We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,190)
Filter reviews
2,190 results
Traveler rating
1,313
735
101
23
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,313
735
101
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuidobashi stationgreat hotelminute walkrelaxation roomconvenience store next doorquiet streetthird floorlaundry machinesamusement parksmall gymjr linemita linestandard roomquiet hotelnarita airporteasy accessjapanese style
Filter
Updating list...
927 - 932 of 2,190 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were extremely satisfied with Hotel Niwa, very comfortable and quiet rooms, good wireless reception, extremely clean, good business centre as well which was also a help. They handled our request for 'merging' the two twin beds into one (mistakenly booked by me) and were extremely obliging. Free umbrellas when it rained was a nice touch. Very close to JR station and good spread of eating places around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjaymelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear arjaymelb,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a detailed review and feedback, and it seems you have had pleasant stay with us. We hope to be in your service again in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Arrived to the hotel around 6a.m. after an overnight flight. Notified the hotel about early arrival, and requested quiet room. Upon arrival were told to wait till about 12, and then were given a room in the vicinity of the laundry and excercise room, and was told to add 20% because of early arrival. Finally were given a quiet room, without penalties. The moral of the story; be assertive. Once settled, everything was O.K. Small but comfortable, well equipped room, with slippers , pjs, razor, toothbrush and paste. Can do washing and drying in the hotel by coin operated machine. Breakfast pricy but very nice. Just adjacent to the hotel, small minimarket providing basics. A bit far from the center, so transportation will be somewhat costly. Still, a good value for the money.

Room Tip: If you like peace and quiet, try to avoid the 3rd floor. Higher floors are preferable.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poisonpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Maya H.,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home. I appreciated that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling towards our hotel. Hoping to have continuous support from you.

Hotel NIwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It wouldn't be an exaggeration to say that it is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

Hotel is located on a quiet street in a dense residential neighborhood, a couple of blocks from JR train station. It's a bit hard to find from the station, so make sure to print a map. There are lots of restaurants and a few small grocery stores nearby.

The room and common areas were very well designed in a style that is a mix of traditional Japanese and modern. The room was quite small, which was not an issue for me. There were rice paper (or more likely matte plastic) shutters on the window, which, when closed let diffuse light in. The wall behind the bed had a built-in light and, which, when turned on illuminated the room with warm glow. Internet (wired and wireless) worked well.

Breakfast was free and was very good. In addition to an extensive buffet of Western and Japanese breakfast foods, there were eggs made to order.

Hotel staff were very friendly and professional. I contacted them to change my reservation to a non-smoking room (only smoking rooms were available at the time of booking) and they assured me that a non-smoking room was reserved for me. I also order a sim-card from b-mobile (highly recommended!) to be delivered to the hotel - and it was waiting for me at the reception.

In conclusion, while there were cheaper options that were probably decent, I really enjoyed staying at Hotel Niwa!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eugene_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear eugene_o

Thank you for staying at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, and for reviewing on TripAdvisor.
On the behalf of the team, I would like to say "special thanks" to you for such a lovely comments, and very appreciate for meeting your expectation during your stay.
Your kind comments on our rooms, facilities and particularly our staff would always be a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Thank you again for your kind praise.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a little gem of a hotel with friendly staff that spoke good English and wanted you to have a good time in Tokyo. Nice little outside Japanese garden, good vending machines for drinks, and 2 massage chairs which were very welcome after a 12 hour flight from the UK.
Toilets - as you would expect, did everything for you....if only it could cook as well
Small rooms, but not lacking in anything. The most comfortable beds and bedding of all the hotels we stayed in in Japan. Very near to JR station. Breakfast good. Dinner good but a little pricy.
The staff forwarded our luggage on for us and it all worked very well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Jack S.,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo during your visiting Japan, and appreciate to avouch a nice comments and recommendation of our hotel.
Your kind comments on our rooms, facilities and particularly our staff would always be a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relatoins
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel has everything( except a swimming pool). There is a beautiful Japanese garden on the ground floor as well as two exquisit restaurants. The dinner we had at the japanese restaurant was one of the best meals I've had in Japan so far. We booked a standard double room for 3 nights and the pajamas was new every day. The hotel was also very central and easy to find. We had some problems figuring out air conditioning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Ane V,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo during your stay in Tokyo, and appreciated to have such a nice comments and recommendation of our hotel.
It seems you had pleasant stay with us, and also liked our Japanese restaurant very much.
Our Japanese cuisine, “YUKURI” offers you experience authentic Japanese cuisine “Kaiseki” while the other Provencal French restaurant “Grill & Bar Liu” dishes made from seasonal vegetables, prime-cut meats and poultry, and fresh-caught seafood.
Please try our French restaurant on your next visiting.
Once again, thank you for your feedback, and hoping to be in your service again in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews