We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring Tokyo”
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was our first stay in Tokyo at the start of a trip across Japan.
The hotel is in a fairly nondescript, quiet part of the city but is very close to Suidobashi subway station and was actually a great starting point for exploring the city.
Hotel staff spoke English and were helpful - although we weren't allowed to check in early they were able to explain the luggage forwarding system and filled all the necessary paperwork for us.
The room had a Japanese feel to it and although small by western standards was totally adequate with a decent bathroom and was probably one of the better hotels we stayed in.
We had 4 nights stay but didn't have an evening meal in the restaurant so can't comment about that. Breakfast the one time we tried it was good with a mix of western and Japanese buffet choices.
All in all I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Neal A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation with us. Our staff strives to provide each guest with everything they need in order to have guest satisfaction. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nice double bed room, medium size, very nice bathroom, all clean and in good condition. Staff has minimal English and only English TV is a BBC channel with poor reception which about half the time has a Japanese track dubbed over it, In-room wireless is easy to use but very weak and slow. earest Subweay stations are several blocks walk,They say they have an Airport Limousine shuttle connection but in reality it is from another hotel three blocks away, and on the day we left there were no shuttle runs between 7:55 AM and 12:40 PM. Their business center computer searches only in Japanese characters so we could not check in online for our flight. One irritant: for US$320/night I expect somebody to help with our bags, but they had no provision for that. On the good side, a female hotel clerk left the desk to help us lug our stuff out. The hotel entrance is extremely small with no drive way; you load everything at the curb.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Walter E,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home. Some of your comments such as no luggage service , week WIFI condition, English TV channel are have been addressed with our management team and we appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know your experience. I hope you will be back to us and can be in your service again.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is pleasant, clean and in a nice area but the staff is petty and rude. My party and I had booked 2 rooms for 6 nights and arrived slightly early on the first day. The front desk was unwilling to check the group in an hour early despite having rooms available. They wanted an extra fee for the time. This has never been an issue at any hotel I have ever stayed at and is unacceptable in the service industry.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Mike,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
Your comments regarding to additional charge for early check in policy, it has been addressed with our management team and we appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know your experience. I hope you will be back to us and can be in your service again.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just checking out after staying for a week. The hotel is very close to suidobashi JR and subway, it very convenient to go around tokyo. There's 7-11 next to the hotel, and a lot of eatery and convenience store nearby.

I was checking in with a group, and ms Yuriko is very helpful to my guest. And also very caring when one of my guest is getting sick.

I stayed at standard room, although the size is quite small, but it's nice and feels homey, the room has complete amenities and the bathroom is nice and clean, with warm toilet seat (love this)

The only downside is the breakfast, since the room is not so big, so we have to que especially on rush hour and it's a little bit inconvenience when we need to leave soon. But the food and the ambience of the restaurant is very nice, overlooking the Japanese garden, and you still can see birds on the tree.

Overall I'm enjoying my stay and will definitely come back and stay here when I'm back to tokyo.

Arigato Yuriko-san..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luvayra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Luvayva,

I was delighted to read your positive feedback following your stay at Hotel Niwa Tokyo. 
I probably know that who wrote this kind comment!!
Please keep this in your mind that we all enjoyed being in your service, all guests in your group were very polite and gentle to us.
Please do come back and see us again soon.
My kindest regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

As mentioned by other reviewers, great hotel in a good location - JR and Metro suidobashi within 5-10mins walk, lots of eateries, convenient store nearby. english speaking staff, we stayed at the 6th floor, no view but that's fine. clean room, space was fine for us. bathroom was very spacious, clean bathtub. i would recommend this hotel if you want to stay somewhere close to shinjuku/shibuya but not right smack at those area. I enjoyed staying here and had good sleep.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: request for non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mg8485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear mg8485,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, and for reviewing on TripAdvisor.
On the behalf of the team, I would like to say "special thanks" to you for such a lovely comments, and very appreciate for meeting your expectation during your stay.
Your kind comments on our rooms, facilities and particularly our staff would always be a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Thank you again for your kind praise.


Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Checked in here for a night's stay. The only one star missing is the size of the room - most hotel rooms in Tokyo are tiny and this is no exception. But I loved the bath tub, the aesthetic of the hotel (the garden and greenery around the hotel is amazing) and the location was wonderful (a 5 minute walk away from Suidobashi station, Meets Point and restaurants/little marts everywhere).

Stayed: April 2014
Thank poh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear POH3,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling about us.
We offer out of 5 types of rooms for Standard, Superior Twin & Double, Comfort and Premium.
All types have comfortable square shaped space and are equipped with a spacious bathroom, a large Flat TV, which you may have already known.
Please come back to us anytime for your next visiting.
Thank you again for your kind praise.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hotel Niwa is located close to many sights in downtown Tokyo, and easy walk to metro/train station. Modern design with traditional Japanese elements; comfortable and elegant. Single/Deluxe room is a little small, but well designed with adequate double bed, desk, built-in shelves/frig, and night stands. Internet access is fast and easy. Bathroom is well appointed, though a bit tight, and the toilet is a fun experience (ah, the Japanese talent for cleansing).
Staff is very polite, helpful, and English conversant.
The exercise gym also has a relaxation area, with vending machines, ice maker, and DIY washer/driers.
Neighborhood is dense, but a normal Tokyo experience with shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. The restaurant's breakfast is terrific with fresh fruit, pastries, and breakfast grill. I'd stay here again, and look forward to a delightful time

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side face adjacent buildings, but very quiet without street or other loading dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oregon-ByDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Oregon -ByDesigh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is always our goal to make sure that each guest has everything they need in order to have a successful stay. We strive to provide excellent customer service. We are happy to hear that everything was comfortable and enjoyable. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again soon. Thank you.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 117 in Minato
3,249 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#4 of 83 in Shinjuku
4,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Ikebukuro
Hotel Metropolitan Tokyo Ikebukuro
Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Metropolitan Edmont Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Address: 1-1-16 Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#7 Family Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $114 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing