We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels / Ryokan in Chiyoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our 4 days stay in 3 different rooms (standard, comfort and superior) with my family were very good.

It's located 5 mins walk from JR Suidobashi which is very convenient to us.
The room were all clean, good quality mattress, good size blanket and good pillow size.
A/C works perfectly which is so important during the summer.
Cool design phone by Jacob Jensen by the way, also the tea from Ippudo (comfort and superior) room was very nice.
The hotel's washing machine and dryer facility were very useful.
Good combination of down to earth Japanese design/ambiance, and use a lot of wood makes the stay more comfortable.

My only set back was actually the check in - check out time, the hotel needs to improve a lot on that.
Otherwise, I would've have given a full mark.

Nonetheless, it was pleasant stay and the hotel service was very helpful.
It's highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nayanayanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Nayanayanaya,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a detailed review of our rooms, facilities, and service. We value all feedback, the sense that ıt helps us to ımprove our standards and serve our guests better. We would like to address the issues you have raised.
We hope that you visit us again and we will try even harder to provide you with a better service.
Once again, thank you for your kind comments.

Regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel Niwa was the best Hotel my wife and I stayed at during our visit to Japan. The Hotel is located just a short 5 min walk to both the JR line and subway. It also sits at just the perfect distance away from the hustle and bustle, and makes a great getaway after a day of traveling through the busy streets.
The hotel and rooms are very clean. If a clean hotel is one of your concerns, Hotel Niwa will not disappoint you. The decor of Japanese Modern is aesthetically pleasing as well. The standard room, though small, will be more than enough for two people.
My wife and I stayed at two other hotels while traveling around Japan, and honestly nothing topped our stay at Hotel Niwa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Ro O,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Niwa Tokyo as your home away from home.
We all appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know your experience and feeling about us, especially, you liked our style of "Modern Japanese".
Your review and feedback would help us a lot to improve our service, and somewhere encourage our staff too.
Wishing your continuous support, and will see you again in near future.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located, 10 minutes walk to a train station and is very close to Tokyo Dome. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable and clean. The best thing about this place is the extraordinary staff, specially the crew who manage the front desk. They made our stay very pleasurable and enjoyable. When we left behind a backpack on a train, with a number of valuables including my passport, they went out of their way to help us by talking to the police and JR and eventually locate the bag. Could not praise the staff enough for their help. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dipankar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Dipankar M,

Thank you for your kind comments on our rooms, location, and particularly our staff.
It is always a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Thank you again for your kind praise.

Regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Modern, Japanese design hotel. Room is not big, but you will feel being in Japan!! Just this location is not so convenient, as you need to walk around 7-10 minutes to reach the nearest station. If you are thinking to go to north Tokyo area, it might be good, but to go to area of Tokyo station, shibuya, shinjyuku.. it is not so easy to reach.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tama48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Tama 48,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. As you mentioned that you can easily find many places accented by Japanese décor comes from our hotel concept “Modern Japanese”here at the oasis of Tokyo city.
I just would like to tell you that Hotel Niwa Tokyo is conveniently located in near the Rail Station, and Metro Station which both transportation offer you easy access to hte center. For example, It takes only 12 minutes from the JR Suidobashi Station to Shinjyuku for direct line.
As there are JR and Metro stations separated in Tokyo, it may cause you a little bit difficult to find easy way of access. Please ask at the hotel concierge for more details when you are visiting us nest time. We all wish to be in your service again in near future.
Thank you .

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just spent 8 nights at Hotel Niwa on our first trip to Japan and we were not disappointed. The hotel staff were very friendly and even though they have a strict check in time of 3pm, after getting off a red eye and arriving at the hotel at 7am they could clearly see we needed sleep so offered us the first room that came available (paid extra for but it was well worth it!). The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the subway and JR line stations, which enable you to get pretty much anywhere in Tokyo within 20 minutes and a maximum of 2 line changes. This made planning our daily activities a breeze and the hotel staff were always on hand to offer advice.

The rooms aren't massive but there is plenty of room for 2 people to move about. They are very clean and have an excellent ensuite bathroom with very high pressure in the shower, which is a necessity after a day of sightseeing in 30+ C! There is a 'Refresh lounge' on level 3 with cheap laundry facilities and massage chairs, but these are in high demand so make sure you time your washing for quiet periods (we were even 'queuing' to use the dryer at 11pm on a Friday night!).

If you are looking for a clean, quiet hotel away from the hustle and bustle of city life in Tokyo, but close enough that you are in the midst of the madness within a matter of minutes then I would highly recommend Hotel Niwa. I will certainly be looking to stay here next time I am in Tokyo.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mnicol10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Mnicol,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, and for reviewing on TripAdvisor.
We also very appreciate that you have stated lots of positive comments on our location, facilities, and hotel staff, which encourage us to do better performance.
We always seek to meet guests' expectation and satisfaction, so that your feedback also help us to get to know if we are doing right thing.
We wish having your continuous support, and see you again in near future.

Best Regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The reviews say it all so I won't repeat myself. I loved the 'boutique' feel of the property and the attention to detail in the rooms. The rooms do struggle to fit two large suitcases and can restrict access but hey it's Tokyo and hotels are on the small side. Bathrooms are extremely functional and had a great (quality) selection of toiletries too. Comfy, firm beds and minimalist Japenese decor. Western style restaurant in my opinion had a very poor menu offering but hey you can't win them all. Easy access to subway / train system. Customer service and staff were professional and engaging. Thanks Niwa for a great stay. PS: don't forget to use the massage chairs!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear BoyZeus,

Thank you for your review, and feedback.
We appreciate to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and as you stated, we are proud of our functional rooms with adequate equipments.
Our concept of Modern Japanese, which you can easily find out in the hotel, becoming quite popular and gaining high reputation among overseas guests.
But, we always keep an eye towards the future and all the new little touches we are adding for next. Please come back to us when you are visiting Tokyo for next time. All the staff here wish to be in your service again.

Best Regards,

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My little sister and I got this hotel on a good deal and loved it! We had been looking to stay in a private room in a hostel but couldn't find anything continuous (we stayed for about a week) so we ended up getting a superior twin non-smoking room here. It wasn't really cheap (around 120 USD/night) but reasonable given the fact that we booked less than 2 weeks before the visit. It was meticulously clean, had a great view, and was in a nice quiet part of town. After being on a busy business trip for 3 weeks before this, this week in Tokyo was lovely with a large part thanks to this place. The housekeepers were so nice and would talk to us using Japanese/English translation slate boards - granted, Japanese people are typically extremely polite, but when you come home to people like this too it does make a difference. The location was perfect for us - it was a quite business/suburban area with enough food options nearby (even for me being a vegetarian) but also residential enough to mesh with the lifestyle of that area. We were worried that it would be too quiet and too far away from other places but the subway/train is SO close (and it's all very safe) so that wasn't an issue. There's also a guy who sold little pressed fresh bread packets right outside the train station each night so it was a perfect welcome home each night too! Check expedia to see if there are any deals! (4 nights paid, fifth free, etc). Also, although the room was small (for American standards) we though it was more than spacious enough for us. We had 4 large suitcases (from the business part of the trip) and they fit in the closets well and still gave us plenty of room which was nice. We would come back and stay here again and I would highly recommend it to others!

Also, make sure you go to the Korakuen gardens which is walking distance from Hotel Niwa - beautiful, peaceful and a nice way to spend a morning or afternoon.

Cons
***The hotel was definitely not fully booked but they wouldn't let us stay pass check out time for an extra hour unless we paid an extra 50 USD for it.
***Work out room has a pretty early closing time. (Either 6 or 8 PM I think) --- BUT, just go running in this city instead, really. It's beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelJawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3810, Guest Relations at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear MelJawa,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Niwa Tokyo, and for reviewing on TripAdvisor.
On the behalf of the team, I would like to say "special thanks" to you for such a lovely comments, and very appreciate for meeting your expectation during your stay.
Your kind comments on our rooms, facilities and particularly our staff would always be a delight to us to know that our efforts are appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Thank you again for your kind praise.

Hotel Niwa Tokyo
Guest Relations
Yuriko Suneya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiyoda
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Park Hotel Tokyo
Park Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 117 in Minato
3,307 reviews
Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Mitsui Garden Hotel Ginza Premier
Shinjuku
Hilton Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
#3 of 87 in Shinjuku
4,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Royal Park Hotel The Shiodome, Tokyo
Ueno, Asakusa
THE GATE HOTEL Asakusa Kaminarimon by HULIC
Shinagawa / Gotanda
Shinagawa Prince Hotel Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niwa Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niwa Tokyo

Address: 1-1-16 Kanda Misakicho, Chiyoda 101-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chiyoda > Ochanomizu / Akihabara / Kanda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chiyoda
#8 Business Hotel in Chiyoda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chiyoda
Price Range: $115 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niwa Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Niwa Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Niwa Tokyo Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing