodleshops, convenience store, etc). The rooms are nice and stylish. The rate is very affordable. The staff are extremely courteous

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank BigBenBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear BigBenBear,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Niwa Tokyo. I am so happy that my fantastic team ensured we met your expectations. I have already passed on your kind words to them. Please do come back and see us again soon.
My kindest regards


Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Niwa to anyone looking for a modern, clean, comfortable, well-managed base for exploring Tokyo. It is a stylish and friendly hotel in a good central location.

Although the immediate neighborhood is very quiet, there are a couple of stations within a short walk that allow you easy access to get around the city, so we felt this was a plus.

The restaurant onsite is quite high-end so I'd recommend heading to the local branch of 'St Marc Cafe' for breakfast - it's just around the corner on the way to Suidobashi station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear voehn,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Hotel Niwa Tokyo is conveniently located near the rail station, and center of the city, which is ideal location for both business people and travelers. You may also have found many places accented by Japanese décor comes from our hotel concept “Modern Japanese”.
We hope you will be back to visit us again, and share wonderful time at your home away from home.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here on our first visit to Tokyo. What an absolute gem of a hotel. It is close to a JR train station, making it a short distance from pretty much anything and with a JR pass, you don't need to purchase any tickets. The staff were friendly and very helpful in making sense of the large number of train lines, so that getting to places was very easy. The room was lovely. Everything modern, but with a touch of tradition to set it off perfectly. It was very quiet and very clean. The location of the hotel itself was one of the best things about it. In a large, noisy, highly populated city, at the end of the day it was great to return to an area which was relatively quiet. There were shops and many restaurants all within walking distance, as well as Tokyo Dome (complete with roller coaster) just 5 minutes walk away. We loved Tokyo and will probably visit it again one day. When that happens, we will definitely stay at the Hotel Niwa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Dee2469,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, and for reviewing on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that your stay was a success. Our staff strives to provide each guest with a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
We all look forward your next visiting to us.


Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#6 of 108 in Minato
2,985 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 81 in Shinjuku
1,173 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Property: Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, JAPANiCAN, Cancelon, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing